We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent facility, terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent facility, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our first night in Santorini. We had booked a windmill suite for our honeymoon and were informed upon arrival that none were available. They instead "upgraded" to us a suite above the lobby, which was simply an overpriced two bedroom space with way too much space that we did not need. Our luggage had not yet arrived so we could not enjoy the pool area, but it seemed large and quite nice for a swim. We walked down the path to their private area on the beach and enjoyed the view along with a drink at the pool bar. The World Cup match was on but the TV at the pool bar was turned off so we decided to go to Kamari and watch it. We paid the hotel driver to take us closer to town as the hotel is a 30 minute walk from any restaurants or bars. That evening when we arrived back to the hotel the man at the front desk was rude when we inquired about the status of our lost luggage. The next morning when we went to check out, the woman at the front desk was again rude to us when we asked her to call us a cab and she said "No!" claiming there were no cabs at all, while my husband was able to call us a cab from his cell phone which arrived in 15 minutes. They also bristled at the prospect of using our debit card to pay for incidentals and insisted that we pay in cash. The hotel staff were not accommodating or kind to us in any meaningful way (save the bartender at the pool). We were quite happy to check out early and move onto our hotel in Fira...after taking a cab back to the airport to first collect our luggage since Imperial Med did not assist us in this regard. We would not recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank imagin8shn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    107
    34
    35
    26
See reviews for
56
168
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This has to be the worst holiday we have ever had. Arrived late at night. Only to be told that we had a room but not for the following Friday night. My wife kicked off big style and eventually the manager condescended to give us a junior suite for our 14 days of hell. We booked this hotel after being advised by our tour operator that it was a child free hotel. Only to subsequently find out that this hotel has contracted out approx 50 of the 57 rooms to an Italian holiday camp. This included music from 8am in the morning until at least 11pm in the evening. Lots of noisy young children (though I do not blame them) playing in the pool late morning and late evening. No relaxation there.
Though we booked B&B (and thank God we did) the food in the restaurant was only a buffet style (cooked by Italian chefs brought in by the Veraclub) and was absolutely disgusting. Though there were two Greek nights (on a Monday) but although a fair variety this was always cold. Due to all of our arguments (on a daily basis) the manager allowed us four nights in the restaurant along with a carafe of freezing cold red wine. We wouldn't even have used it for cooking.
Had we known about Veraclub, all the music and children we would definitely not have booked this hotel.
We spoke to another five English couples while we were there and they all had similar problems. No rooms for them because of the Italians, shunted to other hotels (not of the same standard) one even had three hotels, another had four days out of seven at an inferior hotel. The list goes on and on.a
So I urge anyone that is considering booking this hotel not to do so. Otherwise you will suffer the same fate as previous English holidaymakers. That is that you will be treated as a second class citizen.
Lastly I have got to say the staff did there very best to make us welcome. But the management and owners leave a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Basically the only tip I can give people who have the misfortune to be going to this hotel would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamari hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having arrived on the late flight, we took a taxi to the hotel where we were warmly welcomed but swiftly told were to be moved to another hotel as they were overbooked.
Despite our protests we were taken to another hotel in Kamari with the promise it was of an equal 4star rating, that we would have full use of the imperial med facilities with full board benefits, as well as a driver on call to pick us up and drop us off at the hotel at our convenience.
Needless to say none of these promises were fulfilled. The hotel we were moved to was not a boutique 4star, but rather a more basic 3star. As the week went on, the staff at the Imperial became more difficult, questioning whether we were entitled to the full board drinks and menu, becoming unavailable to take calls and trying to get us to pay for the so called 'on-hand transfers' to the hotel.
While the hotel and it's pool and outdoor facilities were beautiful, we were left to feel like inferior guests to the Italian guests booked through Veraclub, and whom it appeared everything was catered specifically for, including both the meals and entertainment.
Talking to the other guests, ours does not appear to be a one off experience. Beautiful hotel but terrible service. Such a shame.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff.Our suite was 911 the best in the hotel over looking the sea.Very clean house keeping perfect .reception very helpfull and friendly.Bar staff yannis and laz looked after us great people.The beach sunbeds very comfortable and now the negative unable to enter the sea due to 18 foot of bolders and pebbles .We could not spend our day round the pool without ear plugs the hotel guest are 98% italian and are catered for 100% constant activty and very anoying .We had breakfast daily ok but nothing special but do hold onto your knife while cutting bread as an italian oap might try and snatch it out of your hand.Over all despite being on the runway and planes coming and going every 10 mins a lovely hotel Take away bulk guests in groups of 150 (all italian) it would be an even bettet hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this hotel 6 months ago through last minute holidays. After arriving at the hotel, the manager welcomed us with news that they had over booked (even though I had rang up a few weeks ago to confirm booking) and we were going to the sister hotel. We were given vouchers for the spa and free lunch whenever we please. However the manager lied in saying the sister hotel was also 4 star but it is in fact 3 star. Extremely let down by this hotel and the manager was very impatient on the phone when we phoned to complain about the basic room we have in sister hotel. On another note, the sister hotel alesahne is in a much better location with a very nice manager who understood our frustrations. If you want good restaurants, shops and the beach on your doorstep for a lot less money book alesahne. Overall, would strongly recommend not booking this hotel to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chelsiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The Imperial Med hotel rooms & pool are fantastic: the rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished in a boutique style, cleaned to an immaculate standard. The environment and gardens were lovely and we are fortunate to be in a great suite next to the pool. The airport is near, but noise honestly wasn't that intrusive.

However, when we arrived, we were informed that there was a double booking at the Imperial Med we were to be moved to another hotel of 'equivalent' rating (I think not!!!) in Kamari. Said hotel was completely unsatisfactory. We had to complain swiftly & loudly to get ourselves moved to our suite at the Imperial Med. This seems to be an island-wide issue: it would appear that it is standard practice in Santorini that hotels accept over bookings & then leave the holiday company Reps to sort out the ensuing problems: disgraceful. We met two other coupes who had booked the Imperial Med who were in an identical situation to ourselves in this respect; one couple had actually booked their holiday a year ago.

Back to the hotel review: cleanliness of the rooms was of a very high standard & we were provided with lovely soft towels, dressing gowns & slippers. The pool area was beautiful & uncrowded. There is a spa with massage and exercise activities by the pool three times a day if you want to join in.

Mention has to be made of the lunchtime singers: so bad they were good.. Entertainment in itself! Staff were friendly & helpful, particularly Nico & the reception staff. There is a very reasonably priced transfer service to Kamari. We did rely on taxis, but it's a small island & we got a taxi for €12 to Thira when we had a day out there.

The bar by the pool was pleasant - average prices, but the quality of the cocktails depended on which bartender was working that day.

Food: breakfast fare was a good range & choice & both hot and cold food are provided, but the quality could have been better (cold fried tomatoes one morning). We were ultimately glad we had booked B&B, as the evening menu was pretty much bereft of any traditional Greek food: if you want to eat very average Italian meals then this is the place for you. The majority of the hotel's guests were Italian and the menu was aimed solely at them. It's a mystery why you'd not want to provide or dine on the delicious local food, but there you go. We ate out in Kamari nearly every night - the local restaurants are well worth the cab fare.

I can't fault the hotel environment: we absolutely couldn't have picked a better place to relax, but the food & the booking situation let the place down, unfortunately, otherwise I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just turned up to this hotel after booking on hotels.com 1 month ago for 4 days. Read the reviews and after booking came to find this hotel is pretty much on the runway.
Turned up after a very long flight and after getting lost due to no signage on the roads, we eventually came to find the hotel. Pulling up onto the driveway and still no signage we asked a worker if this was the imperial med. He replied yes and so we went into the reception area to 'check in'.
The receptionist told us this hotel was under refurb and was closed and there was no confirmation of our booking, even though we had a email, confirmation number and our hotel booking through the website. They did a few phone calls and then the manager came over to the hotel who took us to a sister hotel. He said we could stay there (Mediterranean beach) and showed us to a room. Yes this hotel is on the beach and he offered us half board free of charge, but the hotel was further out of town than the imperial med hotel we had booked and turned out after looking on hotels.com this sister hotel was €160 cheaper than the one we had originally booked. The manager had told us to take up the money situation with hotels.com as he didn't have the money, but therefore would still have to pay the original amount of €360 to the sister hotel even though it was advertised as €200 on hotels.com. We ended up driving off in the end and finding a hotel closer to the town and found a good find. (Kamari beach hotel)
Just be very wary as this hotel is still advertised on hotels.com and has no description of it being closed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginaarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#2 of 13 in Perivolos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#11 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa

Property: Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa
Address: Aghia Paraskevi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Med Hotel Kamari
Imperial Med Hotel, Resort And Spa
Imperial Med Resort
Imperial Med Hotel, Resort & Spa Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing