We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini Jewel”
Review of Rose Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santorini Jewel”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have to say, this was my first time in Greece and we made a great choice with Rose Bay hotel. We booked the trip via german travel agency as last minute and got what we asked for great price. The Rose Bay Hotel is located in a quiet street 50 m from beach ( which is amazing for watching sunrise as we did couple of times ) and facing an amazing local taverna called Lolos that was owned by always smiling Greek who did all to make us feel welcome there. Because of early morning arrival ( 9 am ) we expected to be told to check-in afternoon ( as official site says 2pm ) but we were surprised that the lady at reception said our room is ready and we can also sit and enjoy the first breakfast in Greece ( which was a very pleasant surprise after an long flight ). The hotel has a very helpful staff indeed especially Christina at the reception she was smiling all the time and was ready to answer all our questions about sightseeing and things we demanded. Absolute satisfaction what hotel staff concerns. As for the accomodation, who expects 4 star hotel as in western in Europe would be a little dissapointed though i think for Greek 4 star hotel is this one more than suitable ( usually you should take in mind that 4 stars in Greece mean 3 stars in France for example ) We got a room Nr.210 which was a classic double room , located at the 1st floor with balcony overlooking the pool which i personally think is one of the best rooms located in this hotel.Central position, not far away from reception, overlooking pool and breakfast porch, mountain view.The room equipment is basic,plus point was the fact that the AC wasn't noisy and didnt bother us at all. Next to the Hotel is located little market and the main promenade is 2 minutes walk with tons of taverns and bars. The nearest bus stop for local bus to capital Fira is also not far way, approx. 7 min walk ( the map was given us at the reception with detailed informations so it was not possible for us to get lost :-)) As for all the travellers to Santorini i would definitely recommand this hotel, we were absolutely satisfied with the Hotel, staff, location, breakfast menu and everything what our stay concerned.
Have a lovely holiday in Santorini :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenkazelinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    130
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
171
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel with one of the nicest pools we've seen in the Cyclades. We had a room, with a very pretty balcony overlooking the pool. The room itself was basic, but clean and adequate. The breakfast here is fantastic with a wide selection of food. We found all the staff to be professional, courteous and very helpful.
The atmosphere at this hotel is quiet and slightly glamourous.
It is definitely more expensive than other hotels in the area, but worth it.
Rose Bay is around the corner from the beach - two minutes walk. There are restaurants and bars all along the sea front, which is lovely for a stroll in the evening. The beach at Kamari like all beaches on Santorini is stoney, but the water is beautiful once you get in. Kamari is a much quieter place than the capital, Thira, we were travling with children and preferred Kamari as Thira can be quite crowded and expensive.
The bus from Kamari to Thira is fairly regular and the bus stop is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It's about 30 minutes on the bus to Thira. You should definitely visit Thira at sunset, which is a sight not to be missed.
The airport on Santorini is in Kamari, so there are planes coming in over the village, but it's a tiny airport, with just a couple of flights a day. They didn't bother us at all.
We would highly recommend Rose Bay if you're looking for somewhere special on Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I was really disappointed with this hotel.
When I saw the photos on the website, I was expecting a 4 star hotel but in my opinion this is a 3 star hotel.
The rooms and specially the bathroom were old.
The staff is Ok but they are not so helpful.
It is really well located, close to good restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carinafuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Clean rooms, good value and the breakfasts were delicious (nutella pancakes especially). Good pool & hotel in great location next to the beach. Wasn't the biggest fan of Kamari, a little too touristy & not as picturesque as Oia in my opinion, but nonetheless a good value hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is a really lovely, friendly hotel in a perfect location. I could not fault it. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are great and the pool is perfect. The food is also excellent. It's round the corner from the sea and some rooms have sea view rooms. I would recommend the pool view rooms. They are much nicer and cooler!
If you are looking for the real Greece, Santorini is not ideal and this resort isn't really either. It is perfectly pleasant, but Kamari could be almost any Mediterranean resort.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms and quiet, spacious and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kas647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at the Rose Bay Hotel for a week in June and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel is lovely and the staff were nice. The hotel is located at the north end of the beach, which is a 5 - 10 minute walk from the centre of Kamari beach. To get there you follow a pleasant pedestrian path parallel to the beach, lined with shops, bars and tavernas. There is a restaurant, bar and a couple of supermarkets within 100 meters of the hotel though.

Our room was adequate. The shower was very small, but we managed. The balcony didn’t have much of a view, overlooking other buildings. But the room was clean and the maid came everyday. It also had a small fridge which was very useful.

The pool and surrounding area was gorgeous. There were plenty of sun beds and fresh beach towels were provided each day. The pool is large and clean, and there is a nice pool bar, with happy hour for cocktails!

Breakfast was varied and fresh with continental and cooked options. There is a lovely terrace to eat on beside the pool.

The staff were friendly, and very helpful when I asked for public transport information and advice about local trips.

Overall we had a great stay at the Rose Bay Hotel and we loved Santorini. We would definitely recommend both!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed here with a group on a tour of 3 of the Cycladic islands; we arrived right at the start of the Greek holiday season, when perhaps some hotels aren't quite ready - not so the Rose Bay. A delightful few days, the whole place was sparkling clean, the food was delicious (and I'm on a special diet, which the maitre d' made sure was safe), the whole staff friendly and helpful. When we returned a week later for the last few days, they welcomed us like old friends! As birthdayboy says, "a lovely hotel run by great people"!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsetadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.9 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kamari
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#21 of 75 in Kamari
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Hotel

Property: Rose Bay Hotel
Address: | P.O. Box 11, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rose Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Bay
Rose Bay Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing