We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel personal service would not think to stay anywhere else WHEN we return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel personal service would not think to stay anywhere else WHEN we return”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

As many reviewers have already mentioned the owner Tina is THE reason to stay here. I am currently lay by the lovely pool listening to her helping guests. Nothing is to much trouble. We wanted a car she had one delivered to us at a time that suited us at the best price. Airport runs not a problem and don't even think about venturing out to eat without asking where to go you will not be disappointed.
The location at Kamari Beach is great for the beach 2 min walk and the bars and restaurants. The bus stop is the same distance as is the dive centre.
We had a car for 3 days which is plenty to see the island. The main towns of Fira and Oia are nice if a little 'plastic' and certainly when we visited packed full of cruise ship tours.....if you like that sort of thing. We were glad to get back to the sea breeze at Kamari at the end of the day!
Clean rooms and the suites have individual terraces we also had a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AndyNBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
184
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Right from the moment I made my initial inquiry about our stay I was surprised at the quick response and attention to detail that Tina handled our reservation. She picked us up at the airport even when our flight arrived so late. Breakfast was tasty and sufficient. Don't miss her homemade carrot jam! Tina helped us with directions and suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Even driving us to a restaurant. We felt more like family/friends than hotel guests. We absolutely loved the location. Close to bus stop, beach, taverns and restaurants. Most of all we truly enjoyed the hospitality and warm reception of Tina and chez Sophie. No disappointment at all with our choice for our holiday on Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linny758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiresparky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I'm currently sitting by the pool at chez Sophie writing this review on our penultimate day in santorini.

We arrived 10 days ago to greetings from George and Tina, the owners.

George welcomed us with a beer and sat us down for some lessons. He drew us a map with all the best places for food, drink and views.

Their son meanwhile carried our luggage up to our room. After an hour or so of being welcomed like family we made our way up to the room which was spotless and everything we needed.

Any reservations were made for us in restaurants we had to book courtesy of Tina. And she went out of her way to accommodate our every need, even recommending a company whom a friend of hers ran for quad hire. 15'mins later the owner turned up to take me to her shop and give me a good price.

Breakfast every morning was from 8-11 but on a couple of occasions we went down around 11.30 and were still offered breakfast even though it had been packed up. It involves ham and cheese, croissants along with other varietys of cake etc. Tina also makes her own marmalades of which the carrot one is unbelievable.

Today I mentioned to Tina about how our tomatoes back in the uk are nowhere near as tasty and how I would like to take some back from santorini. Tina then phoned her grocer to get some good tomatoes delivered the following morning for our flight home. The icing on the cake for me!!!!

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would agree with everyone else with their previous reviews for here.

Don't look elsewhere just book chez Sophie

Many thanks George and Tina, we look forward to returning soon.

Shaun and Laura

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wiresparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hospitality, family, helpful, friendly, caring...are only a few words to explain the owners of Chez Sophie!

I had come to stay there in July through a recommendation and I think I owe that person a big kiss! Georgis came to pick me up from the ferry and even took the time to stop to show me some of his favorite views on the way to the hotel. I was a solo female traveler and not only did Tina and Georgis make me feel safe they made me feel like part of their family. Throughout my stay they tripped over themselves to assist me, from downloading my favorite movie, making me detailed maps, offering to drive me to a nearby town because it was easier to take a bus from there to giving me a big hug when I left.

The hotel itself was perfect and quaint. It was clean, one block from the beach, had a pool, great cold breakfast and close to transit.

I will forever recommend this hotel and dream of the day I can return to spend time at the Chez Sophie!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LisaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspe, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We arrived at Santorini airport and were totally overwhelmed by the reception that Georgis gave us, even though it was the first time we had met and even though the plane was delayed by 30 minutes.
The hospitality continued throughout our stay, Tina, Giorgis's wife, made us feel as if we had known them for twenty years.
Nothing was too much trouble, it was booked as B & B but they were always around and would help if they could
John and Anne

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shaul92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Oh Chez Sophie...what can I say. The hotel is small, 13 rooms I think, one block from the beach, clean, cozy, great breakfast, wonderful management, great pool. Tina will make your stay incredible. She helped answer ALL of our questions, even by email prior to us arriving. Neat person! Like I said, the hotel is one block from Kamari beach - this turned out to be a blessing because we weren't right on the beach with the noise and craziness that occurs at night. Other small hotels and residences were near us - very quiet and peaceful. The pool is bigger than the other hotel pools in the area - I noticed because a friend stayed in another hotel and was upset at the small size of theirs. The breakfast is pastries, ham, cheese, breads, cereals, awesome yogurt and Tina's homemade marmelades. It's not a typical American breakfast, but it will keep you going until lunch! IF you rent a car, the parking lot for the beach is right across the street. Also, the bus stop is right at the corner. Very convenient. Really, we were there a week and loved it. We had friends in other hotels who did not love their rooms. Stop looking and stay at Chez Sophie!

A word about our experience on the island of Santorini itself. If your main objective is to enjoy the beach, then Kamari is the best town for you to stay. This IS the beach. And it's not sand, it's large, dark, pebbles so bring aquasocks or every store sells them for 8 Euro. You can rent a palapa for 6 Euro/day for shade, otherwise down at the south end of the beach near the mountain, there are trees to lay under. This is also where the 'locals' and cliff divers go. At the top of that mountain is Ancient Thira - I highly recommend seeing it. Tours go up there, or catch the bus. We didn't dare walk it. Fira and Oia are on the West coast of the island and are on the cliffside. No beaches. Since they are on the cliff, they both have endless stairs - probably not a good idea if you have mobility issues. These towns are good for shopping, seeing the sunset, good photo ops, watching the donkeys and are crowded with folks.

Room Tip: Email Tina - the manager- with any questions you may have. She's wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seeitandbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Tina's hospitality is truely wonderful. Great pool. Wonderful place. Excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.7 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
274 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites

Property: Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites
Address: Kamari, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamari
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing