We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Matina”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 November 2012

the staff at Hotel Matina were fantastic, always accomadating. breakfast was great every morning. The entire property was extremely clean. The pool is out front but set back from the road which was quite peaceful with a great mountain view.
thanks so much Vasso, Ender and Vangelis. great place in a great vacation location. excelent pool side bar. Great Santorini Salad on the menu

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Matina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have been visiting the smaller Greek islands for some 33 years and Santorini and in particular Hotel Matina for a number of those years.
It is extremely difficult for us to specify what makes this hotel so special:is it the the owners(mum Matina-hence the name- dad Vangelis and daughter Vasso)who are all so friendly,helpful and polite,the staff who all reflect the owners' attitude,the first class cleanliness throughout or just the little things they get right such as clean towels every day,the breakfast fruit juices not being watered down(believe me it happens quite regularly in general) or just that everyone is prepared to go the extra mile to ensure that you are a satisfied "guest" and not just another customer.Something I have not experienced anywhere else is the way the remote controls for the air-con and fridge are kept clean - they are covered in cling film and each time the room occupancy changes the cling film is changed!A small detail but to me outstanding thinking.
The hotel is approx 200 metres from the beach and there are numerous tavernas/restaurants close by.The hotel consists of two buildings,the original "Pension Matina" with 13 rooms and the newer building with 27 rooms.In between is the lovely pool area with numerous free loungers,tables and chairs.The pool bar can provide you with drinks and snacks throughout the day.The rooms are clean,comfortable,nicely furnished and have air-con,refridgerator,hairdrier and flat screen tv.They also have a safe at a small charge.
Breakfast is buffet style with fried/boiled eggs,slices of hams,cheeses,various breads,cereals,pastries,yoghurt and preserves with fruit juices,water,milk,tea and coffee.Fully sufficient to start the day.
At reception you will get information and assisstance with all aspects of a holiday and tourist services e.g. island trips and bookings for ferries,flights etc.Their knowledge of the island is impressive.
We can only speak as we find and we have absolutely ho hesitation in recommending Hotel Matina.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les2ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Matina is a family owned Hotel. Vasso, Vangelis and his Wife (I don’t remember her name) are locals, and will help You in all the ways You’ll need.
We were 3 people in 2 rooms. Me and My wife and my wife’s best friend.
The hotel is small. A typical Santorini construction. Has a very nice pool in front, a nice front patio where You can have breakfast.
The rooms are a little bit small, but this is the average in Santorini. Bathroom also is small. They don’t have a great view from the rooms, although they are very luminous.
Round the corner You’ll find many eateries, and it is 3 blocks from Kamari beach that is packed with eateries. We tried many, and all were very good. I also recommend the beach. You have black grainy sand. I’ll say that the hotel is very well placed, far from Fira’s noise and movement.
If you want to go to Fira or Oia. Vangelis can take You for a reasonable fare. Also He will recommend taberns or restaurants that are not intended for tourists. Having excellent quality and reasonable prices.
We rented a car and went to every places possible in the island. Is lovely. The beach we liked the most was Perissa, with many places to hang out.
I strongly recommend Hotel Marina if You are on a budget, like a family ambience and don’t care to be in the trendiest place of the Island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationeer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great area, breakfast healthy and fresh. Bar lovely the choc milkshakes and strawberry piña colada's are not to be missed. The rooms basic but gd, the bathrooms are small. Staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicablex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay in hotel matina-a special experience.this is a genuine <family run hotel>,our hosts matina and vangelis and their daughter vasso were most welcoming and helpful.all the hotel matina staff reflected their spirit of personal attention.
the hotel is a few minutes walk from the beautiful<if a little stoney>kamari beach-truly great sea swimming.the hotel has a fine swimming pool and outdoor lounge area.
buffet breakfast is a real treat to relax over.at the pool drinks and excellent freshly prepared food is served by the attentive maia,nothing too much trouble.lots of good restaurants within easy walking;vangelis brought us to some excellent distant restaurants.very good atmosphere among guests many on repeat visits.we plan to return next.a real gem. alan and mary c dublin

Room Tip: rooms to front overlook pool and this was our choice;someone else might prefer room to rear for quie...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Santorini is a wonderful holiday destination. Coming back to the Hotel Matina after 22 years is like a time travel. Except for the many improvements, like a nice swimming pool and a pool bar, the owner family and the staff really make you feel welcome, now just as much as back in 1990!
Situated two hundred meters from the beach you get to stay a bit away from the crowd at the same time getting a short distance to the beach and all the shops + restaurants. You find car rental companies next door and the nearest public free car parking is just 100 meters away.
The rooms are nice, with bathroom and shower, air conditioning, fridge and balcony. The hotel has a delightful lounge area and a cosy breakfast area. Beautiful flowers and delicate interior details make a good atmosphere. Outdoor area is clean, stylish and inviting. Free WiFi internet with a fairly high speed made it possible for me to work from the balcony being connected to my web and e-mail server. Very nice to get the room cleaned every day. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I spent 5 nights at this hotel, and both the facility and the services provided exceeded my expectations. The location is ideal - a short walk to the beach, restaurants and across the street from a bus stop. The room was clean and comfortable, with a fridge and balcony. The pool was clean and well maintained, with a great bar onsite.

However, the best part was the service provided by the owners. No question was too trivial, no request went unfulfilled and, like other reviewers have shared, they went over and above to arrange dinners and evening entertainment, arrangements to visit various sites on the island, sunset views at a winery, restaurant recommendations in town, provide assistance with hotel reservations in Athens (thanks for the request for a quiet room!), and have even taken care of sending some forgotten items back to my home.

If i'm able to return to Santorini, I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank SRG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
453 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £55 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing