We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and excellent hotel”
Review of Avra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avra Hotel
Ranked #52 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel surpassed all our expectations of a 2/3 star hotel, it is very much a typically Greek hotel and is family run. It was very clean, the rooms were nice and (as mentioned in many other reviews) Manolis, on reception, could not have done more to help. The hotel is in a great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and approx 5 minutes walk to the bus stop which will take you all over the island. It is a peace full hotel while still being close to all the bars and restaurants. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast, some people have made comments about the breakfast on previous reviews but in such hotels a continental breakfast is to be expected. We cannot thank Manolis at the Avra enough for his hospitality he really does make the hotel a wonderful place to stay and we will be returning.

Kamari is a great resort, I would suggest it is the best place to stay in Santorini. Perissa was somewhat quiet and Fira on the other hand was very busy but both very much worth a visit. Kamari has many wonderful restaurants and bars but don’t expect there to be any bars you would see in Zante. It is very easy to get around the island by bus as it is only 1.60euro to Fira.

You have to see the sunset in three different places; Oia where the streets and even roofs are lined with people, Santo Winery which is worth booking a table before hand and by boat. We did a boat trip to the Caldera, hot springs, Thirassia and to see the sunset. There is not much in Thirassia but it is a beautiful place, take plenty of water if you walk up the Caldera and the hot springs is a must!!

Many people get round the island on a quad bike, these do struggle up the hills. Instead we rented a Suzuki Jimny and this was perfect for getting round I would really recommend it

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited, do NOT forget your camera!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    74
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Everything is great with this hotel. The location is perfect, 100 metres from the beach, and 3 blocks from the bus station to go to the center, however, you have great restaurants and bars in Kamari. The staff is really nice, attentive, the pool is big enough, and the rooms excellent.. Recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Avra is the perfect hotel for a beach and sight-seeing holiday. Hotel is a very short walk to the best beach on Santorini. Bus stop also close so you can get to other cities. I traveled alone and accomodations were perfect for the price. It does not claim to be a 5star luxury hotel, but that is not what you want in the Greek islands anyway. However, the staff is what i am used to at a 5star big city Hotel chain. Manolis who works the front desk, could be a concierge at any of the finest hotels of the world. He went above and beyond helping me during my stay. It was like staying with friends. While waiting for my transfer to ferry in their lobby, some of the staff asked me to join them for a snack. They shared their own food with me. Tell me what hotel that happens at? Thanks again to Manolis!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcBaschetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

July 31 - 14 Aug 2012
Our second visit to this smashing little hotel. As on our previous visit the hotel room and public areas were kept spotlessly clean and the pool area cleaned daily. A typical greek breakfast of honey, cheese, bread etc. is provided. Manolis on reception is always welcoming and the other staff although speaking little english were always ready with a smile. Situated at the northern end of Kamari`s long seafront it is close enough to the action but far enough for a quiet night. There is some aircraft noise being close to the airport, but stay anywhere in the resort of Kamari and you will experience this noise. If we return again to Santorini we will definately stay at the AVRA

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool with good views of the mountains and hilltop villages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankCardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

One word to describe to this hotel is excellent... and of course,Manolis,Irini and Anna, very nice and hospitable people who work at this hotel, clean room,nice view,walking distance to the restos,bar and the beach,we are looking forward again to come back at this hotel and bring my friends now!Thank you Manolis and the rest of you guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300Alexis_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

thanks very much to manolis and irini for everything in Hotel Avra
We feel there like in our home...location is very near to the beach,2 min walking and everything you need is there-restorants,magazins....
We want to go in HOTEL AVRA again and again
many thanks
Sercan & Maja

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sercan_Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Lovely clean hotel with spacious rooms. Manolis and, Irini, and all staff could not do enough for us to make this a great holiday. We stayed there for our 50th wedding anniversary and had a super holiday. It is close to the beach shops and restaurants. this is the second time we have been to this hotel and would definitly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#37 of 75 in Kamari
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#65 of 75 in Kamari
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#61 of 75 in Kamari
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Levante Beach Hotel
Levante Beach Hotel
#51 of 75 in Kamari
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#44 of 75 in Kamari
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Hotel

Property: Avra Hotel
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Hotel Kamari
Avra Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing