We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice place overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santorini Kastelli Resort
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite a nice place overall”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The location is perfect, not far from the beach yet not too close to noisy restaurants/bars. You can easily go to the cities around, thanks to public transportation (bus stop nearby). The hotel itself is beautiful. If lucky, you will be able to have a room on the second or third floor, where you can have a seaview (or a glimpse at the sea). We loved the pools, and the fresh food provided for a very reasonnable price (try the salads, very fresh and tasty). The SPA is also great, so do not hesitate to try it. On the negative side, the quality of the staff is uneven: most of the peaple are welcoming and helpfull, yet some of them are not very nice. Another negative: bathrooms (ours was even smelly), with an unconvenient shower system where you end up with a flood if not careful. The fitness center is really not great either (low quality equipment), but it is better than nothing. Quite a nice place overall, that we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochevallier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    142
    29
    18
    20
See reviews for
125
476
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Lovely property, although the exceptional, truly personal service from all staff may be it’s most exceptional feature. What nice people! They genuinely care, especially Nick and Athena in the restaurant, and G.M. Adonis, who drove us to the airport himself on departure. It’s so peaceful, filled with lovely, fragrant plantings everywhere.

Welcome #1: chilled juice in reception at check in; #2: private, personal tour by manager Adonis; #3: bottle of chilled local white wine and fresh fruit in our room.

The family suite easily accommodated 2 adults in a king bed, and 2 large teenagers in the front room. Our immaculate room was tastefully decorated. The ambient light falling through the blue drapes bathed the room in the most wonderful hues all day, especially in the mornings, so we felt like we were waking up undersea. Cool!

Very good champagne breakfast, and all meals were super fresh and delicious. We ordered the fresh caught fish one night and while it was a little costly at 60 euros, it was the best fish we had on our entire trip.

After a day in over-crowded Fira, we were so grateful to return to the charming town of Kamari, just steps away from Kastelli Resort, with its dramatic beach, and nice beachfront bars and cafes.

One minor complaint: our rooms were pretty dark, and it was so hard to read in bed I moved a light from the foyer into the bedroom, which helped.

Room Tip: Family suite overlooking pool is fairly spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAndShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks, and we did not want to leave. Very polite staff, plenty of sunbeds by the various pools. One day the bus to Thera did not arrive, so the manager drove us there al ! Good location 5 minutes from the beach front all flat with no hills 10/10

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestine
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I found Kastelli resort excellent by all means. It was a comfortable and beautiful place to stay in. My husband and I spent three days there, and were very sad to leave. The staff were very helpful and friendly, food was good, the place was very clean. They had lots of places to sunbed and have a swim. We also found it very good in terms of transportation. Right next to Kastili there is a bus stop. Make sure though you get special shoes for the beach cause Kamari beach is full of pebbles

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed for 1 week, and were sad to leave. Very polite staff, plenty of room to get a sunbed on one of the various pools. One day the bus to Thera did not arrive, so the manager drove us there himself in his 4 X 4 Unreal ! Good location 5 minutes from the beach front all flat with no hills (But you have restraunt staff on the beach front restraunts trying to persuade you in) But back in the sanctuary of the resort it is heaven. Rooms modern, and most seem to have good views of the pool, champagne breakfast. Want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view when you get to reception, and not near the south end of the complex by the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our family of 4 just spent 8 days and had a fantastic experience. After a long trip from the USA our luggage was temporarily lost in Athens and the Hotel staff stepped right in, Thanks Tanya! who took charge of the situation and led communications with the airport and monitoring the status of our luggage. Then Adonis, the general manager, took me to the airport to retrieve the luggage late that first evening. From that initial moment it became very clear that the Hotel team, and i mean the entire staff at the Hotel, was truly dedicated to providing an outstanding level of service. Adonis provides excellent leadership by constantly monitoring service levels and also communicating with guests, and in our case providing excellent suggestions for island activities and dining options which proved great dinner settings in Oia. We highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Adonis and Team.

Room Tip: for best views, request an upper floor room facing the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValparaisoHopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We travelled as a family of 4, booking two rooms at the Kastelli. We had a fantastic holiday, Kamari is a nice resort with plenty of good restaurants, all with friendly service. If you venture out of Kamri take your camera as the views at Thira and Oia are beautiful.
Back to the hotel, the overall setting is lovely, rooms are basic but very clean, beds are hard ( but extra mattress toppers are available). Outside areas are immaculate and sun loungers plentiful as are the towels, the pools are clean, but be aware, any white fabric on your swimwear will turn yellow (and doesn't wash out - all 4 of us have ruined swimwear ..... We saw plenty of others with the same problem .... Kind of expensive to replace at the end of your holiday). Staff at the resort are very helpful and friendly, the pool service is efficient, although all those milkshakes and cocktails add up over a two week period (20 euros for 4 milkshakes, 10-13 euro for a cocktail). A small point, the cocktail menu offers a kir royal, stating champagne but was actually the cava served at breakfast - wouldn't have minded but a charge of 13 euros made it hard to swallow.
Breakfast is plentiful and tasty, lunch and dinner menu is rather limited but with so many restaurants 5 minutes away this isn't an issue, lazy lunches by the pool are tasty and relaxing.
Special mention to the restaurant staff who work very hard to ensure everything is in order and to Antonis, the GM who is always out and about and enquiring that everything is okay, he is very keen to ensure that you are happy and enjoying the hotel.
Would we go back or recommend ? Definitely yes - it is not a cheap resort, but is relaxing, welcoming, friendly and after 2 weeks we were sorry to be leaving. A couple of points for a small luxury hotel I would expect tea and coffee facilities in the room, along with an iron and ironing board, perhaps a docking station for your iPod. I am sure that in time all these will be provided for future guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
5.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
8.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santorini Kastelli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Kastelli Resort

Property: Santorini Kastelli Resort
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#12 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santorini Kastelli Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santorini Kastelli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Kastelli Hotel Kamari
Santorini Kastelli Kamari
Kastelli Resort Santorini
Santorini Kastelli Resort Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing