We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, but .....”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, but .....”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Tamarix is a 24 room hotel set just a short distance from the beachfront at Kamari. Each room is in fact a suite with varying levels of amenities. Some have terraces, some balconies & some have outdoor jaccuzis with the suite. We drove from the airport in a hired vehicle & the hotel underground garage was a real plus point as the vehicle was generally cool when we wanted to use it. Our suite had 2 settees,a small well fitted kitchenette, bedroom area & bathroom with whirlpool bath ( sadly in need of a little tlc). The cleaning standards were very good. Breakfast was adequate for the size of property with the normal selection of cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt etc together with salads, a hot selection & some cakes & breads.We were there for 2 weeks & the first week was never a problem with the pool & sunbeds but during our second week the availability of sunbeds became an issue primarily due to one extended family group who seemed to think that their holiday enjoyment superseded everyone elses - always a possibility !. In itself it would not put me off. The reception staff were helpful & friendly throughout our stay as was George the barman who deserves a special mention for his calm temperament when faced with more than a few orders at the same time. The only downside to the hotel is the lack of transparency which emerges from the room changing which happens all too frequently. Guests are it seems commonly offerred the opportunity to spend 1, 2 or 3 days at an alternative hotel or villas. This is "sold" to guests as being a gift or alternative so that you see more of the island - perhaps views over the caldera etc. It would seem that a consortia of properties are involved in this. It may simply be a marketing idea to upsell other properties if you were to return to Santorini but it doesn't work well at this time. We had a two day break elsewhere but were faced with the possibility of additional costs if we wanted more than a simple continental breakfast. We were also charged 17 Euros for our "Welcome Drinks" at the other hotel even though we were kept waiting for over 2 hours for the room to be cleaned ! There is no guarantee of having your original room back upon return but we did insist. This can cause friction in a small hotel as others have moved in to your room & are told to vacate which would be annoying to say the least. When we book a holiday with certain criteria we want to enjoy what we have paid for - it is nice to have a break but not to have to pay agai for what the Tamarix provide as standard.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a jaccuzi outside - it saves hassle around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorba100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
On behalf of our staff would like to thank you for choosing Tamarix del Mar suites during your stay in santorini and for taking the time for sharing with us such a detailed review.
The hotel team and myself would like to thank you again and will be more than happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    57
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
93
244
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Have just returned. What a fantastic holiday, everything was just so easy. Hotel was 10 minutes from the airport. On arrival we were upgraded to a maisonette for two days, not entirely sure if that was due to overbooking of the junior suite we had booked as we did see that pattern emerging throughout the week. However, the junior suite was beautiful when we moved on and the champagne was much appreciated for "the inconvenience." The elite little complex was very clean, bedding and towels changed daily, the chambermaids worked so hard, a lovely self service breakfast was offered in air con dining room or sunshine. Every member of staff was helpful and courteous and polite. The location of the hotel is 3 doors from the supermarket, perfect to stock up the fridge in the room with provisions if you wished, the hotel was happy to provide ice bucket and champagne glasses for the fizz purchased from the shops!! There are numerous tavernas near by all politely inviting you in and anxious to please. The whole Santorini experience was so easy and pleasurable-will definitely return and not hesitate to recommend the Tamarix del Mare to anyone. Oh just thought, need softer pillows and forget the spa!! None of the former would deter my return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind words and let you know that we are always happy to do our best for our guests so as to make their stay memorable.
Thank you once again and we hope that will have the chance to welcome you again here in Tamarix del Mar suites.
All the staff of Tamarix sends you best wishes and many greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here for seven nights. Our suite had everything we needed for our stay. A small kitchen and huge bed.
The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly.
It is just a five minute walk to the main drag with lots of restaurants and bars.
We hired a car for two days where we saw the island.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet getaway. We went over when it was the UKs half term and there were only a few small children around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your review as well as your appreciative comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, hospitality, as well as our breakfast. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit in Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girvan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed in the tamarix for two weeks 14th till 28th May was not disappointed in any way.The hotel was just perfect, rooms so comfortable and clean, breakfast had everything that you needed from cereal,fresh cooked eggs and bacon etc to fresh fruit and pastries and served from 8 oclock until 11 so if you fancy a long lie its not a problem you won't starve.Was asked if we would like to go to another hotel at the other side of the island for a few days free of charge and we said yes and we were not disappointed we had a deluxe villa with private pool and champagne breakfast for three nights and we cannot thank them enough,we were even taken there and picked up at no cost.The hotel staff in the tamarix are amazing nothing is to much bother for them,thank you to the staff in the bar,reception and the girls that cleaned our room.If you want to hire a car to see the island go next door to the hotel where you can hire one at a very reasonable price we had a smart car for 2 days and it only cost 80 euros that includes excess,across the road is quad bikes which was good fun you can get them at 9am and don't have to take them back till 10.30pm all for 30 euros and you can drive round the island in one day .Had a wonderful holiday and would stay here in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
On behalf of our team would like to thank you for choosing Tamarix del Mar suites during your stay in santorini. It is appreciative comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. Once again we thank you for this review. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Tamarix del Mar suites!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

lovely chill out hotel ,staff are great,rooms are clean and comfy. everything you could wish for in a hotel.would have loved to have stayed longer.will go back .especially enjoyed our own hot tub on the balcony .well placed for shops , restaurants,beach and buses.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Tamarix del Mar suites. It was a real pleasure to read your comments and we are delighted that we were able to match your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Santorini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel staff were super friendly and efficient, we were welcomed with a free drink whilst the receptionist processed us and arranged for our cases to be delivered to the room.
The room was different to the usual 'holiday hotel' and was a pleasant change
Our room was cleaned with fresh linen/towels daily.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186349Martin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
First of all thank you for choosing Tamarix del Mar suites for your vacation in Santorini and for your time to write this review. We hope to have the pleasure to accommodating you again on a future visit in our island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed at the Tamerix for one week from 7 May - upgraded for free on arrival to superior suite with jaccuzzi on balcony (never happened to me before) AMAZING! Everything about this hotel was 5 star - staff were very friendly and helpful - everywhere was spotlessly clean - excellent breakfasts with lots of variety. Couldn't have asked for more - would give 10 stars across the board if I could!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS194948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We thank you so much for sharing with us, such a kind review and we are delighted that your experience during your stay at Tamarix del Mar suites was memorable. Our aim is to offer our valuable guests comfort and hospitality and we are glad that we passed on this warm “TAMARIX” feeling to during your stay with us at our Hotel. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
5.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
352 reviews
8.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
8.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#10 of 56 in Oia
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Property: Tamarix del Mar
Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#15 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing