We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Brilliant :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant :)”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the hotel. The hotel team were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were cleaned every day and were lovely and quiet. I cannot rate this hotel enough. We stayed here for our wedding in Santorini and the staff decorated the hotel with banners and ribbons, it was such a lovely touch. We had nothing but a great time here and the location is great as you are just 2 mins away from the restaurants and enter in to your own little oasis. Will hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    75
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
88
160
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing staff, beautiful environment and close to the kamari beach boardwalk. The owners dog, Elsa, is quite the treat to have greeting you when you get back to hotel. Very clean and bright. Bathrooms a little small, but overall worth the stay. Amazing. I'll 100% be back in the future:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamarac5799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We two grandparents booked a two room family suite at The Matina on the recommendation of so many visitors. Our expectations were exceeded. Vagelis and Matina Sigalis have continually upgraded their beautiful small hotel while assuring top quality service and a family friendly atmosphere. Their daughter and manager Vasso greeted us warmly on our 11 pm arrival, aided by friendly Zoey. Our rooms are spotless and comfy, with AC when rarely needed, balconies overlook either the pool or it's lovely gardens. Breakfast is included and features quiche from Matina, fruits and vegetables from the family's seaside garden, the yogurt is thick, the coffee rich.

Pool bar staff included Irini Papapavlou serving evenings, Maya during daytime, both so friendly and efficient. Day front desk manager Corina was particularly thoughtful and interactive with our shy grandson and introduced him to a local boy at the pool. Ender aided our booking and further befriended us during our stay.

The owner is a former professional soccer player and navy diver and seems to know everyone on the island. He introduced us to Dimitri's Tavern for an evening of food, drink and Greek dancing and shared stories of his family's history on Santorini.

We loved our stay. It has the flavor of our favorite hotel, The Australis on Patmos, as Vagelis and Foukas are cut from the same bolt.

One advisory: our shower was pretty tiny.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bugsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Hotel Matina for 3 nights to start off our honeymoon, and what a great start it was! we didn't want to leave! The hotel is beautiful, from the second you walk up the stairs, to your room. The staff was amazing, SO friendly... we did not get her name, but the lady at the front desk throughout the day was so incredibly helpful and friendly, she was always asking us how our stay is, where we were going, and offered suggestions the whole time. The breakfast was delicious, an assortment of meats, fruit, yogurt, breads, and always a few different cakes and treats. The pool is gorgeous, the pool deck and seating is great, everything was new looking and nice... Athena at the pool bar was wonderful, she was so friendly and fast and just a pleasure to talk to. They offer TONS of different drinks from smoothies to milkshakes, you name it, as well as sandwiches, salads and snacks. The walk to Kamari beach was about 5 minutes... and there are tons of shops and restaurants in the area within walking distance. We already want to go back to Greece and if we decide to stop in Santorini again we would most definitely be back to stay here. 5 star service, excellent price, and just the friendliest people to share your vacation with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill_085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great b&b with a lovely welcoming feel. We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May before moving on to Firostefani for our last two nights. As it was the beginning of the season it was very quiet, but as we left it was starting to get busier. The grounds around the pool were impeccable and the whole hotel spotless. Breakfast was continental/ traditional Greek (fab Greek yoghurt and figs!).

The location is great - just a short stroll to beach where there are bars and shops lining the sea front. A large supermarket can be found on the way to the beach (2 minutes walk). The family who run the hotel are lovely - they couldn't do enough for you. Matina's husband picked us up from the airport and even took us to our next hotel in firostefani for a very reasonable cost.

The only down side was because it was the beginning of the season and there had been some storms before we got there, the pool had not been filled yet. Luckily, it was a bit windy so we may not have used the pool anyway, but it may have been nice to been informed before we got there as it was a bit of a disappointment initially. Having said that though, they did say if we wanted to come back from Firostefani for the day we could use the pool (as it got filled up the day we left!).

All in all, a lovely hotel. Even in busier periods I can imagine it would still have a 'small hotel' feel about it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joey_b26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a find! Took us a while to decide where to stay on our week's break in Santorini. I must say we made a perfect choice. I run an exclusive small hotel in London, never been to Greece so didn't know what to expect from a reasonably priced small family run hotel.
It is spotlessly clean,fresh linen every day, fresh towels every day,great pool with all day service and the location great for the beach and tavernas. The Family is great really looks after their guests. My daughter got a little sunburned and they took her to s chemist in their own car! And it was late in the evening! We will certainly come back to Matina Hotel and we want to say thank you to everyone! The two lovely dogs and a cat are great fun and very well behaved. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hsnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked a four night stay in a Santorini at Hotel Matina. The owner is very hands on and goes the extra mile to make his guests comfortable. He even insisted on taking us to see an incredible place to take pics on our ride to the ferry. The entire staff is AMAZING...Incredibly helpful and accommodating. It felt line we were staying with family. The breakfast is a great European-style spread. The rooms are nice and clean. Most have a private balcony. The pool area is very nice. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It's top notch and a fantastic value. Do yourself a favor and stay here. You won't regret it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lculbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 77 in Kamari
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 77 in Kamari
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
3.1 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing