We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Ever!”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon Ever!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Matina in July for our honeymoon.
Cannot praise this hotel enough! Very clean, beautiful setting, lovely kind hosts, close to beach and restaurants.
The hotel left us a bottle of champagne and a lovely letter to welcome us as it was our honeymoon.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked up for next year already. Cannot wait to return :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    83
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
103
176
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My oldest daughter and I decided to travel to Greece at the last minute in August 2013. We chose to go to Athens as well as Santorini. We found Matina Hotel via Expedia and were very happy with our choice. It is a beautiful, family-run hotel with stunning gardens and private patios/balconies for each room. The pool area is lovely and the beach at Kamari only 5 minutes' walk away. We rented a car and so spent a lot of our time visiting all over the island. But coming back to Matina was a complete joy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookbabe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If you want to go to Santorini and don't want to stay in Oia, stay here!
The staff was so incredibly welcoming (family run)- they told us about different excursions available for us, recommended a great restaurant in Kamari beach, told us about a local restaurant with a Greek show the night we were there, provided transportation to/from the airport and port- all for a great price. The breakfast was great, the room was clean, the pool was beautiful, the location is awesome- 5 min walk to the beach and restaurants, buses available to go to the center of nightlife. Our room was spacious and had a balcony (although not much of a view...)
I can't recommend Matina enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is the second time I've been to this hotel. The last time was 2001. Everything good I remember is still great. I've just met a couple who have been annually returning for the last 15yrs. Enough said!
Spotlessly clean, chilled & friendly atmosphere, always accommodating & helpful. Family run by a family who desire to please.
The pool area/bar always has someone to cater for your needs. The beach & shops just a 2 min walk away.
Would I come back again? Why fix something that is not broken! Definetly yes!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into two separate buildings. An accommodation block is near the road but the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael4444Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a great location for beach, shops and bars etc which can all be reached on foot.

The pool area was good with decent beds, free towels and a good selection of authentic food and drinks.

The breakfast is left on a room temperature counter which put me off a bit (meat and milk served like this doesnt feel right!) but plenty of greek style choice other than theres no toast! :/

The hotel offer lifts at twice the cost of a cab so get a cab arranged from a nearby bar if you need one!!

It's like you're staying in the family's spare room more so than being a hotel guest, ie. you feel like you should apologise if you order several drinks at once and that you may cause offence if you dont eat all of your meal! I realise some like the more personal/homely feel but it was a bit over bearing sometimes.

Room was really small, a bit smelly at night for some reason with almost no floor space and very little storage, no tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom was minute, loo may as well be in the shower tray (curtain no cubicle). As a sleep base it's totally fine for friends but probably not for proper grown ups or families.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucestershirePips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Located 2 minutes from the beach, this family run hotel is really an excellent choice: the pool is fine, the pool bar really nice and the hotel staff is friendly and welcoming. Our room (2 adults, a child) was nice, perfectly clean, comfortable, and the bathroom small but nice.
Resting at the pool during the day was really relaxing, and the choice of music at the pool bar perfect.
Breakfast comprehends very good local cakes. Obviously, we'll go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel 15years ago and are delighted that we chose it again this year. A family run hotel that puts its guests first. All staff were friendly and helpful. Although the rooms and balconys are not large they are adequate and very clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated back from the main road and is a cool and quiet retreat from the main strip of restaurants. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
2.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing