We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Bay Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for three nights booked by a travel agent, celebrating our sixth anniversary. This hotel had many pros, but the con (the room itself) is what I am rating poor. While the hotel is fine, I expect more for the price and what it looked on the outside. On an island filled with beautiful hotels, I would keep looking - especially for a romantic retreat.

Starting with the Pros:
- Nice pool and Bar
- good breakfast buffet
- Great location to the black sand beach (2 min walk)
- Close to wineries and the only brewing company on the island (5 min by car)

Cons:
- The Room: it looked beautiful from the outside (it was one of the newer two story rooms at the back of the property). But once inside it was decorated like a bare dorm room with limited and cheap looking furnishings. The set-up of the entire downstairs made no sense. Tiny TV that didn't work, tv cords hanging out because they didn't think to drill a place for the cords, no couch to relax on - just a gloried foot rest with no back - so if you sat on it your back and head rested on the window shutters. A bathroom with no where to hang the shower handheld so you had to set it down to lather your hair and body and pick it up to rinse off. No conditioner.
No better upstairs. Very tiny staircase to the upstairs with nothing but a bed with no headboard and a few lamps, that again, looked like dorm décor. They had two separate beds that they just pushed together for couples but put separate sheets on both so it reminded you were sleeping in two beds.
- Workout room is incredibly dated and worn

Honestly I expected more. I would stay in Fira, after visiting there I think it would have been more our taste. This hotel really needs to address the dorm decorating to up their game.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    119
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
155
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one week in May. Lovely hotel with really comfortable rooms and (for Greece) good comfortable beds. We had a room in the newer rooms behind the main ones and these were lovely with their own pretty little patios. They were very quiet. Can recommend Room 310. The staff were helpful and friendly. There's not much to do in Kamari Beach but the bus goes regularly to the Capital Fira and you can get buses from there to Akrotiri, Perissa Beach and Oia. The only criticism I would have with the hotel is that the breakfasts are really disappointing and this is what is stopping me giving it five stars. The buffet was the same every single morning. It would have been nice if they good have changed it a couple of times a week. Also they served greek yoghurt but it always came with tinned, not fresh, fruit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Librarygirl1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

First, when we arrived, we were told there were no rooms - even though we booked with a renowned German tour operator. We were offered a three-star alternative hotel, which was even farther from the beach, so we insisted we wanted to stay at Rose Bay, as booked. Finally, we were given what was probably the worst room in the hotel - not part of the main building, but in a bungalow in the backyard - no privacy on the "terrace" we had, plus the room was very small and as the weather was very windy, there was a constant draught in the room.
Oh and you will have aircraft landing over your head all the time.
The biggest disappointment however was the breakfast. Poor choice and very little - it took them ages to replenish the buffet. Never again!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main house - with a balcony to have some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

A lovely clean well run hotel situated in the small village of Kamari. The beach is a few steps away and although its a black beach the restaurants offer free sun beds in their area of beach as long as you buy a drink or lunch. They wait on you and are friendly and very attentive. Back to the hotel it is clean and we had one of the apartments behind the main pool area which was lovely. On arrival we were a little disappointed to be told we did not have a pool view but once inside our apartment we were thrilled..it was very big and had 2 double beds, dressing table, mirror above, tv and bathroom. The pool is great and a lovely area to relax with a small bar to one side. The barman looked after the men while us girls were getting ready! The breakfast was basic but ample, with plenty of choice and there are tables outside if you prefer. A quiet and very welcoming hotel which we would return to. Numerous places to eat and drink along the beach. While you in Santorini you must visit Oia.....it's beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KazzaIpswich_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
610 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour in June. Hotel very comfortable with lovely balconies , air conditioning worked well, food very good. Close to the airport with some aircraft noise during the day. Close to the beach and lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Stayed twice, both rooms very good. Lifts available to upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the rose bay in October for two weeks with my wife and two children aged one and three. The hotel itself is really clean and the staff are really friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is in a great location with loads of great restaurants nearby. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. If you do hire a car (which I would suggest as there is so much to see around this beautiful island) I would strongly recommend Senor zorbas Mexican restaurant. It was the best meal we had during the holiday and the location was amazing with a fantastic sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I found this hotel nice and clean/comfortable. The down side for me was the waiting staff in the restaurant during buffet periods.
I found one member of staff quite rude and surly, also found you had to watch your money if buying drinks (check to change}
The waiting staff seemed very clicky and would be friendly to some and not others.

Apart from that quite a nice place , the cleaners did a fantastic job!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.7 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#9 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#26 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Hotel

Property: Rose Bay Hotel
Address: | P.O. Box 11, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rose Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Bay
Rose Bay Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing