We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aegean plaza”
Review of Aegean Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aegean plaza”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at,huge rooms decorated very nicely.food good.hotel staff very helpful,my husband was ill for a few days and hotel staff got a doctor to. Visit him.near all restaurants and bars but far enough away for sleep quality

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    229
    65
    29
    8
See reviews for
154
273
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiasso, Svizzera
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We choosed this Hotel as being located near the beach of Kamari and we found it very comfortable. Our room was on the third floor with a large balcony looking into the main swimming pool. I would recommend to ask for the rooms located on the second or third floor in order to have more light. The room was very big, clean and with all the amneties. We had daily changes on the towels and bed linen.
We also had couple of times lunch by the bar at the swimming pool, maybe a little slow the service but good food. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast, no pastry only two types of biscuits and no fresh fruit. We could not have any espresso coffee or capuccino as the bar was closed, only black coffee that was not so good! The staff is great, nice people always smiling, very professional, thanks for the suggestions.
We absolutely recommend this Hotel, thanks for the great time :)

Room Tip: second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioChiasso_Svizzera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have recently returned from a very enjoyable two week break in Kamari and could not have wished for a more ideally placed hotel. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen and the staff were always polite and friendly. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the main pool, it had a good sized balcony. The ground floor rooms appeared to be very overlooked with little privacy if sitting out. The hotel benefits from having a choice of pools; the main pool being the busiest with a pool side bar (where Chris, the bar manager was always friendly and smiling and used excellent English). The smaller pool (across the road) was a tranquil place to relax and enjoy the sun. Breakfast offered a variety of choices from continental to full English and even cake and biscuits. We found between 8 - 9am the best time to go for breakfast as after 9 it was always busy. There are however a sufficient number of tables inside and out and the food supply was continuously topped up. The Aegean Plaza was ideally situated with the pedestrianized strip of restaurants, bars and shops on the beach front only a two minute walk away.

Santorini is a lovely island and trips to Fira and Oia for the views are recommended but as both resorts are built into the rock they can be steep in places, although there is use of cable cars and donkeys! As Kamari is at beach level it is certainly recommended for those with less mobility.

A visit to Santo Winery (Pygros) for sun set is a must. The view there is spectacular and you can enjoy some wine tasting at a reasonable cost.

We have no hesitation in recommending Kamari and the Aegean Plaza Hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Santorini. We will certainly return there sometime in the future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky0245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel only 2 miles from the airport so dont bother booking a transfer just get a taxi for 15 eur one way. Hotel grounds pools etc all look a good 4* standard but the rooms were a slight bit of a letdown. I felt they could be slightly modernised as they are only a 3* standard especially for the price thay some people have paid to stay there. Food and drink at the poolside is good and the staff are excellent and helpfull. Wifi is extremely slow though! Liked the hotel but wouldnt return back as you can get a lot more for your money at other islands but you are paying for the privaledge of going to santorini. We only paid 600 each with easyjet holidays for 1 week but heard others say they paid 800-900! Kamari side isnt the nicest by all means but oia and fira are a must see!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigantraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were honoured to be invited to a wedding in Santorini, the news given last year led to much anticipation of where to stay - should we stay in a separate hotel from the wedding party or join them. After much debate we opted to join them at the Aegean Plaza.

What a delightful hotel, the room was spacious and overlooked the pool. The furniture was basic but gave adequate storage. There were 3 pools to chose from and the main pool had a bar. The breakfast was hearty with choices and the Greek yoghurt and honey was delicious.
The staff were friendly - though the reception people were not as helpful and communicative as the bar staff. The room was cleaned daily and the towels changed, pool towels were also provided and there was a general relaxed and comfortable feel. Couples, families and friends all seemed to be catered for.

The location of the hotel was great and it was an easy stroll to the front for many taverna's and shops.

We only stayed for 5 days as we were on a tight time schedule however will return to Snatorini and potentially the same hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor - 321 - not good if you have walking difficulties. The friends we trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fortnight stay at the Aegean Plaza.
Would agree with previous posts about lack of hotel facility information in the rooms but other than that we found the place ideal.
There are three pools - a fact which a lot of people are unaware of, you just have to find them! The main pool always tended to be busy but the other two were quieter and always had sun beds available.
The pool bar is good and the guy who runs it does so efficiently as well as being very friendly.
Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel although we found it to be painfully slow at times but no big deal - we were on holiday after all!
There is a decent size shop and a small taverna just across the road and we used both, these are well positioned for hotel guests.
Rooms are clean, towels changed daily, fridge and tv in rooms although we didn't use the tv, air con to the rooms which worked a treat, we had a lovely balcony which was a good size to sit out.
Towels are available for pool use daily from the hotel.
Breakfast can get busy and is a little chaotic at times but in the main is ok.
The location of the hotel for Kamari is ideal - a two minute walk to the beach and restaurants etc. yet far enough away from the busy stretch.
Would recommend if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Kamari.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threepiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Last night I returned from my vacation I spent at Santorini, Greece. I stayed at hotel Aegean plaza in Kamari, which is a little village with a lots of bars, restaurants, etc, at the promenade at the beach. So about the hotel. First of all the overall look of the hotel (the architecture) is so cycladic - all crisp white, a lot of windows, in a shape of a circle. Rooms are spacious, all with the little terrace (if you stay in a room at the ground floor) or a balcony, the bathroom is big enough. In a while the hotel will need a basic renovation - just to keep it fresh (especialliy the bathrooms). The staff is very friendly, they are at your disposal every moment, room service is great (they change the bedding and the towels every day, etc.). The hotel is a few steps away from the beach, which is a most important thing for me (see the title), nevertheless the hotel also got the pool - not very big, but great for the famillies with small children (for example), As far as the food goes (I had breakfast here) I must say it was maybe a bit repetitive, because it was not enough selection. Not so many choices, especially in the healthy section (I don't eat anything white - flour, sugar, milk - and I don't eat food with yeast), so I got a bit bored after awhile. So maybe instead of changing the bedding and towels every single day maybe they should provide more food variety. Ou, I almost forgot:bus stop to capital Thira is close to the hotel, which is also very convenient and from Thira there are other local buses to get around the island. And by the way: the island is GREAT!!! My overall experience was very satisfactory - I got my rest and my fun and in between I saw some historical sights. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor are not so hot, so you won't need as much air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
4.9 mi away
Kalimera Hotel
Kalimera Hotel
#11 of 12 in Akrotiri
224 reviews
3.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#50 of 80 in Fira
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#24 of 75 in Kamari
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Adamastos Hotel
Adamastos Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akrotiri
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#1 of 11 in Perivolos
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Plaza Hotel

Property: Aegean Plaza Hotel
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Family Hotel in Kamari
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aegean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Plaza Kamari
Hotel Aegean Plaza
Aegean Plaza Santorini
Aegean Plaza Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing