We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Hotel Makarios”
Review of Hotel Makarios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Makarios
Ranked #55 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Salford, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Hotel Makarios”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a week at the hotel Makarios and I'm extremely puzzled when reading past negative reviews. We had nothing but a positive experience. Hotel is absolutely spotless, rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels left. Pool area is lovely and relaxing with plenty of sun loungers.

The all-inclusive is limited but surely you know that on booking. We had absolutely no complaints about the food. It was delicious with lots of traditional Greek food both at lunchtime and dinner. And the staff were all lovely - I usually find that being polite and courteous yourself means that the person you're conversing with acts in the same manner! It costs nothing to say please and thank you ;0)

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Kamari and is a 10 min walk into the centre. This might not suit everyone (especially anyone with limited mobility) but wasn't a problem for us, we actually enjoyed the walk after dinner.

Bus to Fira stops right outside the hotel and costs €1.60. I'd 100% recommend the outdoor cinema and also the boat trip to Thiarissa and Oia! Oh and pop into the Albatross Bar for a cocktail - it's beautiful and again the staff are fab!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    71
    47
    29
    24
See reviews for
35
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After reading a lot of the negative reviews, we wondered what we had let ourselves in for. We were the only English couple in the hotel at the time (end of September) there were lots of Scandinavians and everyone got on very well. No rushing to get your towels on the beds, there were plenty of sun loungers around a very pleasant, well sized pool. I requested a bedroom overlooking the pool and got just that. We were told, on arrival, we had been given the best room and I really think we had. Our PRIVATE balcony overlooked the pool, getting the sun all day and we had a side window overlooking the sea in the distance. The room was a good size, it was light and airy and exceptionally clean. Bathroom a good size but the shower a small cubicle, but, this is Greece. (Room 324)

All the staff were lovely, they couldn't do enough for you, except the grumpy pool bar-tender. He was quite ignorant at times, pretending he hadn't seen you waiting to be served. There is a bell on the bar, so if he pretends not to see you, at least he will hear you.

Food very basic for breakfast. Lunch and dinner were mainly Greek style and the chef tried his best. I am a veggie and found that a lot of the time the vegetables and potatoes were mixed in with the meat so struggled a bit and when the potatoes were seperate, in a type of sauce, they were rock hard everytime, I think this must be the way they eat them. Hubby enjoyed his meals but found the meat cooked nicely but of a poor quality, hence lots of fat and grissle. When they knew I was a veggie they brought out huge pizzas and omlettes with all kinds of vegatable in and even sneaked the odd baked potato for me. It was surprising how many non-veggies enjoyed the veggie meals. Soup, at lunchtime, was very watery. The bread was really fresh and the salad bar great. Sweet courses were either fruit or maybe a mousse. However between meal-times you were able to get a cheese toastie and help yourself to icecream at the pool bar.

Yes all-inclusive drinks were basic, served between 10am and 10pm. Beer, wine, ouzo or raki but enjoyable. The fresh orange juice etc. for breakfast was definately watered down, infact it was coloured water with no taste.

I really enjoyed my holiday here at the Makarios with really great staff but it is on the ouskirts of Kamari, probably, ten minutes to the beach and twenty minutes to the centre of Kamari.

You must visit: Ancient Thira and then walk down to Perissa.
Thira
Volcano trip
la (my favourite)

Buses are very cheap, it may be better to walk into Kamari to catch it so you stand a better chance of getting a seat. Don't forget, only the english form a queue, so it's a bit of a free-for-all and not first there, first on.

ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a private balcony, preferably facing the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 48Yorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great value. Only 10 minute walk into Kamari. All the staff were friendly. Bus stops directly outside the hotel. Only 5 minutes from the airport. Great food and varied choice. Great relaxing holiday. Would stay there again. I. Bezer

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globetrottersweare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we visit makarios hotel in august for a week with my boyfriend.our room was very nice and clean every day.the food was really good had many choices and every day was samething diferent and above all most were traditionally from santorini.the pool area was great and very big , we had from the bar to dring beer wine refreshments coffe and also ice cream and snacks.the staff was friendly and helpful.if you want to go somewhere the bustation its next to hotel. we spend our money very goog for this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vagnharad, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The reception staff were very very helpful and nice, they could arrange anything you wanted. FIVE stars to them. The staff outside of the reception and cleaning staff looked like they hated having guests at the hotel and didn't restrain from shouting at us unprovoked in greek.

We were 50 people that stayed a week at Makarios. The all-inclusive were not ALL inclusive and had very limited choices compared to other places I have been. All the drinks were watered down and at times the bartender looked angry when you ordered. The food was ok but they didn't hurry up about bringing out more food when something ran out. The pool and pool area has so many rules that you'd be better off not going anywhere near it.

The hotel is old but clean the rooms are average but some of the rooms have showers that even normal-sized people can't fit in to.

Room Tip: You don't want a room facing the airport. If you have a room on the side facing away from the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed at Makarios Hotel in August for a week. I really don t understand some of the critics here.
I had a large room, exactly as the one in the pictures, on the ground floor, looking at the garden. The room was kept extremelly clean, the staff was friendly and helpfull, the food was of good quality and plenty. At list 4 sorts of different dishes were served every day. One with fish, one with meat, a vegetarian dish and a pasta combination on a daily basis and different for lunch and for dinner. On top of that a salads buffe, and some side dishes. Top quality on everything.
The pool area was big, with plenty of sunchairs.
I am Greek and traveled all over my country and most major cities in the world due to my jobb. I must say I was quite impressed by Makarios Hotel and I don t understand what people are complaining about. It is a 3 stars hotel, with an at list 4 stars standard. Although aprox 70 rooms, they manage to keep the family character of it, they make guests to feel welcomed, they provide them top service and it is super clean.
Yes, it is not the Hilton, they never claimed it is and nobody has payed the prices for the Hilton either. What do they expect to find more?
For me, as a tourist, it was the perfect choise and the most well spended money on the island.
I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we visited that hotel with another couple in August. Luckily for us, this was one of the rare hotels in Santorini that had electricity, since the day we left the previous hotel the electricity in all Santorini went off. We felt really lucky. Our room was very clean with a nice bathroom. However our balcony was so tiny and the neighbors' balcony was so close to ours so we could not sit outside. We didn't have internet connection in our room so we had to go to the lobby to check our mail. As for the service, I found it excellent. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a huge pool with a wonderful terrace around it. It was really romantic at night since it's all lit. One positive point about this hotel is that it has a large space in front of it to park the ATVs and cars, unlike other hotels. It is really close to the Kamari Beach and market place. We enjoyed staying at this hotel and we highly recommend it for anyone visiting Kamari, though Fira is the the best region in Santorini.

Room Tip: choose a well- lit room with a big balcony, and with a good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivari
Hotel Rivari
#40 of 75 in Kamari
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#56 of 75 in Kamari
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makarios

Property: Hotel Makarios
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Makarios 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing the east and hardly 150 meters from the sea at the village Kamari, hotel Makarios welcomes you with all the modern comforts. Enjoy moments of relaxation drinking cocktails in our comfortable swimming-pool or Jacuzzi and have fun playing tennis or Ping-Pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Makarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarios Hotel Kamari
Hotel Makarios Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing