We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful and our first hotel stay in greece”
Review of Kamari Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamari Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awful and our first hotel stay in greece”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The room was dirty!! It had an ant infestation.
The shower curtain was too short for the shower so the floor was soaked after a shower.
The breakfast was ok but my husband attempted to bring coffee to our room before proceeding down to the breakfast area and was given a hard time. They finally allowed him to take it from the breakfast area as long as he returned the coffee cups! REally?
Being that this was my first time to Greece I thought this was the norm. No it is not!!!! I can understand 3 star hotel but really!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tammyp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    241
    81
    22
    24
See reviews for
127
281
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We reserved a Superior Sea View room. We got two twin mattresses pushed together on a wood platform, no box spring. THIS IS NOT A BED!!!

No furniture.

A TV from 1990 that had reception of 3 channels - no English speaking programs.

The shower was crazy. Step up and over 3 feet of ceramic into a 3X3 space, that you could step down into a lower area of the drain with a miniature shower head. This is NOT a remodeled room from 2007.

I asked the woman at the front desk if she had a room with a King size bed and a real shower. She said she would have management call the next morning. Yeah, right. You guessed it, no one called.

Bad night sleep due to poor bed.

Another overpriced 144 BPS.

The pool is very nice and well maintained. The hotel is across the street from the beach which is black sand and awesome. You have to pay for lounge chairs/umbrellas. No bar service at beach or pool, you have to do it yourself. The staff is indifferent.

If you are looking to adore the beach then this is the best place. If you want a good nights sleep bring your own bed.

Breakfast sucks.

Oh, and there are lots of children - if you like this type of atmosphere and tons of smokers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AOneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Location: Excellent, at the waterfront promenade, 10m away from the black pebbles beach. A big municipal free parking is located behind. In the same area there are some bakeries and general shops and a bus station is some 50m away. Café bars, restaurants and beach terraces welcome you in the evenings, when the beach front comes to life.
Rooms: We stayed in room 1, a “superior room” with 3 beds, although we were only 2. The room was spacious enough (for 2 people) and very clean, with a great flower balcony, but no landscape view. The AC, the ceiling fan, the small refrigerator and the LCD TV were all working fine. The bathroom was basic, but very clean and the water pressure at the shower was appropriate. A minus for some ants we found in the bathroom, but used a spray to fix this (minor) problem.
Breakfast: The breakfast was OK for a 3 stars rated hotel, diversified, including fruits and vegetables, with a big plus for the bread and a minus for the coffee.
Hotel facilities: Swimming pool, very clean, quite large (they say it is the largest in Kamari) with sufficient places for all hotel guests. Shadowed areas are available near the pool bar and internet is available in the pool area, in the lounge, at the front desk and in the restaurant. Pool beds are free, beach towels are available for 1euro, billiard can be played for 2euros/game, a children play ground room and a (very) small gym room are also available. The pool bar serves various inexpensive menus and one day we enjoyed char coaled fresh seafood with salad (plus a free glass of Greek ouzo).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank goconst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location - on the promenade - we went end of June/July and it was fairly quiet. The pool overlooks the beach so you can easily choose to have a quick dip in the sea or the pool and not move very far from your sun lounger either way. We walked to the top of Ancient Thira from the hotel and then over to Perissa - highly recommended if you like walking - the winds keep you cool enough even if in the heat of the day - you can take a taxi boat back to Kamira for 4 euros. Local buses are great - I booked a car in advance but cancelled as we didn't need it. We also walked from Fira to Oia with fantastic views of the Caldera away from the crowds - and the sunsets are a must on that side of the Island.

Our room was large, clean, spacious and airy, with a sea view and pool side view which also gave us a perfect spot to watch the sunrise from the balcony.

The breakfast service was flawless and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Good location on the promenade of Kamari, very nice sized pool which says it is the largest in Kamari and this would seem to be the case! Rooms are reasonably size and furnished basically. Staff are friendly enough. Wifi is available

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the hotel's beautiful courtyard, pool, breakfast, and location right on the beach close to good restaurants and grocery stores. We were very disappointed with family room 42, though. There was only 1 window in the room that opened to the courtyard, there were no pictures on the walls, we could hear the water draining from the hotel, and the bathroom was disappointing. The service at the front desk was also disappointing. One night we found ants all over our suitcases and the receptionist simply handed me a can of bug spray and kept talking on the cell phone. We finally figured out that the ants seemed to be attracted to our dry swimsuits so we left them outside in the future. This is a good location for the aiort and beach. We enjoyed ancient Thira close by. It may be more convenient to stay in Fira if you are taking a ferry.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ourteam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good hotel. Huge pool - the biggest in Kamari, Very close to beach. Great breakfast. I just loved this hotel, big rooms, clean and spacious. Very good acces to taverns, restaurants Souvenir shops. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#16 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#4 of 75 in Kamari
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Beach Hotel

Property: Kamari Beach Hotel
Address: | PO Box 11, Kamari 84 700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kamari Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Beach Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing