We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
353
98
27
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
98
27
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean pierre pool bar the bus rooms are clean and comfortable lovely family run a family run hotel restaurant recommendations yogurt few minutes walk rental car lovely hotel bars and restaurants drinks and snacks family wedding pool side small balcony perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely hotel to stay in with such a personal service, good breakfast, great location, lovely pool and very clean environment, all the staff were amazing and so helpful. we had a lovely stay here, and will return here if we are in santorini again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shelley-james-hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying in Santorini need not cost a fortune if you're willing to look beyond infinity pools, cliff top locations and being surrounded by white buildings.

The hotel Matina is located on the eastern side of the island about 15 minutes from the airport in the beach resort of Kamari Beach. It sits back from the sea which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel so handy enough to get to all the beachside bars and restaurants yet far away enough to be nice and peaceful.

Very clean rooms and a very clean hotel. The pool is fantastic and there were enough sun loungers by the pool to accommodate everyone staying there.
The breakfast is good, plenty of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads, jams etc, but also a selection of cold and hot meats, cheese and eggs.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful - happy to book or arrange anything that you need and Jean Paul is a very amiable host. The pool side bar offers snacks during the day and a good range of drinks all decently priced.

We booked through JP a table at a restaurant in Oia down by the harbour and I doubt whether we would have got the same service had we tried to book ourselves or just turned up on the off chance.

The location is ideal for getting around the island, there's a bus stop 20 yards from the hotel entrance that will get you up to Fira for 1.80 euros, from there you can get a bus pretty much anywhere else. For the places you can't get to, hiring a car for the day is easy - 35 euros. The restaurants recomended by JP on our arrival are all well worth a visit and I will review them also rather than mention them here.

There were some families staying however, I felt this was more of a couples hotel given the facilities, there isn't too much for kids to do.

We were there on honeymoon and opted for the bridal suite although, at an extra 20 euros a day, we couldn't really see what we were gaining apart from a large and very comfortable bed (not sure what the other rooms have) and a net curtain hung over the bed that got in the way more than it added to the romantics of it all. Our balcony didn't offer much room and like one of those sliding puzzles, if we had wanted to sit out on it around a table, we would need to push the table one way so that one of use could sit and then the other so that we could both sit. We were however, left a rather delicious bottle of white wine along with a very nice postcard which was very much appreciated.

My only real complaint would be about the size of the shower, it's a pokey wee place and if you're not careful, you just may be increasing the heat of your water whilst turning around to get some other nether region washed. Like everywhere else though, the bathroom is immaculately clean.

Would I stay again, yes, without hesitation.
Would I recommend it to anyone else, indeed I would.

Will we be back, yes - I'm not really one for returning to the same place over and over but we had such an enjoyable stay that we have said we'll definitely be returning to Santorini and hopefully, the hotel Matina.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Walleroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We chose to stay at Hotel Matina after reading all the sterling reviews online and following our visit, we wholeheartedly agree with them.

On arrival, we were shown two different rooms and given a choice of which we wanted, but both had everything we needed. The bed was incredibly comfortable, balcony was tranquil and air-con was much appreciated! The shower, though a little small, was hot and powerful at all times.

Overall, the hotel was lovely, very clean, but with plenty of character and personal touches. We were also really happy with the location, which was peaceful and set back from the hustle and bustle of the beachfront with its range of restaurants, shops and bars – yet less than a 5-minute walk away. Other attractions and parts of the island were easily accessible from this location, for example a 10-minute walk to the Open Air Cinema, a 20-minute boat ride to Perissa and a 15-minute bus to Fira.

We ate breakfast outside every morning overlooking the pool and amazing mountain view, and there was a wide variety of food, including excellent coffee.

Without a doubt though, the hotel’s biggest asset is its staff: from beginning to end, they were outstanding, incredibly friendly, full of advice and went out of their way to ensure our trip was relaxing and enjoyable. They remembered our names and our preferences, and always greeted us with a genuine smile and some useful recommendations. We were in Santorini for a wedding and it was a huge help to have a driver available to pick us up and drop us off around the island – even in the early hours of the morning.

We are already looking forward to our next visit and would recommend Hotel Matina to all our family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NafzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Came in 2013, great family run hotel, all the staff from the owners down to the maids friendly and helpful. Not a huge menu but all the food was beautifully prepared, the included breakfast delicious, continental style. Nice pool area and the bar open til 0130. Reasonable prices. Location is great with only 2 minute walk to beach, plenty of stores, restaurants, bars, car rental agencies and even the local bus stops right outside. Highly recommended; that’s why we’re back in 2018. Same again on the satisfaction scale.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Let me first say that I only write reviews about execptional places that we stay at these days
Hotel Matina is such a place
Wonderful location - a walk to great restaurants and the beach
Plenty of car or quad rental places around the corner
The pool area is devine and hard to drag yourself away from
The breakfast is very very good and everything is home made
The Hotel is very very very clean
Reception is very helpful with all aspects of tours to see santorini
We drove all over and visited most places and we all agreed (5 of us) that this is the best area to stay in
Thira and Oia are sooooooo busy
Book this hotel - you wont be sorry

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews