We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful hotel near everything! Family Friendly.”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in August with our ten year old daughter and this place did not disappoint! The hotel was very clean and had very friendly helpful staff. The location of this hotel was perfect as the beach was in walking distant and the restaurants nearby were amazing.
I would recommend Irini's on the Beach front and Alexander's also they are a must!
The beds was comfortable and the air conditioning an added necessity! The breakfast's were very pleasant with lots of choice and the bar menu was surprising nice also as we're the cocktails!
This place is well worth the money and the location was brilliant. We rang up and got a better deal than the ones on the Internet so something to consider before booking online,
I would recommend a visit and will probably be going back! Do take the half day boat trip to the volcanos and the chance to swim in the hot springs is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicWest66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Everything you would want in a tourist resort hotel from quality rooms, service, friendliness, helpfulness, room service etc.

Spacious rooms with self catering services if you require and a supermarket right next door with everything you may need.

Breakfast is reasonably comprehensive and in a nice setting catering for a range of hot food.

One minute walk from the beach (black shingle sand) and the main tourist stretch.

Massive tip for you guys that are there with your loved one - and you won't forget this. Check out if there is a full moon during your visit. Take your loved one to Sunshine Pasta Fresca and get a table next to the beach (probably need to arrange the day before). Enjoy the best food in Kamari whilst you watch the moon reflecting onto the see right at you. A lifetime memory.

You must also see the spectacular sunset on the north of the island.

Book your holiday by the phases of the moon - the sun sets every day.

In conclusion, a superb holiday break and memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My son was getting married in Santorini so we along with my sister & her husbansd stayed at the Tamarix for 1 week.
We were not disapointed with our choice, from the reception staff to the cleaners everyone was extreemly helpful & friendly. We also had other family members in other holels on the island including our grandaughter, and we did not experience any problems with them coming into our hotel to see us, in fact our 3yr old grandaughter spent the day with us around the pool. The hotel is kept spotless clean, the rooms were throughly cleaned every day even the bed linen was changed daily, the breakfasts are self service, a good choice of hot & continental, something for everyone, I would not hesitate to recomend the Tamarix just wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

As you see from the other reviews a very nice hotel, every room is different.

We did change rooms the day we arrived to 211 which has a huge balcony which gets the sun all day ideal for my other half and it had the upstairs for our 14 year old it also has an outdoor jacuzzi upstairs too. Staff very helpful and nice and the location is great.

A very good hotel.

First week it was really peaceful, the second week much less so, the pool isn't very big but it works for older kids and adults, much less so for the 5-12 year olds who want to play not there is just not enough space.

Big change in clientele towards the end of our holiday and I would have changed hotels had we not been going home, first time we have every had to ask the neighbors to be quiet!

Super hotel but too small for kids and groups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just got back from a week at this small but comfortable hotel. We booked a luxury maisonette to accommodate our 2 adults + 2 teenagers family. The rooms are fairly good, beds comfy, maid service good, bed sheets appeared crunchy though, bathroom basic. The breakfast was pleasant, friendly staff but we were left to do it all ourselves. The main issue we had with the hotel was the rather rude afternoon lady on reception. She was always on the phone and when we wanted to ask anything she would say "I am talking to my clients" and then preceeded to ignore us! The food at the bar was good prices for both food and drink very reasonable. Unfortunately although the hotel information lists the bar hours from 12noon to midnight the lovely bar assistant (there is only 1) goes on a break from 4pm -8pm! Which is not great if you want anything between those hours! We would then go to the reception area find that our not so favourite reception lady would be unwilling to serve us a drink as she was always on the phone to her clients and then we would scuttle off to the supermarket to buy our drinks! We had (a long with the other family we were travelling with) a few moments where she made us feel that she was paying us to stay there! It's not a hotel in my opinion more like a cluster of self catering apartments with a pool. Other negatives were our friends air conditioning was temperamental, we ran out of loo roll!!!!!, a light was broken in our room, towels for the pool/beach were always running out. Oh and back to the afternoon receptionist ... Thursday we ask please can we book a car for Saturday back to the airport..."please come back tomorrow", Friday we ask the same..."please come back tomorrow"... Saturday the morning lady on reception obliges....!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Looks a bit foreboding on initial sight from the street, but once inside it's like a little oasis. The suites are well designed, cleaned daily and all amenities worked. The hotel staff were very friendly, and Sophie (Poolside Bar), was most helpful. Pools were kept clean, with a nice sunbathing area around them. Short (5 mins) walk to the beach and restaurants.
All in all a fantastic weeks break, only slightly spoilt by the hot temperatures!!!

Room Tip: We had room 103, straight out to pool n bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesDownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Tamarix in July this year. I have only good things to say - the pool area is lovely, the room was spacious, with good aircon. The breakfast was good and the staff were wonderful. So friendly and helpful, always smiling. We asked for an upgrade, but as the hotel was full, we were offered to stay 4 nights at the Avianto Suites in Imerovigli. We accecpted the offer, and we didn't regret it. The views were just spectacular and it was nice to see both sides of the island. I would be happy to come back to the Tamarix and its relaxed atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissel Baade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
2.7 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
143 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#12 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £130 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing