We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Rose Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Bay Hotel
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for I week overall and it was just lovely. The staff were kind and helpful, it was spotlessly clean and the food was delicious. It was just round the corner from the main beach and tavernas with a mini market just next door for water and other essentials. really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to over look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunbarSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from the Rose Bay Hotel in Kamari, what a great experience, the rooms were good and comfortable, the only down side was an iffy shower run off a mixer tap in the bath, apart from that, beds were comfortable, rooms were clean with clean towels every day, despite the water shortage on the island, the hotel was ideally situated in a side street just off the main street (only about 300 yards away) so was quiet, food was everything you would expect from a good class hotel, staff were brilliant, very friendly and attentive from the reception staff to the cleaning and dining room staff, especially our waitress Nadia, always there with a smile and help me with my limited Greek language attempts, Kamari is not a very big place but there is an excellent bus service, a small boat to take you to Perissa around the headland, one worthwhile trip was the mini bus up to the ancient capital of Old Thera, about 3000 b.c. up the mountain, it is a hair raising ride up a very steep and narrow zig zag road, impossible to walk up in the heat, once at the top the ancient village is a marvel. All in all a very good hotel, ideally situated, although there is some aircraft noise as it is on the flight path but it is fun watching the planes go overhead and there are no night flights.

Room Tip: Best rooms are overlooking the pool on the first floor with nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonzoMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for three nights booked by a travel agent, celebrating our sixth anniversary. This hotel had many pros, but the con (the room itself) is what I am rating poor. While the hotel is fine, I expect more for the price and what it looked on the outside. On an island filled with beautiful hotels, I would keep looking - especially for a romantic retreat.

Starting with the Pros:
- Nice pool and Bar
- good breakfast buffet
- Great location to the black sand beach (2 min walk)
- Close to wineries and the only brewing company on the island (5 min by car)

Cons:
- The Room: it looked beautiful from the outside (it was one of the newer two story rooms at the back of the property). But once inside it was decorated like a bare dorm room with limited and cheap looking furnishings. The set-up of the entire downstairs made no sense. Tiny TV that didn't work, tv cords hanging out because they didn't think to drill a place for the cords, no couch to relax on - just a gloried foot rest with no back - so if you sat on it your back and head rested on the window shutters. A bathroom with no where to hang the shower handheld so you had to set it down to lather your hair and body and pick it up to rinse off. No conditioner.
No better upstairs. Very tiny staircase to the upstairs with nothing but a bed with no headboard and a few lamps, that again, looked like dorm décor. They had two separate beds that they just pushed together for couples but put separate sheets on both so it reminded you were sleeping in two beds.
- Workout room is incredibly dated and worn

Honestly I expected more. I would stay in Fira, after visiting there I think it would have been more our taste. This hotel really needs to address the dorm decorating to up their game.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one week in May. Lovely hotel with really comfortable rooms and (for Greece) good comfortable beds. We had a room in the newer rooms behind the main ones and these were lovely with their own pretty little patios. They were very quiet. Can recommend Room 310. The staff were helpful and friendly. There's not much to do in Kamari Beach but the bus goes regularly to the Capital Fira and you can get buses from there to Akrotiri, Perissa Beach and Oia. The only criticism I would have with the hotel is that the breakfasts are really disappointing and this is what is stopping me giving it five stars. The buffet was the same every single morning. It would have been nice if they good have changed it a couple of times a week. Also they served greek yoghurt but it always came with tinned, not fresh, fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Librarygirl1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First, when we arrived, we were told there were no rooms - even though we booked with a renowned German tour operator. We were offered a three-star alternative hotel, which was even farther from the beach, so we insisted we wanted to stay at Rose Bay, as booked. Finally, we were given what was probably the worst room in the hotel - not part of the main building, but in a bungalow in the backyard - no privacy on the "terrace" we had, plus the room was very small and as the weather was very windy, there was a constant draught in the room.
Oh and you will have aircraft landing over your head all the time.
The biggest disappointment however was the breakfast. Poor choice and very little - it took them ages to replenish the buffet. Never again!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main house - with a balcony to have some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A lovely clean well run hotel situated in the small village of Kamari. The beach is a few steps away and although its a black beach the restaurants offer free sun beds in their area of beach as long as you buy a drink or lunch. They wait on you and are friendly and very attentive. Back to the hotel it is clean and we had one of the apartments behind the main pool area which was lovely. On arrival we were a little disappointed to be told we did not have a pool view but once inside our apartment we were thrilled..it was very big and had 2 double beds, dressing table, mirror above, tv and bathroom. The pool is great and a lovely area to relax with a small bar to one side. The barman looked after the men while us girls were getting ready! The breakfast was basic but ample, with plenty of choice and there are tables outside if you prefer. A quiet and very welcoming hotel which we would return to. Numerous places to eat and drink along the beach. While you in Santorini you must visit Oia.....it's beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KazzaIpswich_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour in June. Hotel very comfortable with lovely balconies , air conditioning worked well, food very good. Close to the airport with some aircraft noise during the day. Close to the beach and lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Stayed twice, both rooms very good. Lifts available to upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.8 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Avant Garde Suites
Avant Garde Suites
#7 of 12 in Akrotiri
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarix del Mar
Tamarix del Mar
#9 of 75 in Kamari
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Hotel

Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £88 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rose Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Bay
Rose Bay Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing