We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Taverna

Family Taverna
Ranked #94 of 115 Restaurants in Kamari
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: alternative website www.syrtaki-santorini-gr
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a party of 12 and used this restaurant a few times during our 14 night stay.
The food was good and the prices reasonable (much the same as its neighbours).
Demitri has a knack of getting people into the restaurant, no matter how many of you there is.

After your meal he will insist on sharing several shots of Raki which is great if you like drinking neat meths.

All said. I would recommend the family restaurant for at least one visit if your in KAmari.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    33
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Food was ok but not for that price. If you go 100 meters from promenade you can eat similiar dishes for almost half that price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marek1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taste of the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This places is called family, because the owners brother and brother in law go out and catch the fish and local seafood, while his wife and sister cook the delicious food.

It's so lovely to know, that the food you are eating is cooked with love and in season. The day before we sat at this beautiful & extremely clean restaurant, we saw a waiter bring out a plate of freshly caught fish to show the customer. We were very impressed.

The food was so fresh and tender. Highly recommend this place for anyone who loves their seafood as much as we do!

Helpful?
Thank Koula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owner was a con”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

At first the owner Dimitris seemed like a great guy. The food seemed to be ok...... But when we asked for our check he just gave us a total amount(no check). When we questioned the amount he had a bogus price of the " special" appetizer for 25 euro. All the other appetizers were 7&8 euro and main courses for 12 euro. When we questioned the 25 he started to negotiate the price. He was obviously trying to overcharge!!! Too bad seemed like a nice place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well ran typical Greek Taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Dimitris is a passionate owner and that transcends into the food.

For great feed at a reasonable price give Family Taverna a go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilandCarolineHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Family Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Family Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing