We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarix del Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cavo Bianco(Kamari)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Matina(Kamari)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Crown Suites(Kamari)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Akis(Kamari)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adonis Hotel(Kamari)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
344
63
18
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
63
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor jacuzzithe wrong roomhot tubpool barfree upgradesecond weekstayed in a junior suitebeautiful hotelgreek nightbeach frontchanged every daythe busspent a weekboutique hotelfeel so welcomerestaurants and shopsfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Yes everything that the other reviewers say about this place is true. The rooms and layout of the hotel are great - the staff are fabulous and so friendly. We have just returned from a really chilled out holiday, much better than we expected. If anything, I would ask the management to change to an adults only policy as there were quite a few families staying (half term I suppose) and although the majority kept their children under control - some didnt which we did find a bit annoying. Another point to mention was the sunbed saga. There were "guests" staying there who would lay their towels out at 5am and then lay on them for about 30 minutes during the day. Most of the rooms have balconies with outdoor jacuzzies and sunbeds or chairs - so not really a problem. Not the hotels fault either.
Anyway small gripe over - just visit the hotel it is a little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed at the Tamarix last May as we got married on the island on May 28th. To say this hotel is exceptional just doesn't do it justice...

From the moment we walked through the glass doors to the pool area it felt like we had arrived in heaven. The staff were so friendly and were insistant on making our stay a memorable one. As stated in previous reviews the rooms at the Tamarix are very spacious, and very clean. We had the benefit of a roof top hot tub which was an added bonus and was a nice retreat from the pool should we have wanted it. At breakfast time the buffet was always inviting and at no time did we leave feeling hungry!!

Location wise, the Tamarix was perfect. Only a short walk to the sea front where you will find numerous tavernas. Our favourite along the front was Nichteri (unsure of spelling) which was recommended to us by Dimitris who runs the pool bar at the Tamarix. Another of his recommendations was Mama Mia's which was also very nice and located just before you get to the sea front.

We cannot thank the staff of Dimitris, Georgia and Mina enough for all of their help in making our stay at the Tamarix as memorable as it was. We stayed here for 3 weeks and got to know each of them very well. Our final thank you would go to Dimitria, the manager, who was always on hand to assist us. Many hotel managers could learn something from her...!

Santorini is beautiful. If you are going, and staying at the Tamarix, my wife and I envy you. But two things are for certain, we will be visiting Santorini again, and we will be staying at the Tamarix!

Dan & Karen Bush

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan-Karen-9618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Myself and my (new) husband spent 2 weeks from 17th May-31st May and i really can not recommend this hotel more highly! We were in Santorini for our wedding which took place on the 20th May.

The rooms at the Tamarix are very spacious and well equipped. They are extremely clean, with bedding changed everyday and towels twice a day if required. The pool area is lovely and clean, however i have to agree that only the brave ventured into the pool in the first week of our stay, but the second week the pool temperature increased and we were able to swim comfortably.

The hotel stafff could not be more helpful, they were always on hand. In particular Georgia and Mina were excellent and it was lovely to meet them. We were very lucky to have been offered the chance to stay the night in their sister hotel 'Absolute Bliss' in Imerovogli with compliments of the management. What a place!- we had a beautiful room with Queen size bad, full room service and a HUGE terrace with sun loungers and hot tub jacuzzi over looking the Caldera. It was AMAZING. On our return we were then upgraded to a premier suite with two balconies and once again a balcony jacuzzi which was fantastic for our last 2 days. i was glad we weren't upgraded when we first got there as the junior suite we were allocated originally- room 208 was extremely large (minus balcony jacuzzi) and was more suitable for my three bridesmaids to stay with me the night beofre the wedding.

Tamarix is a great location- literally 2 minutes walk from the beach. Kamari is a great place and we explored the whole of Santorini on a quad bike.

A totally unforgettable place, i would (and am!) telling everyone to go!

Kind wishes to all the staff and thank you for making our trip as wonderful as it was.

Love Lucynda & Mark Bateson x

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luce8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed one week at Tamarix in the beginning of May 2011. The experience was generally good, with no complaints about service or cleanliness. The rooms are large and include a bubbling bath tub. Browsing through the channels at the TV, only a fraction of the more than 1000 (sic!) installed channels actually worked, most of them being Middle Eastern or Islamic programs and occasionally Greek channels. The outside pool was not heated and in early May swimming is way too cold. There is an inside pool, but the atmosphere inside was dismal. The "gym" was a joke. Out of the four exercise machines, no one worked properly. While sunbathing we were occasionally disturbed by planes landing at Thira airport. As we deliberately avoided hotels warning us about aircraft noise, it was disappointing to discover that Tamarix, unlike nearby hotels, were hiding this fact. During the night we were also disturbed by a noise below us maybe central air conditioning, spin dryer or engine of some sort.
Most of the guests were middle-aged, and there were no families with children there. This made the hotel a calm and peaceful both day and night. The bar closes at midnight. As for the location, Kamari is not really the place to be on Santorini. Fira is more interesting, Perissa is livelier, Ia is more beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flugdreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We got married at Santos winery June 2009 and had a delightfull stay at the Tamarix which made the wedding extra special. Nothing was too much trouble and they even laid on a room for my wife to get ready in on the day of the wedding. All the staff were exceptionally freindly and made a really big fuss over our 3 year old daughter. The rooms were spotless & superb and had everything you could possibly want for that special stay including fruit and champagne delivered on our wedding day. There was a wide selection for breakfast every morning so you never got bored (although I probably put on a few pound!) and the pool bar was always manned by a smiling face, our parents were constantly visiting from their hotels as the pool & bar were so much nicer than their hotel, even this wasn't a problem and they were made welcome. When we return to the beautiful Island of Santorini there is only 1 place that we will be staying!

Also well worth a visit a few doors down is the Restaurant 'No Name' where we had the best meals during our stay, George and Aposotalis were fantastic, not only serving us with great food but also helped out with booking local transport for our guests to get to the wedding, but make sure you hang on to your wives and girlfriends on his Greek Nights as they all end up out in the street doing Zorba's dance! I have never been made to feel so welcome and had such genuine service above and beyond at any restaurant anywhere in the world!

Big thanks to all the staff at the Tamarix & No Name for making our stay Simply Superb!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews