We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The Aegean Plaza Hotel was a good hotel. There were 3 different pool areas. The main pool was great for families and if you are a couple who want a more quiet time then use one of the other pools. The first room we had overlooked a road and the mountains which was OK but we asked to move and we moved to a suite room overlooking the main pool. The TV was typical European - crackle vision nothing on but we were only in the rrom to sleep and to get ready for the evening. The breakfast area was way too small for the amount of people staying in the hotel. There was a lot of choice but it was like dancing the fandango each morning - crazy. The more positive aspects of the hotel are the size of the rooms and balconys and the pool areas were great. The location was great just a short walk to the beach and the 97 bars and restaurants of Kamari. The best food we had was in a restaurant called Nichteri but I would have to say we didn't have a bad meal. Others to mention were Alexanders, Cafe No name, the boathouse for a cheap feed and Koulies for the best gyros pitta (2 euros) on the beach great for a cheap lunch. Kamari was a great location with lots of choice and a nice pebble beach and you can still get to the west coast - Fira and Oia very easlily and its much cheaper if you're on a budget.
Tips - Local bus to Fira - 1 euro 40 each way. Santo wines for wine tasting with the sunset. The view was amazing. Meal in Fira - Archepelagos. Fantastic place for the sunset. East coast is much cheaper than the west coast. Kamari meal for 2 ( 3 courses with wine) Between 30 and 60 euros, Fira and Oia for a nice restaurant 100 euros. Beers Kamari 3.50euros and Fira side 5euros. When in the reataurants to save monet drink the barral wine 500ml for 3 - 8 euros depending on restaurant.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thestonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    216
    64
    29
    8
See reviews for
149
253
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We loved everything about it!
I travelled with 2 of my girlfriends and we loved this hotel! Our room was VERY spacious with 3 single beds, a big wardrobe cabinet and desk area. The 2-storey hotel's set up was nice because all the room entrances were outdoor with a beautiful front patio (with seating area). All the rooms faced the central area, which has a nice big pool and bar area. Every other day, the hotel would host a buffet dinner with a lamb spit in the outdoor bar area.
The staff was VERY friendly and kind.
The location of the hotel was ideal. It was less than a 2 minute walk from the beach and it was right on the Kamari beach strip. There were tons of restaurants and bars along the strip, as well as souvenir shops.
The hotel was great for couples or families. We were the only single girls in the hotel - but was fine by us!
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

The Aegean Plaza was amazing. I've never staying in a hotel like this one. We didn't use the pool so much because the Mediterranean Ocean is literally a 3 minute walk from the hotel! But the pool area was very nice and had a bar nearby and was always active from 8AM to midnight. This is a great place to be because it is not right in the middle of the Kamari beach town, but towards one end and its not as busy at this end, but its just a short walk to where all the shops, restaurants, bars, lounges, and everything else is! The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast buffet was great! They also have room service and a great dinner buffet for only about $20. It was very quiet at night and each of the rooms opens up to a private little balcony or onto the pool area (its open though so you can socialize with your neighbors of course). It also offers tours of the Island and some of the surrounding islands and the tour picks you up at the hotel (convenient!). I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The rooms were quite large, the bathroom was nice, and the location was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Auve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at the Aegean Plaza for two weeks at the end of June and were very happy with the whole holiday. In our opinion the hotel is ideally located - about a 3 minute walk from the sea front which gives it the benefit of privacy and decent sized swimming pools. The hotels along the sea front have very small pools which are overlooked by everyone walking past. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the main pool area and apart from having two singles instead of a double it was fine for our needs. However, don't think if you end up with two singles you can push them together to make a double cos you can't. We did email before our holiday requesting a double but got no response. The towels and bedding were changed daily, which seemed a little excessive and I'm not sure how often the floors were swept - but this really didn't bother us. We didn't go away to spend time in the room, apart from sleeping. And apart from nine earthquakes in one night we slept well!! There is air conditioning which was most welcome. There were two glasses in the bathroom and this was all glasses/crockery we had - and they weren't changed in the whole two weeks. No cutlery so if you plan on having a bottle of wine in the room, take your own corkscrew.
The reception staff were very helpful, we asked for extra pillows and they arrived 10 minutes later. The internet in reception is 1.50 euros for 15 mins, but we were never charged - though we only used it a couple of times for no more than 15 mins. The lady at the pool bar is lovely, always smiling and very helfpul. There is also a cabinet in reception full of books to read. I took three of my own, left them and borrowed another two. A lot cheaper than buying them out there at 13-15 euros each. There are wedding parties there, at least two during our stay but this really didn't bother us. You do find some of the restaurants in an evening holding wedding receptions too.
We didn't use the main pool, but found another one in the complex, though only because we'd read on Trip Advisor of someone using a different pool - this one was was much quieter - certainly no children. The planes do come over quite low as the airport is very close but this really didn't both us at all. We used the pool bar a few times and really enjoyed the caesar salads and pizzas. There is also a very nice restaurant called Splash (with free wi-fi) at the top of the street which was also very good.
On an evening we would walk along the front which would probably take around 30 mins from end to end and the Aegean Plaza is right at one end, this is were all the restaurants and bars are - we would recommend Prince, Elixir and Cafe Classico for meals - especially the moussaka at Elixir. It can get quite windy on an evening, especially if you sit at the tables at the beach side.
We certainly think Kamari is the best place on the island to stay, not the most picturesque or prettiest resort on the island but the cheapest and at least you have the lovely beach front walk on an evening. Fira and Oia (prounouned "ear") were both lovely for visits, especially Oia for the sunset but you definitely pay more to eat.
We would definitely visit Santorini in the future and would definitely recommend the Aegean Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esstee238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

The Aegean Plaza was a great hotel. The accommodations were nice and the staff was helpful and friendly. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach, nice shops and restaurants. They had a musician playing nice relaxing music when we were back from sight seeing. Also, many people staying in the hotel had to check out early in the morning to get to the airport and they had an early breakfast for everyone, which we thought was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Jules4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed with a large group occupying 3 rooms. Check-in & reception were really friendly & efficient ensuring we had the right people in the right rooms with the requested bed configurations. The hotel itself is beautiful - our rooms were all on the ground floor around the main pool which was fantastic. I loved being able to lie on the sunlounger at the mian pool but being just in front of my room!
The main pool is pretty big and when it got full of children I just went round to the smaller pool which tended to be quieter, but was still big enough to swim lengths in. There was always sufficient sunloungers, though on some days the best spots went early and there are plenty of parasols to shade from the very hot sun.
The hotel is set back from the beach (about 1 minute walk) but this was a bonus since most hotels on the front had small pools that could be viewed by all the passing pedestrians.
Breakfast had a reasonable number of different choices, but was crowded and, although there was always plenty of food and tables to sit at, this was not very relaxing.
The rooms were all a good size with nice bathrooms and plenty of room for clothes, suitcases, lilos, etc. The only downside is that the beds were super hard - I considered sleeping on our sofa one night.
Overall, if I returned to Kamari I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

On arrival we were taken across the road to an old dark room, we had paid for a suite as it was a special occasion holiday, however we were moved without apology to a suite which was not of any luxury, very basic cheaply furnished, bathroom small and old. Moving rooms was a regular thing at this hotel for a lot of guests.
Towels on some days were ok on others had seen better days, pool towels had to be hired. Safes had to be paid for which in most hotels now are complimentary as they are a necessity.
The food was terrible , we had paid for half board , the first evening meal was awful and looked quite unsafe to eat, breakfast was a fiasco, run out plates, cups, then it was cutlery, then it was bread which was topped up with frozen bread to make toast. Pastries were uncooked on the bottom, no prepared fresh fruit,, no proper fruit juice. A table was hard to come by some days.( we resolved the half board issue with the tour operator, who were very understanding)
The room was serviced daily but the floors and balcony rarely saw a mop or brush. The bath was cleaned on occasion .
On the positive side the pool areas are lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds but we were not there in high season, the adult pool was extremely nice be be around.
There was no entertainment in the hotel over the 2 weeks we were there.
We did have a lovely holiday as we loved Santorini it is a lovely island, but would not return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
4.9 mi away
Kalimera Hotel
Kalimera Hotel
#11 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
5.0 mi away
Adamastos Hotel
Adamastos Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#38 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#2 of 13 in Perivolos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Holiday Club
Atlantida Holiday Club
#12 of 14 in Akrotiri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Plaza Hotel

Property: Aegean Plaza Hotel
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Family Hotel in Kamari
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aegean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Plaza Kamari
Hotel Aegean Plaza
Aegean Plaza Santorini
Aegean Plaza Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing