We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Chilled out relaxing holiday -”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really Chilled out relaxing holiday -”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Yes everything that the other reviewers say about this place is true. The rooms and layout of the hotel are great - the staff are fabulous and so friendly. We have just returned from a really chilled out holiday, much better than we expected. If anything, I would ask the management to change to an adults only policy as there were quite a few families staying (half term I suppose) and although the majority kept their children under control - some didnt which we did find a bit annoying. Another point to mention was the sunbed saga. There were "guests" staying there who would lay their towels out at 5am and then lay on them for about 30 minutes during the day. Most of the rooms have balconies with outdoor jacuzzies and sunbeds or chairs - so not really a problem. Not the hotels fault either.
Anyway small gripe over - just visit the hotel it is a little gem.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    59
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
97
253
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed at the Tamarix last May as we got married on the island on May 28th. To say this hotel is exceptional just doesn't do it justice...

From the moment we walked through the glass doors to the pool area it felt like we had arrived in heaven. The staff were so friendly and were insistant on making our stay a memorable one. As stated in previous reviews the rooms at the Tamarix are very spacious, and very clean. We had the benefit of a roof top hot tub which was an added bonus and was a nice retreat from the pool should we have wanted it. At breakfast time the buffet was always inviting and at no time did we leave feeling hungry!!

Location wise, the Tamarix was perfect. Only a short walk to the sea front where you will find numerous tavernas. Our favourite along the front was Nichteri (unsure of spelling) which was recommended to us by Dimitris who runs the pool bar at the Tamarix. Another of his recommendations was Mama Mia's which was also very nice and located just before you get to the sea front.

We cannot thank the staff of Dimitris, Georgia and Mina enough for all of their help in making our stay at the Tamarix as memorable as it was. We stayed here for 3 weeks and got to know each of them very well. Our final thank you would go to Dimitria, the manager, who was always on hand to assist us. Many hotel managers could learn something from her...!

Santorini is beautiful. If you are going, and staying at the Tamarix, my wife and I envy you. But two things are for certain, we will be visiting Santorini again, and we will be staying at the Tamarix!

Dan & Karen Bush

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan-Karen-9618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Myself and my (new) husband spent 2 weeks from 17th May-31st May and i really can not recommend this hotel more highly! We were in Santorini for our wedding which took place on the 20th May.

The rooms at the Tamarix are very spacious and well equipped. They are extremely clean, with bedding changed everyday and towels twice a day if required. The pool area is lovely and clean, however i have to agree that only the brave ventured into the pool in the first week of our stay, but the second week the pool temperature increased and we were able to swim comfortably.

The hotel stafff could not be more helpful, they were always on hand. In particular Georgia and Mina were excellent and it was lovely to meet them. We were very lucky to have been offered the chance to stay the night in their sister hotel 'Absolute Bliss' in Imerovogli with compliments of the management. What a place!- we had a beautiful room with Queen size bad, full room service and a HUGE terrace with sun loungers and hot tub jacuzzi over looking the Caldera. It was AMAZING. On our return we were then upgraded to a premier suite with two balconies and once again a balcony jacuzzi which was fantastic for our last 2 days. i was glad we weren't upgraded when we first got there as the junior suite we were allocated originally- room 208 was extremely large (minus balcony jacuzzi) and was more suitable for my three bridesmaids to stay with me the night beofre the wedding.

Tamarix is a great location- literally 2 minutes walk from the beach. Kamari is a great place and we explored the whole of Santorini on a quad bike.

A totally unforgettable place, i would (and am!) telling everyone to go!

Kind wishes to all the staff and thank you for making our trip as wonderful as it was.

Love Lucynda & Mark Bateson x

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luce8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed one week at Tamarix in the beginning of May 2011. The experience was generally good, with no complaints about service or cleanliness. The rooms are large and include a bubbling bath tub. Browsing through the channels at the TV, only a fraction of the more than 1000 (sic!) installed channels actually worked, most of them being Middle Eastern or Islamic programs and occasionally Greek channels. The outside pool was not heated and in early May swimming is way too cold. There is an inside pool, but the atmosphere inside was dismal. The "gym" was a joke. Out of the four exercise machines, no one worked properly. While sunbathing we were occasionally disturbed by planes landing at Thira airport. As we deliberately avoided hotels warning us about aircraft noise, it was disappointing to discover that Tamarix, unlike nearby hotels, were hiding this fact. During the night we were also disturbed by a noise below us maybe central air conditioning, spin dryer or engine of some sort.
Most of the guests were middle-aged, and there were no families with children there. This made the hotel a calm and peaceful both day and night. The bar closes at midnight. As for the location, Kamari is not really the place to be on Santorini. Fira is more interesting, Perissa is livelier, Ia is more beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flugdreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, Middx
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We got married at Santos winery June 2009 and had a delightfull stay at the Tamarix which made the wedding extra special. Nothing was too much trouble and they even laid on a room for my wife to get ready in on the day of the wedding. All the staff were exceptionally freindly and made a really big fuss over our 3 year old daughter. The rooms were spotless & superb and had everything you could possibly want for that special stay including fruit and champagne delivered on our wedding day. There was a wide selection for breakfast every morning so you never got bored (although I probably put on a few pound!) and the pool bar was always manned by a smiling face, our parents were constantly visiting from their hotels as the pool & bar were so much nicer than their hotel, even this wasn't a problem and they were made welcome. When we return to the beautiful Island of Santorini there is only 1 place that we will be staying!

Also well worth a visit a few doors down is the Restaurant 'No Name' where we had the best meals during our stay, George and Aposotalis were fantastic, not only serving us with great food but also helped out with booking local transport for our guests to get to the wedding, but make sure you hang on to your wives and girlfriends on his Greek Nights as they all end up out in the street doing Zorba's dance! I have never been made to feel so welcome and had such genuine service above and beyond at any restaurant anywhere in the world!

Big thanks to all the staff at the Tamarix & No Name for making our stay Simply Superb!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Me and my wife chose this place for our honeymoon/wedding on the island. I cant praise the place enough.

Upon arrival, despite a 3 hour delay and arriving at 10pm the manager and receptionist were waiting for us to check us in and show us our rooms. We had been given a free upgrade too which was lovely. The rooms were cleaned every day with towel changes every day too. Beach towels by the pool were all provided. The room was spacious and the jacuzzi on the roof facing the mountain was as perfect a view you could hope for.

The breakfast had everything you could hope for, cereals, fruit, bacon, egg, cakes, salads, cheeses etc. Many mornings we stumbled out the dining area with more than a full stomach. The best hotel breakfast i have ever had by far.
The location of the hotel is perfect , 2 mins to the beach but tucked away from the noise and hassle of the main strip. A quiet nights sleep is guaranteed.

The staff were very helpful, were constantly smiling and would do anything to help you. They organized mini-buses for our wedding guests, left chocolates and champagne in our room after our wedding and even offered us a complimentary night at their other hotel on the other side of the island. The staff were non-stop and you would constantly see them walking around doing their duties.

I could go on but the message is clear - the hotel was perfect and me and my wife were very pleased with our choice to stay there. So much so that a trip back there next year looks to be on the cards.

I have read other reviews where people have failed to see where the 5 star rating comes from. I cant understand this as Greek rooms and service are always basic. This wasn't, by greek standards this was definitely a 5 star hotel.

The only downside would be that the advertised gym facilities were very poor.

Overall though, it was perfect. Best hotel in Kamari? Possibly....id like to see another hotel which claims to be as relaxed, peaceful and willing to go that extra mile for you.
10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbybatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Went to Kamari for a week. Selected the Tamarix Del Mar for its location, class and breakfast. Location is great, 200 meters from the beach but very quiet. Room was very spaceous (we were given a free upgrade without asking for it). Pool was adeqaute size with enough deck chairs. Breakfast buffet was great (great variety, good service, good food quality). Staff was very friendly and helpful.
I would rather classify it as a 4 star hotel though, and as such it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
430 reviews
5.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
8.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
8.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Property: Tamarix del Mar
Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#15 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing