We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family run hotel”
Review of Avra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avra Hotel
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 23 June 2013

2 week stay for a family wedding was made quite magical by our time at the Avra hotel.Staff were very friendly and helpful,nice pool,comfy clean room and we fell in love with Kamari. The staff kindly decorated the hotel for the wedding day and everyone we chatted to as we lazed round the pool agreed it was a superb hotel. Back in the UK now and wish we were back there!

Room Tip: Fab gardens,tended by owner,garden view good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Have just come back from a week in the Avra hotel, had a lovely balcony, sea view one way and the little villages and small mountain the other way. breakfast area was lovely although breakfast not very exciting. The receptionist Spiradoula was lovely, there was nothing she wouldnt help you with. Would love to come back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CARRIESMITH1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at this pleasant hotel. Our room was dated & basic but pretty much what we expected for what we paid. The air con (not brilliant) & fridge were free. Safe 1euro per day. Location perfect. Just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants etc.
Special thanks to Spiridoula, the receptionist at the hotel who went out of her way to sort us out with a late check out room. A lovely lady & a great assett to the hotel.
My only minor niggle with Kamari is that it now has a karaoke bar! which of course attracts 'Brits abroad'. It wasn't there when we were last in Kamari & I just hope this isn't the start of a decline in beautiful Kamari.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianne_lewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Avra Hotel was delightful. It was more than we expected. I counted my footsteps to the beach and it was only 210 footsteps away! The breakfast area was lovely-choice of seating inside or outside overlooking the immaculate gardens and beautifully clean pool. The breakfast we felt was a little boring and predictable but adequate. We had a spacious bedroom with a lovely big balcony with a nice view with the unexpected added view of the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Spiridoula who was very knowledgeable about the local area and Santorini in general. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 23 has a really big balcony with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just spent a week at the Avra Hotel in Kamari, Santorini and loved every minute of it! From the initial greeting to our last hours by the pool waiting for our coach, its been really the best Santorini has to offer.
Our host, Spiridoula, couldn't be more helpful if she tried - she truly was life an sole of the place!
She sorted trips, car hire and even quad bikes for us and all at the drop of a hat.
The rooms were immaculate, with free AC included in the room and even a TV!!
The rest of the staff were cheerful and always wished us Good Morning when we saw them.
The pool was lovely, clean and warm with plenty of room around the pool for sunbathing.
We have already booked for next year, and probably would do again the following year too!
We have been to many Greek islands but this has to be one of the best times we've had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IseEZoiMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Friends (from Sweden) stay here right now and I went to see the hotel and room. Thay had booked a one-room apartment and ended up staying in a huge two-room apartment by themself. Everything is very fresh and new painted, new equipment in the kitchen and VERY clean. They clean and change towels every day and sheets every 3 days. The lady and man in the reception don't speek a lot of English but understand more and one can have a conversation with gestures without problems.

The garden area and pool is fantastic!

Overall a very good choice for those who want to be away from the mess in central Kamari but still be close enough. Another plus is the rates which are much better for more central hotels in Kamari which are actually not as good as Avra Hotel!

Ingela

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Lovely small hotel with relaxed atmosphere among the grape vines and beautiful gardens. All staff were friendly and helpful especially Spiridoula on reception. The pool area, room and reception area were spotlessly clean and the breakfast, which could be taken inside or on the outside veranda good. The location was quiet but only a very short distance from the beach and numerous tavernas on the beach front.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#17 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £57 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Avra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Hotel Kamari
Avra Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing