We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay at the Antinea Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very nice stay at the Antinea Hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

From start to finish the staff looked after us. We had a bit of confusion when arriving, me and my boyfriend had booked a suite room with a outdoor jaccuzi and thought it was indoor, after finding this out, the manager upgraded us to a suite room with a outdoor pool, which was fab! We travelled with my father and brother, who were also upgraded from a standard room, to a room with a outdoor jaccuzi, they were both pleased.
The hotel is situated on a hill, but is a 10 min walk from kamari town, perfect if you want to get fit!! There are 2 pools, both are quite and lovely to chill around, lots of plunge pools and jaccuzi's dotted around the place, cannot fault this hotel, its lovely.
Big thanks to the staff at Antinea :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginaarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    86
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
169
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My huband and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Antinea Suites Hotel. I would like to say it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. We were there celabrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and the staff at the hotel did everything the could to help us celebrate our day. Our room wasn't available when we first arrived so we were put into a charming stone built bungalow across from reception for the first night. But the next day to our surprise we were upgraded to the Junior Suite with an outdoor pool. We were so delighted this really made our Anniversary very special. Thank-you to all the staff for their help and assistance. Beautiful Island and people, can't wait to go back. Pam and Andy room 306

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank switchboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Really bad service. Arrived on 9/12/2011, to a nice looking room.  Found that the unit's door did not lock and that the unit smelled like sewage (room 107). Spoke to the front desk who assured me everything would be resolved.  Returned 10 hours or so later and nothing was done.  Ordinarily it would be an irritation but not a major deal. When we discussed it with the front desk attendant he told us it was not necessary that our room door close.  When I said that other room doors close he said "don't worry about what the other rooms do, just worry about your own room".

I took up the issue with the manager who apologized and said she would change our room and send a bottle of wine for the trouble. She changed our room to one which had no airconditioning and sure enough, never sent the wine she promised. To make matters even worse, on our final night, the night guard some how got a key to our room and entered at 4am for no apparent reason at all. When I woke up he apologized and left which makes me seriously question the safety of this hotel.

I've dealt with rude people before but this hotel has some real jerks working here. It's great from a decor perspective but if you want to relax and enjoy santorini don't come here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picopaco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAntinea, Manager at Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Sir,
First of all thank you for your lovely comments !!

I would really appreciate if we can explain and put our personal point across on the review you wrote to give the readers of trip advisor a fair understanding from both parties .

-Upon arrival, you had booked a Standard Double room, you had an upgrade to a Junior Suite with Outdoor Jacuzzi. Before you go out you passed by from the reception to claim about the door and a kind of smell to your suite and the receptionist assured you that we would resolve it, and we did. We checked immediately the door and it was locked already from you, because you could lock it! The only problem was that from the usage (we are Hotel, clients use the rooms daily) you just had to close it with more power. About the smell it was unfortunately coming from the underground pipes (also from the usage and because a lot of clients don’t know that we don’t have the same system like other countries so in Greece we do not through the papers into the toilet). So according that we did all the necessary procedure, cleaned all the pipes with appropriate chemicals once more. So we did our best to help you! You arrived late at night and you came back at the reception complaining once more for all the above. The night receptionist came to help you , so first of all once more your door was closing (you just wanted to be able to close it automatically) and secondly the receptionist ,English is not his native language, wanted to emphasize that what was important was to resolve the problem with your room independently for what was happening to other rooms.
-Then you claimed that you want to speak to the Manager NOW because of his bad behavior and the rude Manager was speaking to you on the phone and apologizing for 30 minutes at 01.15a.m ( how many “rude managers “ would speak that time with clients on the phone? )
I even suggested to you to change immediately your room but you refused and told me it is ok to change in the morning and I personally asked to see you to speak with you the next day in the morning. The next day we saw each other, we spoke and I explained to you all the above and you even told me to fire the receptionist!! Our conversation was calm and polite so I thought everything was fine. We sent you wine in the room but since you were not there all day we kept it on the reception to give it to you and YOU TOOK IT WITH YOU AS A PRESENT FROM US, I PERSONALLY WAS THERE , YOU HAD PUT IT IN YOUR SUITCASE!
During your stay at the new room – Junior Suite- you never complained for the air-condition and as far as it concerns the night guard his behavior was completely normal because your friend passed by from the reception saying “we make check out the key is in the room”,
how could he know that you are still there when you friend tell him that.
It’s amazing how easy it was for you to judge and criticize all of us in two nights staying in our Hotel (all day long you were around the island, only for sleeping you were in Antinea).
I don’t know how people would like to stay in our Hotel will feel reading your review and after mine but I have to say one thing ME AND MY STAFF TRY ALLWAYS TE BEST FOR OUR CLIENTS, we are a season hotel but we have repeaters all the years since I am here and for one thing that I can guarantee 100% is that we were never rude to anybody and for sure we are not jerks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My girlfriend and I recently went to Kamari in Santorini in Greece. We had a lot of choice but decided to stay at the Antinea Suites Hotel. The hotel is set up a hill overlooking the resort but still minutes away from the main front. Therefore it was quiet and peaceful but still close to the bars and restaurants. The Antinea was stunning! Very new, very clean and the food was just perfect. You have the main pool but there are splash pools and Jacuzzis dotted around. The double sun beds around the pool are idea for couples and family’s. The room was plush and cleaned by the very friendly staff every morning. In fact everyone says hello and asks how you are and the manager Eleftheria could not be more helpful. Great place, great people and will be back next year!

Room Tip: There is a mix of rooms in different settings so call the hotel and ask their advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel Anthinea is a quiet, predominantly adult hotel, set back from Kamari, nestled against the base of the cliffs behind the picturesque Kamari Beach, about 15 min moderate hill walk away. Its design reminiscent of a Greek hill village, albeit contemporary - a labyrinth of paths, steps and rooms, with sea views somewhat blocked by newer buildings and mature vegetation. Up some steps and around a corner, and you stumble across a small, secluded pool and 6 sun loungers, with a quiet corner furnished with a padded wicker sofa and chairs in the shade of a tree; down more steps and around another corner is a quiet bar; more steps to a lower level takes you to the main pool with loungers and cabanas. No view at all from here, hidden behind the wall of a neighbouring hotel, which gives morning shade and direct afternoon sun, which disappears behind the hill at about 5pm.
The neutral decor is restful, rooms are large and comfortable, facing the sunrise, few with an unobscured seaview. Ours had a small terrace with table and chairs. More expensive rooms offered a tiny shady jacuzzi/plunge pool. Rooms cleaned daily with clean towels, robes and slippers, satellite TV and safe. Also fridge, which we stocked with drinks and water.
Hotel pool towels provided but may not be taken to the black sand/shingle town beach, where cheap beach towels may be purchased (6 Euros) and two loungers + parasol cost total 7 Euros/day. Bring or buy beach shoes (5 Euros) because the black sand gets ferociously hot and the pebbly sea-bed shelves quickly away.
Neighbouring Perissa can be reached around the headland by small boat 'taxi' (10 mins, 4 Euros each one-way), which may or may not return to collect you, depending on the sea. We were abandoned without word to get the bus via Fira back to Kamari (50 mins). Smaller and less polished than Kamari, Perissa boasts a fine, black sand beach and a gentler swim.
B+B option provided a fabulous breakfast with full range of cooked options, pastries, fruit, juices, continental, toast, conserves, cereal, tea and coffee, and gave freedom to eat an inexpensive lunch at one of the numerous beachside tavernas. On the walk into Kamari you pass atmospheric tavernas serving Greek and other European cuisine, including a wide range of fresh seafood. Best meal: Ellis in Fira. Best value: Petrino Garden in Kamari (Greek platter 17 Euros for 2). Poorest all round for value/service/food: Poseiden in Kamari.
Recommend Caldera cruise. Boat packed. Includes walk up volcano and swim in hot springs (quite a swim to shore, water stains white swimsuits). Take money for extras - snacks/drinks on board, afternoon meal at Thirassia and donkey ride up the cliff at Oia. Inexpensive bus to Fira every 30 mins until 3am, recommended to drink in the fabulous views.
All in all a great holiday, wonderful people, great service, lovely hotel. We'll be going back, booking direct for a 'returners' upgrade!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My boyfriend and I spent there a wonderful week! The hotel has a nice location with a sea view, a bit up on the hill. It's close to the relics of the Ancient Thira. It has a nice swimming pool and relaxed atmosphere.
The Kamari beach (400m away) is wonderful and more peaceful than the neighbouring Perissa beach.
The food at the hotel was good, diverse and tasty. The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms spacious and clean. Maybe they should consider installing some new matresses, but that's also the only (little) complaint we had. There's also free wi-fi access.
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckles8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oost Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel is just amazing (14-21/06/2011) room 305. We got a junior suite, but as we were just married they gave us an upgrade, a suite with jacuzzi! When we arrived we got a bottle of wine and fruit basket. Thought you are near the beach, this hotel is in a quite environment, the ideal place to relax. It's on a hill, but if you're young and still sporty, this may not be a problem.
Rooms and hotel were very clean, people friendly. Food is typical greek kitchen, so this depends from your taste. I loved it, although there were some people who found the food could be a bit warmer. There were some cats searching for food, but this is in all Greece, and I loved it :-) All in all, good service for your money!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nele091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#30 of 75 in Kamari
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#11 of 75 in Kamari
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean View Hotel
Aegean View Hotel
#21 of 75 in Kamari
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa

Property: Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Address: Kamari | Santorini, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#34 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4* hotel built in traditional Cycladic architecture with all modern facilities. Situated in the shadow of Ancient Thira, at a peaceful location on the hillside, offering a magnificent panoramic view of Kamari and the Aegean sea. Antinea offers the opportunity to his guests to combine relaxation and luxury during their holidays.. Guests can relax and enjoy their drink by the Pool, taste Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant, chill out at the bar or pamper themselves at the Spa. This cleverly designed property is bright, spacious and well equipped, offering visitors the opportunity to have a swim in the clean blue sea of the black sandy beach of Kamari, just 400 m. away, where also restaurants, bars and shops are located. The hotel consists of 10 Double or Triple rooms, 7 Junior Suites, 11 Junior Suites with Private Jacuzzi, 9 Imperial Junior Suites with Indoor Jacuzzi and 3 Junior Suites with Private Outdoor Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antinea Hotel Kamari
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing