We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$263
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cavo Bianco(Kamari)
US$214
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
166
123
69
39
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
123
69
39
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive packageminibus servicecarte menunearest towna la carte restaurantbeautiful hotelclose to the airportshuttle busthrough thomas cookbeautiful holidaypool areaminute drivebuffet stylefira oiathe hotel offersexplore the islandjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I think Santorini would have to be the best part of my trip! Amazing hotel to relax, sit in the sun and have as many cocktails as you like! Bar staff were great and accommodation was good! I hope to get back there one day! Thanks for a great stay in June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We (mid 20s couple) stayed at Mediterranean Royal for 10 days in June 2011.
This hotel works together with Mediterranean Beach, which is about 100m further towards the sea.
This meant that we could eat breakfast at 'our' part of the two hotels, but for lunch and dinner we had to go to the Beach Palace.
We didn't mind. 'Our' part has it's own pool with bar, which was usually quieter than the bigger pool at the 'main' complex.

I will point out positive, negative and neutral points.
Neutral being things that didn't bother us (much), but might be worth mentioning for others.

POSITIVE:
- Both hotels are beautiful and very clean, which we think is essential.
- Staff were very friendly and available 24/7, they helped us out efficiently and with a smile whenever needed. I heard staff speak fluent english, french and german.
- We had no problem getting any regular beds by the pool or at the beach. Keep in mind we were here in mid season. Especially the smaller pool at the 'Royal' part was always very quiet and relax.
- Our room and terrace were very spacious. I do believe we took a slightly upgraded room however. It was only 50€ extra in total, so probably worth it.

NEUTRAL:
- The hotel is right next to the airport. This was a big annoyance to others at the hotel. Besides some sort of practice by F16 jets one day, which were a LOT louder, the regular planes didn't bother us at all though. Flights aren't -that- frequent and they don't fly at night, as far as we heard.
- At the 'Beach' part, where you eat lunch and dinner, there are indeed quite some cats as i had read in a review beforehand. We personally love cats, and they weren't a hindrance to us. If you hate cats, they might bother you, but they didn't beg or jump on tables or anything like that, so we couldn't see any problem with them passing by.
- Maybe irrelevant to this review, but I wanted to include it; the supervisor (staff referred to him as 'the boss') is a real pig. I saw him harassing the female workers very suggestively on a few occasions, clearly to the dismay of said females. I found this to be extremely inappropriate.
- Though food wasn't necessarily bad, choice wasn't very elaborate and it was the same thing everyday. Leftovers were clearly re-used in a 'new' dish the next day. We ate out several times and considered the food to fit in with the price we paid for the hotel, but some people were outraged by the food. We found them to be exaggerating quite a bit, but if brilliant food is an absolute requirement for you, granted, this might not be the all-in for you.
- The bed was rather hard. I like it that way and slept like a baby. It comes down to personal preference I think. the first night there was only one very thin pillow for each of us, but we quickly received more pillows after asking for it.
- The TV was very small and very old. We couldn't care less as we don't even touch TV when on holiday. I'm not even sure if it worked as we didn't even test it.

NEGATIVE
- Drinks included in the all-inclusive package are the standard syrupy softdrinks, 'local' beer and wines, all from those 'hoses' typical for all-in hotels. No surprises there, but besides that, they serve only 'ouzo lemon' and I believe it was rum-cola. That's it. We were a bit let-down by the lack of any cocktails.
Drinks are only free until 10pm as well. And they do respect this very strictly. Once I was waving at the bar for one last drink at 09:55pm, only to be ignored for 6 minutes to then hear 'it is 10:01 PM, the all-inclusive has finished'.. It's wasn't the bartender's fault, but the above-mentioned 'boss' was clearly keeping him from serving us during those 6 minutes, because he already decided for himself it was time to close.
Even this little incident aside, we found 10pm to be rather early to close down.
I don't believe we 'profited' from the all-inlcusive, and with what we consumed, it would've probably been cheaper to take a hotel with breakfast or half board.

CONCLUSION:
Beautiful hotel with great staff (minus Mr Pig, but you normally never deal with him directly). We felt we got our money's worth, though the all-in package was a bit of a let-down.
We enjoyed the absolute beauty, cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel above-all, and had a great holiday.

TP:
Between the 'royal' and the 'beach' part, is a small mini-market called 'LOUIS MARKET'. This is one of the cheapest shops we found on the entire island, AND: you can use his terrace and use FREE wifi.


PS: Santorini is absolutely amazing! And we've been to quite a few great places to compare it with!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Nicolas_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Although the location is near theblack beach, do not go there. The furniture is from the 60', very old and bad looking, the staff is very unmannered and just no smiling. In the breakfast place there is one guy looking all the time like a guardinan after you and acting quite strange.althogh there is a terrace just outside the restaurant, you are not alound to take the coffee outside. Stupid!!!!
Just think that there are people saving money one year to go there and they don't care and make you feel unconfortable.
We want it to rent a car, it took one hour to arrange it and when we asked what is happenning my husband was cursed.WIFI connection paid of course.


If you want to have a holiday ruined, go there......

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank none46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We were moved here after arriving at the Mediterranean Royal and finding it closed!
We were allocated a room in the main building with a double bed & small sitting area. The bathroom was spotless & looked new. The gardens were beautiful & very well kept.
Large swimming pool- although not heated. Staff at reception & bar were very friendly & helpful. Room was cleaned well every day.We were on a B&B Basis - it was buffet style- cereals, breads, tinned fruit, fresh fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, also some cooked dishes.
Pool towels were supplied free - 1euro if you wanted to renew them within your stay.
There was a hotel bus which would take you to Kamari or Thira for a fee of 4 euros per person - a taxi cost 10euros.
Beer was 4 euros/Erdinger Weissbeir & 7euros/Cocktails.
Wi-fi available at a cost but not good reception- free wifi available in nearby shop.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We spent 14 days at this beautiful newly restored hotel. Everything is fresh white and clean. We were a little bit worried about the distance to the airport, but this was really no problem. The sound from the few planes every day, drowned in the sound from the see and the wind in the trees. Thanks for your hospitality. We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews