We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santorini Kastelli Resort
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb !!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

From the moment we arrived the service we received was outstanding. Adonis, the hotel manager and his staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The rooms were lovely and the maid service every day was outstanding. I have never before encountered such happy and helpful staff.

This really is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregormcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    132
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
112
453
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Had a great stay at the kastelli. The staff cannot be more efficient or do enough for you. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand cayman
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Positives:
Great staff, clean and close to beach, restaurants and shops.
Manager is very accommodating and very approachable. He can recommend great restaurants.

Negatives:
Mistake in our book (requested a twin bedroom but got a double bedroom), but alternative hotel was quickly arranged and was transferred back to Kastelli Resort as soon as a room became available.

Room Tip: The Manager is very accommodating and can recommend great places to eat and other local knowledge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank critical_angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in May for our wedding which took place in Fira. The hotel is a hidden gem! From the warm welcoming throughout our stay, everything was perfect! We have never experienced such a lovely personal welcoming from the manager and staff. The rooms are beautifuly decorated and spotless. The room was cleaned every single day and the towels were changed every single day(!!). The hotel was surrounded by beautiful trees, plants and herbs. There are 5 or 6 cosy swimming pools with jacuzzi and one big swimming pool. The towels on the sunbeds were changed few times a day. The breakfast was delicious and everybody could pick up anything they fancied. Most of the people enjoyed bacon, fried egges and toast, so we had plenty of fresh bread, tomatoes, olives, cheeses and other Greek food left. The hotel is located in the centre of Kamari, about 5 minutes walking from the beach. The sea was very clean so did the beach. It's a shame the beaches in Santorini are not sandy ones, but there is plenty do do instead wasting time on the beach.
We were to go to Ios for a day trip but because of our wedding we were run out of our time. Instead of going to Ios we hired a car and visited Akriotiri, Oia, Ancient Thera and Fira. There are lovely restaurants in Kamari so it's difficult to recommend the best one. However, if you fancy fresh fish and seafood, and Greek food, Mistral taverna is the best place! The food is so tasty and fresh, the staff is so friendly and the atmosphere is lush! We have had the best fish mix and lobster ever! To describe our stay at Kastelli and Kamari in one word, we would say - PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day stay in the Kastelli Hotel. Service is fantastic, the hotel organised transfers from the airport and provided cold refreshments on arrival. We were walked around the facilities and shown to our hotel rooms. I did pay for an upgrade and was yet upgraded again to the top room. It was nice but I was slightly dissapointed by the room. Very small, decor was tired, the bathroom/rooms were very basic and slightly damp/moudly but we had a great balcony overlooking the pool so could not complain. Rooms were cleaned daily. Shower was not very powerful but again, overall it was very good. Location wise it is a 2 minute walk from the beach front with all the bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good. Anything we asked for was no trouble and there was plenty of selection. Get there early if you want champagne! I would stay again my only comment would be the rooms could do with a litte re-vamp.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked a superior room in this hotel for a week. It is part of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" chain having just less than 60 rooms. Rooms and suites are scattered across the site in buildings of no more than 3 floors, whitewashed and constructed in the traditional style. There is one main pool and several smaller pools with jacuzzi jets. There seemed to be enough sunbeds provided to avoid the tedious business of having to find a pair that weren't occupied by the usual mysterious towel/hat/sunglasses/book.

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the beach and, for that matter, just about anywhere in the resort town of Kamari on the Eastern coast of the island. The town seems to exist for no other reason than tourism so it offers a very wide choice of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. For that reason we did not use the hotel's restaurant for any meal other than its very good breakfast. Our room was compact and basic in style although comfortable, and not lacking in any of the amenities expected in a hotel of this class. A small balcony overlooked the main pool and gave us a delightful view of the sea beyond. Our room and, indeed, the entire hotel was maintained in an absolutely spotless condition with cleaning and tidying going on throughout the day. The environment is generally quiet and peaceful. Worthy of special mention is the hotel's manager and his staff. Service was prompt, efficient, and very friendly without exception. We found that any problem was taken very seriously and resulted in immediate action.

We did encounter a couple of problems although they were not bad enough for us to reduce our rating for this hotel. Firstly we discovered that the hot water supply to our bathroom was a little unpredictable, in both temperature and pressure. More significantly perhaps, the hotel takes a number of bookings for wedding parties of which there were several during our stay. This means some of the guests will be boisterous family groups who make a lot of noise. One party in particular during our stay seemed to be keen on spending the evening consuming brain-destroying quantities of alcohol and then returning to the hotel in the early hours making enough noise to destroy any hope of a good night's sleep. This sort of behaviour is probably OK in Faliraki or maybe Leeds city centre on a Saturday night, but it's not welcome at the Kastelli. In fairness to the hotel management they did try to limit the disruption but there's not much that one person can do to control a crowd of noisy drunks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Agree with many of the comments below - first impressions were excellent with personal guided tour by manager and very impressive public areas. Not only was there always pool beds available but the choice of the large more crowded pool with music, or 3 smaller quiet pools, was ideal. We found that sitting by the smaller pools but moving to the larger pool for a swim worked well.

As mentioned, the public areas are kept spotlessly clean. The gym is small but we enjoyed trying to work off some calories each morning. We didn't use the spa but the lighting and setting looked very tempting. Location is ideal, away from the bars on the front but barely a couple of minutes walk to the beach, via the back door. Also only two minutes from the Big supermarket, (bizarrely on 3 floors with goods stacked in the lift) and 50 metres from the bus stop to Thira and the rest of the island - we found the bus service excellent.

Rooms generally do not quite match the standards of the public space. We didn't find the hard beds uncomfortable, although the tendency to stub toes against the concrete base is painful. Bathrooms are not impressive with poor lighting and appear dated, but most rooms had either a balcony or terrace with a pretty view.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was good and plentiful and was open from 8 to midday so suits both early risers and those having a lay in. Don't get too excited by reference to champagne - it was slightly bubbly spumante and not very good, perhaps better mixed with orange juice.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here but would give one word of warning. As the hotel is promoting itself as a wedding venue, this can lead to an uneasy mix of couples wanting a quiet break and large extended family groups taking up space around the pool and engaging in long and loud conversations.

I have to report that our sleep was disturbed on most of our 7 nights by wedding groups in high spirits when returning from the bars of Kamari in the early hours. Also that the disturbances was caused by Brits, not Germans as others found below. Not sure what management could have done about this and although we did not complain, I understand that others did.

Kastelli is a good location for a Kamari holiday, and overall would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingatestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 77 in Kamari
330 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 77 in Kamari
695 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
5.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santorini Kastelli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Kastelli Resort

Property: Santorini Kastelli Resort
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#2 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#12 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Santorini Kastelli Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santorini Kastelli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Kastelli Hotel Kamari
Santorini Kastelli Kamari
Kastelli Resort Santorini
Santorini Kastelli Resort Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing