We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Tamarix del Mar for our best holiday yet!!!x”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Well where to start... we stayed at the Tamarix from the 16th to the 30th August 2011. It truly was one of the best holidays we have had. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, we really could not fault a thing. On arriving at the hotel the staff were very welcoming and made check in so easy by seating us in the bar for a welcome drink whilst they organised all the paperwork and sorted the room. The bar is situated facing the pool area as is every bedroom. It really feels like a small greek village. The pool area itself is very pretty. The pool is not big enough to swim lengths (if you have burning desire to do so) but its perfect for a dip to cool off! We went in mid August so of course there were children staying at this hotel this did not bother us but there were some couples there who were sold this hotel as an adults only by thomson so needless to say they were not happy, but at the end of the day this is a family hotel so kids playing and splashing in the pool is inevitable!! We did find it quite funny watching some people getting angry but come on people you are on holiday so chill out! - you are only ruining your own holiday by remaining so angry!! Pool and beach towels are provided by the hotel and there are plenty of sun loungers to go round... enough for everyone so there was no need to get up early to put towels down which was very refreshing. However during our second week there were a few couples who did do this and never actually sat on their sunbeds until much later in the day, which is pretty out of order.

We stayed in room 208 and 303. We stayed in 2 different rooms because we went to a different part of the island for a couple of nights and on return we were allocated a different room. I mention this because we were probably the only people who did not ask to move rooms for what seemed to be very trivial reasons. The staff at the Tamarix are just amazing and can not do enough for you so they tried to accommodate people's wishes. Unfortunately for the hotel it seemed that others cottoned on to the fact that the staff will always do their best for you and took advantage of this good nature, resulting in pretty much every single person staying in a junior suite being moved to a superior suite.

Anyway... room 208 was perfect it is a junior suite but it is on the 1st floor. All other junior suites are on the ground floor with the balcony doors opening out onto the pool area. From speaking to others it seems our room might have been slightly bigger than the ones downstairs but to be honest we were never in it long enough to make use of the space. The colour theme in the room is blue and white and was typically greek. It really is luxury in greece, i say this because a few people we spoke to felt that it is not a 5* hotel but if you have ever been to greece before it is definitely a high standard for greece. We knew this before we booked so we were so pleased by the hotel and our room.

On our 9th day the staff approached us and asked us if we would like 2 nights away free of charge at a different 5* hotel in Akroteri, at first we were reluctant as we loved it at the Tamarix but after looking at the Avant Garde on the internet we quickly packed our suitcases! We were given a bottle of chanpagne and the hotel driver took us across to Akroteri. We are so appreciative of this lovely opportunity to see more of Santorini!

After our 2 nights away we returned to the Tamarix and spent our final few days in room 303. This is a superior suite situated above the bar area. The decor in this room was terra-cotta and white and was truly beautiful. We had a superking bed, a jacuzzi bath and a jacuzzi on the balcony. We could not believe our luck. Although clearly different to room 208 both were equally lovely, clean and comfortable we would recommend both types of room depending on your budget.

We spent most of our days lazing around the pool which was just perfect for chilling out by. However if you do like to get out and about there is lots to do on the island, there are some extremely pretty sites including the sunset which is a must see! We saw it when we went to Oia and Imergovigli, Oia is a bit of a tourist trap but worth a visit whereas imergovigli is quieter and a much more peaceful place to see it set. We went to the Above Blue Suites hotel for a meal which we would definitely recommend.

Back in Kamari... Kamari itself has everything you could possibly wish for if like us you enjoy a beach/pool holiday. The beach is aprox 3 mins walk from the hotel where you can find many bars and restaurants. Lots to choose from! some which you should avoid at all costs but others which are just perfect! Our favourite tavernas were the Sellada Taverna which is directly next door to the Tamarix, Almira which is on the beach front ( when you get down to the beach turn left and walk all the way to the end of the row of restaurants), Nichteri is also on the beach front (turn left and about half way down it is a lime green taverna), and finally our absolute favourite Byzantio which is situated between the no name restaurant and a small shop. The food here is absolutely amazing and sylvia is one of the loveliest people we met on the island!! The food is well priced and typically greek. Dont be put off by the fact that it often looks quiet inside, trust me it is just perfect! If you want to eat good greek food avoid No Name and Peros to name a few!!

I dont think that there is too much left to say other than Tamarix del Mar is a perfect holiday destination! The staff are so friendly and helpful ( im sorry that we did not learn the names of every one but the reception staff were great! ) If you do decide to go to this hotel be sure to have a drink at the bar in the evening with Demitri!! He's a good laugh and makes the best cocktails.. try the cosmopolitan!!

Thank you Tamarix del mar for our best holiday yet!!

Room Tip: From what we saw all rooms are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just spent a week at this wonderful hotel with my husband. It is our last day and I am sitting in the shade by the lovely pool as I type this. Couldn't fault the hotel, pleasant staff, lovely and clean with room towels changed 'twice' daily and bed linen fresh everyday. I would say the hotel is most suitable for couples but there is a childrens pool and high chairs provided for little ones.The rooms are large with contemporary decoration.I was a little dissapointed with the lack of storage space for our clothing. We had a small double wardrobe with only 'eight' hangers but luckily we did bring hangers from home. We had two tiny draws in the wardrobe but no other draws in the room where we could put clothing. Right in the centre of Kamari and close to the beach the hotel is in the ideal location. Kamari itself is full of fabulous bars and restaurants.It has a pedestrianised walkway along side the beach where most of the bars and restaurants are situated. There are a few good restaurants in the immeadiate vacinity of the hotel if you don't mind not having a sea view as you eat. The Perros is very welcoming and has a mixture of nationalities working there but it is greek owned with greek cuisine and the food is fab. We have found this restaurant to be one of the friendliest in Kamari. Avoid the 'No Name' restaurant as they can be overly persistent to get you in and they seem a bit aggesive when you refuse.....can't comment on the food though as we were put off going in there. Speaking to other guests staying at the Tamarix Del Mar we found they felt the same about the 'No Name' restaurant too. Santorini itself is a beautiful island with breath taking scenery....... a trip to Oia is a must and the sunset cruise is strongly reccommended. The Tamarix Del Mar is a fabulous hotel on a stunningly beautiful island so what more could anyone want?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a great hotel for families. We just got back from a 9 day stay there in one of their suites. Great room, a loft for the kids, and a private pool. They have a nice sized kids pool and adult pool. The breakfast is included, and nice every morning. The service was great, although a bit slow in cleaning the rooms in the morning. Of note is the bartender - Dimitrus - he is outstanding for recommendations locally in Kamari - be sure to tip him well! It is a 5 minute walk to the beach, and very close to many restaurants. We would stay there again, and very greatful to all of the helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjv12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Firstly, had a good holiday, place clean, breakfast v nice, and hotel very convenient for beach and restaurants.
To make the holiday ideal rather than good would have needed the following; a five star room rather than a 3 star, fewer children, softer sheets and towels( fabric conditioner??? Is there such a thing in Santorini??) and a swimming pool rather than a large paddling pool.
However, the most annoying part of the holiday was the never ending number of room changes/upgrades that other couples requested for the most ridiculous reasons. I'm sure that certain people moved just to out do others.
Thankfully I hadn't paid a premium to upgrade, if I had, I think that I would have been far from pleased if every Tom, Dick and Harry had been upgraded without paying the additional expense.
It got to a stage where I was beginning to feel "hard done by" just because I hadn't requested an upgrade. Main reason, being it was just too hot and the thought of packing to move less than 10 yards for a room with an outdoor v small jacuzzi or another / bigger window etc etc , seemed far more hassle than it was worth.
It would be interesting to discover whether the young couple who were located in the angular room sucumbed to the "upgrade" peer pressure following our departure??
Overall as said a good holiday, but with a few tweaks could have been great. Hotel management must get a grip of the upgrade whingers.....totally ridiculous and not sustainable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bennetti6385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

You have heard it all before, great location (off the beach front), lovely staff, fantastic rooms, quiet pool area and bar. WONDERFUL

It is not the place for children, although their were a few around when we were there, but the are no kids clubs etc; but an excellent selection of books!

The only down side is the internet connections are slow, but that is a problem across the island

if you are planning on walking up the volcano, on one of the trips, make sure you have old dirty trainers, if you don't it can be hard work

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGRHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Recently returned from our stay at the Taramix and had a weonderful stay. The hotel is impeccably clean and well looked after, the breakfast is exceptional and the rooms offer enought to make the stay very special.

We had room 301 above the bar and enjoyed a balcony hot tub and two balconies offering plenty of space to enjoy the evenings.

We travelled with two young children (3 and 1) and had concerns over whether the hotel was suitable, it worked out very well as staff were amazing with our children and the close proximity of the rooms from the pool area and beach made it easy for the kids to go and have naps etc.

The greatest thing about this place is the staff, who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

Well worth a visit.

Only downside..... the gym.... it isnt a gym :(

Room Tip: Room 301 was very nice, close to the pool and above the bar - which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesdawson_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Clean, tidy hotel. Great breakfast. Great price. Spacious rooms; step outside for the pool and walk all of 30 paces for breakfast. Lovely warm staff. Loved the place. Just for info People of Kamira are very very friendy and not so pushy as the more commercialised locations in Santorini. A good base to see the island from.

Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff, thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietonesaretheworst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#4 of 75 in Kamari
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#12 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £133 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing