We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to chill”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel which had many plus points. Most notably the staff who seemed to work and clean endlessly - so much so I almost felt guilty to be on holiday ! Some points that may be relevant. Pool is small. No real external view and not much breeze. Obviously you can fix this by walking out, but might be worth considering. Next door was a really nice local taverna, and on a Wednesday the hotel provided Greek tapas that was super tasty with free wine.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank palboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    57
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
85
236
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Michael my husband and myself were in the Tamarix 24th Sept - 8th October this year we had an absolutely wonderful holiday, we had our friends from home who were staying in different hotels with us for the first week and we made lots of new friends while we were there, lovely people from Dubai, Australia, New Zealand, Lincoln and Stoke On Trent.
The staff at The Tamarix are great George behind the bar, Geogia and Christina on reception, Mimosa who did us wonderful pancakes to order for breakfast and all the others who made our stay there memorable. We will be back as soon as possible. Loved It.
Carol and Michael Key. UK

Room Tip: Cannot choose because all the rooms are different and really lovely. Everyone's a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarnerWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I travel to Santorini every other year and have stayed in various hotes each time. After our stay at the Tamarix del Mar we plan to make this our regular home away from home. The staff and accomodations are top drawer and because it has fewer rooms each guest gets treated with extra special care. We stayed in a Suite but looked at the Jr. Suites and found them just as nice. Next September we will try one out. The poolside bar also serves lunch snacks/food and the atmosphere in and outside is relaxed and inviting. Breakfast is the best I have had on the island and it is served from 0830-1130 so no rush getting up. - Big G

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Fabulous luxury hotel maintaining rustic greek charm. Spotlessly clean, everything cleaned and wiped down daily. Staff friendly and helpful but unpretentious and unobtrusive, in other words, they didn't fawn over you but were around if you needed anything, working away in the background keeping everything running smoothly which made for a very relaxing holiday atmosphere. Breakfast was lovely, choice of cooked or more continental, all items replenished straight away and the most civilised time for breakfast I've ever encountered - served until 11:30am! Great when you want to enjoy a lie-in and not be slave to the alarm....No problem with sunbeds or lack of and towels are provided. We got married whilst in Santorini and chose this hotel as it was just the two of us travelling and was small and intimate and separate from our wedding venue and wedding plans. This was important to us as we wanted mimimal fuss and stress. This was exactly what we got, in fact hubby was still relaxing on a sun longer by the pool 2 hrs before our wedding planner collected us! When we returned from the wedding celebration, the hotel had put candles in lanterns on the steps up to our terrace and sent a bucket of champagne to our room with their good wishes - lovely! Hotel is very well placed on a street leading down to the beachfront. There are so many bars and tavernas to choose from and everyone is sooooo friendly - yes they want your custom, but they are genuinely lovely with it. I don't think you could go wrong wherever you eat, but our favourites were Alexanders (first side street on the left as you turn left out of the hotel) for the great food, live greek music and atmosphere, Prince on the seafront (great food, lovely rose wine and moonlit sea views) and Peros (first restaurant on the left as you leave the hotel and head down the street) for the super friendly staff. We enjoyed trips to Fira, Oia and did a volcano trip and sunset cruise, but I would personally not stay anywhere else on the island. Kamari is a laid back resort, extremely good value for money (we came home with half our spending money!) and this is probably THE most relaxing place I've ever stayed. The bus stops just down the street and buses are every twenty minutes to Fira and run late into the night so if you fancy an evening out in Fira or Oia, it's easy. We will definitely be back, perhaps for an anniversary, hint hint...!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ventnor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We returned yesterday from a week at the Tamerix Del Mar, upon arrival we were taken to the bar and given a welcome drink while we completed our registration form, the hotel is spotlessly clean, our poolside junior suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable with fresh bedding and towels daily. The breakfasts are excellent and the made to order pancakes are amazing. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is excellent just steps away from some great resturants and just a few more to the beach.
Overall the Tamerix del Mar is a beautiful hotel that we can't wait to return too

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevreb511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September. We got married while here and wanted to stay somewhere different than the rest of our guests. This was the perfect place - a beautiful and spacious apartment, a lovely pool area, a nice breakfast, limited numbers of guests as it's a small place so you get a lot of privacy, great staff - especially George the barman!

They allowed us to bring all our guests into the resort to the bar (14 people) and we used this as our meet-up point a number of times. The reception staff were always very welcoming - and they assisted my father-in-law (who is in a wheelchair) when he visited. After our wedding, we came home to a bottle of wine in our room as a gift!

The only one criticism if I was looking for something would be that there is not very much clothes hanging space or drawers for your clothes - nor a place to put your suitcases out of the way - but it's a tiny point as everything else was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We took a one (only) week holiday a couple of weeks back and it was just perfect. It's quite a small hotel with just 25 rooms which is what we wanted. Our "room" was upgraded on arrival to a two storey apartment with a great view. The staff were great but I must commend "George" who ran the bar but also seemed the "go to" guy for everything else too. He worked so hard but was always there to mix a rare cocktail or two. The housekeeping staff were brilliant as was the front desk and the breakfast team. What was also nice was that the other guests were pleasant, not just my fellow Brits but the other Europeans too. The location was excellent, near but not on the beach and surrounded by really good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceedubya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.9 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Property: Tamarix del Mar
Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#15 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing