We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant place to stay”
Review of Aegean Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We were based in the Aegean Plaza for a week, and were very pleased with it. The rooms are grouped round three sides of the pool, with the reception and dining room on the fourth side. My room had everything I wanted, and was pleasantly cool at night. The staff were extremely helpful with all sorts of things. On the down side, the bed was harder than I am accustomed to. It also has the minor defects of every hotel I have ever stayed in - shortage of hooks to hang things up, a poorly positioned and badly lit mirror (why does every bathroom designer all over the world put the mirror above the washbasin and the light behind you when you stand at the basin?) and the Greek speciality of electric sockets coming away from the wall. Breakfast and dinner were buffet style with plenty of choice, though I was sorry to see tinned fruit rather than fresh at breakfast. Maybe there is fresh fruit in season? The salad buffet in the evening was excellent, and there were always four or five hot dishes for the main course. The hotel isn't central, so it's pleasantly quiet, but it is only a few minutes' walk from the beach, if you can tear yourself away from the pool.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean-astair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed there for a few days while in Santorini. The room was huge, and very clean. The pool was nice and relaxing after finding out that the black beach wasn't so fun of a place to actually have a "beach" day. The staff, particularly at the pool bar, were really helpful and friendly. I felt like it was a bit far from all of the restaurants and nightlife, but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldGirlAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Hi the positives about this hotel are: great location, nice pools and nice people. the negatives are: bed is as hard as a rock. TV is a tiny tube from 19th century with no controller, safe has an actual key, instead of a code, but the key was never given to us, the hair blower would over heat after 3 minutes of use an quit working and the hotel rooms smell very strongly of bleach, which I guess is better than the alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaywolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

By lucky accident, my tour group was moved from a lower end hotel to this excellent choice just down the street. I was assigned to room #323, a very large suite in the Cretan style meaning no windows except at the far end opening onto the terrace overlooking the magnificent pool. The room is decorated in warm colors with accents of brilliant orange and turquoise. Floors are marble and an arch separates the bedroom from the main living area. Frescoes on the wall simulate those discovered in nearby Akritari, an ancient archaeological site. Furnishings are comfortable, closets roomy, king bed. Bathroom is small, but the balcony covered with bougainvillea certainly made up for any shortcomings. Fluffy towels, aloe shampoo and amenities, good water pressure.

Most of the buildings at the Aegean Plaza are grouped around pools. The best of these is the crescent shaped pool with a palm tree at its center. It is here that the main restaurant, breakfast, and bar area is located. The maze of rooms and buildings is initially difficult to navigate, but once found, nobody seemed to have any problems getting around.

On the days of my stay, the hotel was completely full and the breakfast area really couldn't accommodate everybody at once. I suggest visiting the dining room early or late for best results. You'll also find that despite signs suggesting otherwise, some who stay at the hotel stake out lounges by the pool complete with towels, soft drinks, and accessories, but are nowhere to be seen. Some of these chairs seem to be reserved all day without occupants. I found this puzzling. But generally, I liked this hotel and found the staff friendly and accommodating. It's just a short walk down to the beach and main shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here for our 2 week summer holiday in July. The receptionist was very helpful when we arrived and very friendly, hotel seemed very clean. We paid extra to upgrade our room and had a living area as well as the bedroom, bathroom and balcony which was a nice size, although it says it's a four star hotel the decor in the room, I thought was very traditional Greek, and not necessarily what I would class as 4 star (wasn't modern) but was still nice and we had a great spot overlooking the main pool. Brilliant air con!! The room was cleaned every day and cleaned very well with fresh towels, also, every day. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very crowded as you would expect at this time of year and was a buffet, which was ok, saved having to eat out for your breakfast and always had plenty of choice. The pools were fantastic and it had a great pool bar for drinks snacks/lunch. It is really well located to the beach front, barely a 3 minute walk where there are so many choices of places to eat and drink. The hotel also has free wifi. I would suggest getting a bus up to Fira which is just beautiful and the sunset cruise and volcano walk is a must! Overall we had a truly fantastic holiday and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Fabulous hotel we stayed in september and this place was a great place for a holiday we (Paul and Lesley) got married at the villa irini while we were here. I agree with what leli_10 says about the hotel (we were there at the same time as them, Hi) Very clean everywhere and daily clean of room and plenty fresh towels, if you came back at 4 in the morning and said not today when the maid knocked they would just come back in the afternoon, George and Chris on the bar were always friendly and polite as were all staff. Good food (breakfast and poolside) i don't normally eat pasta on holiday but the spag bol was well delicious and you always got generous portions (enough for two to share) Another good thing about a.p.h it had a lot of individual entrances to the rooms so no risk of people waking others up when coming home in the early hours and the rooms seemed well soundproofed. The beach and restaurants are 2 mins away and if you like live football followed by music/dancing/ karaoke/ quiz and a late drink head to the love boat bar. Fannii and Sakis are two local lads who run the bar and bring you drinks all night (free ones if you spend enough time in there-they wont let you go home) Dont worry about what others have negatively said about a.p.h regarding tv size(large screen tvs in the large reception area), pool music noise (not noisy) and aircraft coming in, it is not a problem at all, there is plenty of facilities here such as gym/sauna quiet pool round the back, shower room for last day. I will be back in a few years (anniversary) and will stay here again.

If tom and ruth from blackburn read this please get in touch we lost your address and want to send you some wedding photos and to thank you for the kind gift you gave us.

If anyone else wants to get in touch regarding more info please contact me as we all want a great holiday as we work hard and long for them.

Paul and Lesley McIntosh

Room Tip: Lower ones around the main pool on the ground floor have a nice little arch to sit out and have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulandLesleyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is very clean, staff very helpful, we had a great time, breakfast very busy, we booked evening meal which was a great deal as prices locally can be expensive, the Hotel i have to say is great but it is in the direct flight path of all planes coming to the Island, it wasnt a big problem for us but it maybe for others. there are only a few planes each day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.7 mi away
Aegean View Hotel
Aegean View Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Plaza Hotel

Address: | Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#17 Family Hotel in Kamari
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £81 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aegean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Plaza Kamari
Hotel Aegean Plaza
Aegean Plaza Santorini
Aegean Plaza Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing