We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I loved this Hotel!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It's a beautiful hotel with everything you need. The staff is fantastic! Especially the older gentleman that usually does the shuttle service, he's the best! The breakfast they offer is great, the pool is beautiful and it's a short walk down to the Kamari black sand beaches and the "boardwalk" style street that all the restaurants & shops are at. Lunch was great at Nichteri. See live Greek music & dancers close by at Taverna Dimitris. I highly suggest doing an excursion while visiting & make sure to visit the town of Oia...it's amazing! Best hotel of my stay!

Room Tip: Close to black sand beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    79
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
172
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Matina 3 times now and we have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The breakfast is homemade and offers wide variety. The pool area is lovely and relaxed with a little pool bar serving a selection of drinks and tasty snacks. The beach is 5 minute walk away as are the busy restaurants and bars. This makes the location of Matina perfect as everything you need is within walking distance yet is set back from the nightlife so the evenings are quiet. The family running the hotel are inviting, friendly and always on hand to make recommendations allowing you to get the most from your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smoflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Matina hotel is your getaway to the charm of Santorini. A few meters away from Kamari beach, with boutique style rooms, free wi-fi, hospitable environment, excellent service and home made breakfast from lovely Matina herself.
I spent an unforgettable week and I am looking forward to going back, next year.
Many thanks to the wonderful owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

it is a family run hotel with great gardens and private balconies. they make us feel very welcome during our stay.
The rooms are not so big, but they are very clean, the rooms downstairs are a bit noisy, so we asked to be moved upstairs, it was much better as we could hear them in and out their room all times.
we organized the pick-up service and they were punctual at the port. it is walking distance to the beach, restaurants and bars, a real treat. we definitely recommend it. this was our last stop in our island hopping and we are returning to Athens tonight. we wish to come back soon

Room Tip: take a top floor room, we had a ground floor and could hear the people above us when they would walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A lovely,clean,well maintained hotel with a nice layout,plenty of sun loungers and free towels,it's also very well placed for the local bars and taverners which turned out to be useful as unfortunately I and many of my party felt we were imposing with anything other than the most basic of drinks orders,i don't mention food orders as these requests were met with,at first, eye rolling,then a reminder that my friends possibly couldnt have any drinks for a short time while my mammoth request of an omelette was prepared,and by day 3 I was flatly refused a bar snack for my 3 year old as lunch times were busy.By now the service had become a running joke amongst our group and we felt as though we were imposing on a family home,although i must say the evening waitress was an absolute pleasure and to be fair halfway through the holiday I did receive an unprompted apology from another member of staff(our main waitress) as she admitted she had been a little unfair to us,although this didn't change the attitude that greeted our by now rare requests for the rest of the break!Our room was a little small and impractical for a family but was kept very clean and I cannot praise the cleaners highly enough.So in all a place with great potential but with the strange attitude towards paying customers I can't help but feel that the spirit of Basil Fawlty lives on in a corner of santorini.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ange0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Matina in July for our honeymoon.
Cannot praise this hotel enough! Very clean, beautiful setting, lovely kind hosts, close to beach and restaurants.
The hotel left us a bottle of champagne and a lovely letter to welcome us as it was our honeymoon.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked up for next year already. Cannot wait to return :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My oldest daughter and I decided to travel to Greece at the last minute in August 2013. We chose to go to Athens as well as Santorini. We found Matina Hotel via Expedia and were very happy with our choice. It is a beautiful, family-run hotel with stunning gardens and private patios/balconies for each room. The pool area is lovely and the beach at Kamari only 5 minutes' walk away. We rented a car and so spent a lot of our time visiting all over the island. But coming back to Matina was a complete joy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookbabe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
2.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
354 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing