We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHARM AND COMFORT GALORE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Matina
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CHARM AND COMFORT GALORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was my first time in Santorini and I am traveling with my friend who has been to the Hotel Matina twice before. He told me about the lovely family that runs the Hotel. They were welcoming and friendly and made us quite comfortable. Love the Hotel, the family and even their dogs. Come once and you'll have to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    75
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
88
160
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Hotel Matina twice, July 1993 and July 2012, same family run business and same amazing and personalized service! We loved it so much the first time we named our first daughter Kamari after the village and our second daughter Matina after the hotel and our host! It was a pleasure bringing the girls at ages 18 and 14 (along with their brother) back in 2012, plans are now in the works for another visit in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOtto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel Matina for our daughters wedding. The Hotel is lovely and we were all made very welcome by the family who run the Hotel. The Hotel is in an excellent location, with easy access to the beach and buses to get you around the island.We booked the transfers with Vangelis which were brilliant, no waiting around. A trip to the local taverna with Vangelis is a must, we're you can eat traditional Greek food, and was thoroughly enjoyable. Lots of local Tavernas to choose from within a short walking distance. The family at Matina are brilliant and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable, they helped in every possible to make our daughters wedding a success, and I thank them for this. I would definitely return to the Hotel Matina, and look forward to meeting all the family and staff who made us feel like part of their family. The hotel itself is very comfortable and quiet with a lovely pool. WILL DEFINITELY RETURN NEXT YEAR..

Room Tip: We stayed on room 38 37 34 which were all nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 days. The location was great, just a few mins walk to the kamari beach, so that we could enjoy the sunshine. We rented a car, so everything became much easier. I highly recommend everybody to do so!!
The best thing about this hotel is that all the staff were incredible! We bought a few bottles of wine in a museum, which were not allowed to be taken on the plane. We knew nobody in santorini and there was no post service in the airport. So we called the hotel, and they came here and posted everything!
Btw, the puppies were sooo cute!!! Always say hello to us whenever we got back to the hotel.
Overall, it was a very nice place. Nice breakfast, clean room, good decoration, incredible staff!
Just one thing, the swimming pool was closed during the time we were there, so make sure you are going there in a good season!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shania_loves_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here last year as a start and stop-over for our Greek Island holiday. The hotel, it's owners and staff were all fantastic. Purchasing ferry tickets, recommending restaurants, port and airport collections and pick-ups. Great breakfast, clean well equipped rooms, nice pool and bar. Ticked all the boxes!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed here in August 2011 and meant to write a review then, I absolutely love this place.

My girlfriend and I travelled from London and stayed for a week, there was a very cheery and prompt pick up at the airport, and the customer service throughout the week was superb. I think it's a family run hotel, and they all went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Even their puppy by the pool was super friendly!

We couldn't afford to stay at one of the deluxe hotels with the infinity pools looking over the bay, so we were just hoping to find a small, intimate, relaxed hotel where we could recharge. This hotel ticks all the boxes, and they were also happy to arrange you tours and the like if you wanted too.

Tip - climb up the winding road to the top of the cliff for sunset, incredible views.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Matina Last June, when we arrived we were really pleased, the room was clean and fresh although they are small.

Unfortunately, after a few hours of our arrival the pool/ bar was mobbed by a wedding party, they were extremely drunk and using foul language. We hoped this would be a one off and retired to our room, however, we were wrong! This was the story for our entire stay, during the day they took over the pool, drinking all day, jumping in the pool with food swearing and taking over the small pool bar by night.

We found out later that only a small number of the party had paid to stay at Hotel Matina, the rest were staying in cheaper accommodation and just using the facilities.

I feel really annoyed that this was allowed to happen when the owners could quite clearly see what was going on but obviously did not care!

This ruined our holiday, they are more concerned with making money, than their paying guests. We complained to the owners but they didn't even have the courtesy to respond.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
1.3 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
3.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing