We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY - especially from room 172 is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY - especially from room 172 is horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We went to this hotel in June 2013 and our stay began horribly. They gave us room 172, which was horrible - hardly a 2 star room even for Greek standards. All the furniture was old, scratches, missing paint, full of stains. The bathroom sink, toilet seat, shower: full of rust and limescale. The shower button was broken. The hair dryer was dirty, the air conditioner was dirty and when I switched it on dirt started falling down (small pieces of soil !!!). The air conditioner was positioned so badly, that you could not use it while you are in the room - it blows directly on the bed.
They have plastic soap and shampoo dispensers glued to the walls. You can see in the attached pictures how clean they were. This is the first time I see a 4 star hotel using such things (only saw them in public toilets, like supermarkets, etc). Room 172 also has a big vase with some dried flowers in it. They were full of dust. I believe there was dust from 4 years on those. The TV remote control wasn't working and you could not turn it on ( no on/off button on the TV which looked like it was made in 1980's).

There were some drawers in the closet which seemed to have dead cockroaches wings in it.
And yes, there were other travelers which repeatedly reported cockroaches in their room and yet they did nothing.
The cleaning ladies are not doing a good job at all. I went to the reception to complain about the level of cleanliness in the room and they called in a cleaning lady: she came with a broomstick and a mop - only water. No cleaning substances at all. And they didn't used it the entire stay also. As one can imagine, when you go to a hotel on the beach you normally will use some sun screen. Which is almost always greasy. They never once cleaned the sink with proper substances. We left - the grease stayed behind us, for the next traveler to <<enjoy>> it. Even the front desk furniture is old, and the white paint is fading away. We were given another room which luckily was a lot better. Smaller, but better. At least we could use the air conditioner, it was upstairs so it had a very small balcony with a small round table and 2 chairs (all metal).

Moving on to the restaurant - we stayed for 7 days breakfast was the same during these 7 days. No fresh fruits, no fresh juice. Boiled eggs, omelet, fried eggs, some fried bacon, 2 types of cheese, 2 types of baloney, tomatoes, cucumber, some stewed fruits, cereals, 2 types of yogurt, bread, jelly, jam, butter. Machine juice, machine coffee. Not that good. The bread was good. Generally the food was OK, but didn't show like there was any effort in making it. Everything seems faded. No labels - not even for the meat. The coffee cups and their small plates were 50% dirty. The waiters also do not have name tags and they don't seem to mind arguing between themselves with customers waiting to be served at the bar. Paying customers- we were half board, so we paid for all the drinks. The coffee from the bar is much better than what they were serving for breakfast, BUT you need to sit at the bar ( despite the bartenders effort to ask you to go back to your chair - telling you they'll deliver it to your seat) so that you make sure they don't give you something else. Wait at the bar, especially for fresh juice, so you can see them preparing it. One night they had some singer from Miami ( or so he said). He was soooo bored, so tired, it would have been better to just play the songs from youtube.
The bed & pillow sheets were full of stains and low quality.
There is no other restaurant / tavern near by. The location is a bit awkward. There were 2 taverns in the area: Mario and Galini: good food, decent prices but rather uncomfortable to reach without a car. You could go by foot but the road looks so deserted it makes you wonder where the hell you landed...
The only good thing was Vicky from the reception ( morning Vicky - taller one, which is more fluent in English than the shorter, thinner Vicky).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zyzy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    88
    57
    31
    38
See reviews for
83
152
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

First of all I want to warn you all that the review I am writing about is the Mediterranean Beach not the Mediterranean Palace- this is the 5 star hotel about 200 metres up the road - make sure you don't book this by mistake- some had and were not happy as they thought they had booked the Med Beach- right now to my review.

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Med Beach in Kamari. We arrived and were greeted by the lovely Niko who took our bags- we were greeted by a big smile at reception - booked in and were shown to our room- this was lovely- 3 rooms just for two of us!!! The reception staff are really lovely and hugged us when we left.

The hotel is in a wonderful location right on the beach- it is beautiful and very in keeping with its environment. The pool and beach areas are lovely. We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool and listening to the relaxing music and sound of the sea.

The food was very good- especially enjoyed the outside grill at lunchtime and at dinner. Our only little moan is that the food was often only warm- but we found it all tasty - especially the puds.

We went All Inclusive and would recommend this option- however the choice of alcoholic drinks is very limited to wine, beer, brandy and ouzo. However there is a good selection of non- alcoholic options. As we enjoy a G and T or two we were disappointed!! Though the white wine was very good. Also as it finishes at 22,00hrs ! One annoying rule was introduced when we were there and that is you can only have one drink at a time- you can't go to the pool bar and get 2 drinks for yourself and your friend lounging by the pool!! This is because not all guests are AI and some naughty Russian AI guest was giving non Ai guests drinks!! Now we feel this rule might change because so many guests complained.

We went in to Kamari twice- we got the hotel bus there and a taxi back. It is a lovely resort with lots of restaurants and bars. Our favourite place was Fira- WOW WOW WOW- once again we got the hotel bus there and the taxi back- it was wonderful watching the sun set with a cocktail or two. Oia is also very beautiful- the Island is stunning.

All I can say is that we were sad to leave and can't wait to go back. We met some lovely people from Stoke who were there for a wedding and the staff were all lovely- restaurant manager only exception!!

Book this hotel and you will have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: ask for one with a sea view- make sure they don't put you in the Med Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyHolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundbyerne, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here in September 2012. Had a great room with partly sea view. The food in the restaurant was extremely good and plenty. Pool and beach area immaculate clean and nice. And at night very cosy and romantic. All in all a great place. The service in front office and restaurant was extremely high and professional. Main bartender seemed a bit tired and worn out.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel,with my wife,from the 4th of May for eleven nights on the all-inclusive package and we both had a wonderful time.The hotel is marvellous and the staff even better,nothing was too much trouble for them in making our stay as pleasant as possible.

The food was varied and enjoyable, even whilst catering for a multi-national clientele and the dining room overlooking the Aegean towards the neighbouring island of Anafi was perfect.The pool was nice,plenty of sunbeds around both the pool and the beach,more than enough to go around.

The room was more than adequate,but there were no tea-making facilities,we knew this in advance so we took our own travel kettle,coffee and tea-bags,we both like a hot drink when we wake up.The TV was typical of when you are abroad,only the BBC World Service in English but hey who goes to Santorini to watch TV?

One slight negative is the hotel is a little isolated and not much else nearby except Market Louis,but the hotel has a mini-bus service running to Kamari or Fira if you fancy a change.Market Louis has free wi-fi and there is seating available outside for a drink or snacks,you buy a bottle of wine or beer from the shop,wine 5 or 6 euros, a bottle of beer 1.40 euros and drink it outside.The shop does not provide glasses so borrow a plastic pool-side glass from the hotel,this makes for a pleasant change and the owner is more than helpful and friendly too.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to Santorini,a truly wonderful place to visit and explore.

Thanks to all the staff at the Mediterranean Beach, from Fred and Fay Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ok,but the ones near the pool are a little better as you are nearer the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent a week at the Hotel from the 20th September. As a regular to the Greek Islands this was our first trip to Santorini and previously we have stayed in large all inclusive hotels. When we first arrived any concerns we may have had vanished, the reception staff were excellent, our room was lovely and the facilities offered by the hotel were as good as any major chain hotel. The staff were the most polite and attentive we have ever experienced and could not do enough to ensure you had a relaxing enjoyable holiday. The swimming pool was warm, and cleaned every morning, there was no rush for sun beds all of which came with a mattress. Food in the restaurant was excellent, plentiful and a good choice. We went all inclusive. Santorini itself is beautiful and we recommend the boat trip to the volcano hot springs. We will certainly return to the “Mediterranion Beach Hotel”

Room Tip: All Rooms are excellent but ask for one with sea view, otherwise you could be looking at the Airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked a reservation to Mediterranean Hotel Group,there are Med Beach,Med Royal and Imperial i think,when presented,it says that the hotels have pool (true),gym (but only one of them has it and is so so poor equipped,only a bicycle,one small treadmill,one bank crunches,and one push bar) and spa....well,each has one thing although the presentation says it has it all in one place...other then this,well,if you plan to go to the gym and spa,get ready to go from one hotel to the other,also,do not buy all inclusive,the food has nothing traditional of Greece,expensive for no reason,wifi works poor,and breakfast is a nightmare. Other then this...well,rent a car and go visit around.

Room Tip: try the bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nilsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamari hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved every second of it!

Location: nicely located on a beach close enough to Fira so it was easy to go in (either by taxi or hotel bus) but far enough away so you could relax by the pool/beach away from the busyness of the town centre.

Food: didn't go for the full meal deal as we planned to try out different places rather then just eating at the hotel. Breakfast was good, fairly standard Greek style breakfast, similar to what I've had at other Greek resorts. Cocktails were amazing and very reasonably priced.

Staff: wonderful, helpful, friendly! Reception were great, happy to organise anything we wanted, when we couldn't get a taxi to get us into Oia for the sunset they arranged a driver for us, bartender was delightful, dining staff very friendly. Only problem was they could be a bit over enthusiastic about clearing the tables.

Rooms: basic, but we weren't in there that often anyway. There was free wifi and it was clean.

Overall really loved the time here and we would definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Medicallyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
5.2 mi away
Notos Therme & Spa
Notos Therme & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vlychada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#2 of 13 in Perivolos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kalimera Hotel
Kalimera Hotel
#11 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.0 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#42 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Beach Resort

Property: Mediterranean Beach Resort
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Kamari 847 00, Greece (Formerly Mediterranean Beach Palace)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Beach Palace Kamari
Mediterranean Beach Palace Hotel Kamari
Mediterranean Beach Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing