We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY PLEASANT STOP IN SANTORINI”
Review of Rose Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Bay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
BOLOGNA ITALY
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A VERY PLEASANT STOP IN SANTORINI”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We went for the second time in Rose Bay Hotel in Kamari and we experienced a warm welcome, helpful service (thanks Mrs. Zaphiria for providing us a 4.30 a.m. breakfast!)) and comfortable accomodation in this very nice hotel. Rooms, expecially in the new courtyard, are modern and well decorated. The swimming pool is terrific, and the beach is really located few steps away. In the evening a beautiful lightning enriches the cosy and relaxing atmosphere.
Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms from 300 - second courtyard - are recent and well furnished. Ask for 307 or 308 for a double f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    127
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
163
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel was great! The room was very nice and clean and a nice terrace. The staff in the hotel is very kind and helpful. Great buffet at breakfast. The swimming pool is beautiful and all the erea around it, included the bar. You can also use the computers and the internet at the hotel for free. The only bad thing is that the hotel is located in the end on the beach and the bus stop and taxi boat are quite far, but the weather was lovely so we didnt mind walking a bit.. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shira_Zaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

A pleasant surprise since I've been to a few Greek hotels before. It's a very clean and fresh hotel, situated just by the beach close to all the restaurants and shops. It's very relaxed, the staff is very friendly and laid back and speaks good English too.

It's not cheap for being Greece but not very expensive if you are used to Scandinavian prices. I've read some reviews complaining about the planes landing nearby and although this is correct it was nothing that bothered us at all. It's not very noisy and there are no planes during the night.

Breakfast was 4/5 but that is also in Greek terms - I didn't expect bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes etc so that was a nice surprise.

The rooms are located very differently, we had ours in a separate building away from the pool but that didn't bother us. If you want a small balcony overlooking the pool you could probably ask for that.

We will definitely return to Santorini and this will be the first place I will check the prices from as well. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweMatt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel & staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble, exceptinally clean, great location, always enough sunbeds. Air conditioning in room essential, and worked fine Breakfast was brilliant with enough variety for even the fussiest eater. Would highly recommend for a couples break or for those who just want to chill. dont forget to look for special discounted rates on their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moiramark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Best B&B type hotel in Kamari. Super swimming pool. Small gym (which I didn't use but there if people want) and table tennis. Clean hotel and rooms although the air conditioning unit was noisy and didn't have a sleep mode - and it was too hot not to have on. Lovely staff. Calm and relaxing. Good buffet breakfast and good selection of foods at good prices on the menu for lunchtimes. Great cocktails at the bar. Family friendly. No yobs. Good location being a 2 min walk from the beach and all the restaurants. Planes fly low just near the hotel but generally not during the night so not really a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We had a couple of hotels to choose from, but I'm glad we went with the Rose Bay Hotel in the end... it was great value for money. Very clean and modern apartments and facilities. The pool area was lovely, with a great pool bar serving great cocktails with happy hour running 5pm-11pm - the hotel bar area is very quiet in the evenings though as most people tend to go out to the bars & restaurants along the beach. The hotel restaurant was very good too - breakfast is included and was served 7am-10am every morning - there was a great range of continental breakfast items as well as bacon, eggs, sausages etc. The bedrooms have air conditioning, which although it is meant to switch off when you take your key card out upon leaving - we just popped in another plastic card from our wallets in order to keep it on while we were out - this made all the difference to come back in from the hot sun and be able to cool down immediately. The hotel provide towels and sunloungers by the pool free of charge, free internet access via a computer located just off reception (we found this very useful for checking our emails etc each day) - I believe they also have free wireless available, and for 40 euros they gave us an evening check out as we had a night flight and wanted to be able to use the room all day. All of the staff were very friendly and efficient.

The only thing that some people might see as a negative, is that the hotel is right under the flight path and fairly close to the airport - so the planes would fly just overhead when you are out sunbathing by the pool... I actually quite enjoyed seeing them up so close and the noise didn't bother me at all - it was only very brief and not frequent enough to become bothersome.

The Rose Bay hotel is just off the top of the main strip along the beach in Kamari - a 1 minute walk will bring you onto the main strip where there are lots of great restaurants/bars. The entire strip takes about 15/20 minutes to walk approx (without stopping) with great views of the sea. The beach is lovely, though very stony, so beach shoes of sort sort are required... there are lots of sunloungers for hire along the beach, but we just lounged at our hotel pool every day.

Good restaurants include Nichteri and the Italian beside it who's name I can't remember (that was our favourite), Ya mas and El Greco Taverna are also very good. There is live music in a couple of the bars throughout the week - Albatross and Ethnic... in fact they were probably our favourite bars in Kamari. If you want to party then Kamari is probably not for you - it has some lovely chilled out restaurants and bars, but isn't a party resort - its fairly quiet with a mix of nationalities. Coming from London we actually expected to see a lot of British people while on holiday - as is generally the case with most popular European resorts - Santorini seems to be one of the few exceptions, we saw very few Brits while there - it was a refreshing change to have a good mix of locals and other nationalities. We did go to the capital Thira on a couple of occasions to browse the little shops and take in the amazing views from the cliffside bars/restaurants. Thira is more of a party resort with lots of bars and clubs, but also has a lot of beautiful scenery... definitely worth visiting Thira while in Santorini for the views alone. It was 12 euros in a cab from Kamari to Thira.

Overall Kamari is a very chilled out resort which would be perfect for those seeking a relaxing holiday, and especially for couples... and the Rose Bay Hotel was definitely one of the best hotels in the resort - I didn't see any other hotel that I thought looked better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkpenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a tough time deciding to either stay overlooking the Caldera and paying way more or staying by the beach and paying less. We made a great choice as this is a very nice hotel with a great location basically next to the water, I guess 1 block away from beach and nice beach walk way in front of the town of Kamari. The sun rises on this side and was very beautiful. Great service, a great rate, and great accomodation. We rented a car and drove up to Thira etc to shop/view the Caldera which is fabulous. Driving around is recommended, lot's to see and we found easy to drive. I am having a tough time thinking of what we least liked, I think leaving was the least liked, this hotel set a high standard for the rest of our 3 island stay, as this was our first stop. We would stay here again for sure and highly recommend.

Room Tip: we had a room with a loft which was very nice and we would recommend if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjames43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.8 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#14 of 75 in Kamari
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Hotel

Property: Rose Bay Hotel
Address: | P.O. Box 11, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Bay
Rose Bay Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing