We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments: Recommended for a more practical choice on Santorini”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Sand Hotel Apartments
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
third rock
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Apartments: Recommended for a more practical choice on Santorini”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Note: this is about the apartment complex. The hotel building is on another location and i have not tried it.
Good: Location 60m from Kamari beach and closeby shops, but still silent in the night and good view on the hillside. Clean apartment, good aircos, great swimming pool and nice small pool bar with some food to order as well. A bbq evening is organized once a week or so; definitely worth it. There was live music, we had some dance etc. Service is good, people are nice helpful and discrete.Safety ok(just a feeling... haven't tested it). During reservation Mantha was helpful and very responsive, with very good english.
Bad: Well nothing too serious. Though we would have preferred a double bed instead of two single ones tie-wrapped together(!) (we were promised to get one during reservation, but it didn't work out partly due to other guests' flight schedule messup). On Santorini it is pretty stupid that a couple has to fight for a double bed, i'd say.
TV was quite useless (but who needs one in that place:) ). Kitchen was rather limited and spartan; but sufficient for no fancy cooking. Salt sugar oil or other consumables are not included so count on buying some in the nearby shops.

The "flat" side of Santorini is very nice for beach, restaurants, drinks and much more affordable than Thira or Oia. Bus connection to Thira is excellent (each 30 mins, takes 15 mins and costs below 2 euro). I recommend staying in Kamari instead of the caldera side unless you happen to be a lottery winner.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Csabatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Arrived at Black Sands Appartments to a very confusing greeting from the lady on reception. It finally transpired that we were not staying here but were being moved to the Sellada Appartments about 100 metres up the road. She seemed to be saying that the Hotel Group ' Black Sands' owned the other hotel as well - and it was part of their group.
We really did not get to the bottom of this as we were not convinced that we had not been 'bumped' to another hotel because they had overbooked.
Apart from that the owners were very accommodating as they also owned the Oxygen bar on the front as well as the sunbeds on the beach and we were entitled to 20% off sunbeds and 20% off purchases from the bar.
The Sellada was OK and we were fairly happy with the accomodation but the kitchen and bathrooms were looking a little tired and the satellite TV was virtually unwatchable. The pool area was fairly small and not a patch on the Black Sands proper. We were told that this hotel was for couples only as the Black Sands pool was more suitable for children, however, after the first week a family arrived with several small children who were constantly using the pool !
Be aware if you book a room with the ' Black Sands ' all might not be as it seems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel overbooks and then doesn't have rooms and we had to go to another hotel. don't be sure you'll get this hotel if you're booking!!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

just returned from a fabulous week in Santorini,the owners,Mantha and Stephonos are the most hospitable couple you could wish to meet,Strephonos met us at the airport and took us to the apartments (at no extra cost).Mantha was waitng at the gate for us,she personally took us to our apartment,which was light and airy,decorated in traditional greek style,we had two balconies over looking the pool,very pretty with all the flowers and palm plants.The apartments are only a few minutes from the beach and restaurants,your hosts will provide you with any information you require,best restaurants,nearest supermarket,bus stop etc,nothing is to much trouble for them,there only aim is that you have a great holiday.we would definately return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a wonderful time here. The apartment and pool area was ideal, a fantastic location and the owners were the nicest, most helpful couple who will go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely stay. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StinaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This year my daughter and I stayed at Black Sand Apartments for the 10 th year (which means we are very satisfied!) and for the first time we also stayed a few days at the Black Sand Beach Hotel.
Staying in the Apartmentbuilding is really relaxing and the staff (Mantha and Stephanos) are more than friendly and helpful.
Our stay at the BeachHotel (which is a different building) was more budgetfriendly, but the room was nice and clean, had good sleep on the bed and the view (we choosed for the seaside) was superb. The nightlife entertertainment is better at the hotel, (on the beachboulevard) which is connected to Cafe-Bar Oxygen, where we also could have our meals. More sounds of music than at the Apartments, but not a problem.
We think the Hotelbuilding is the best place to be for younger people like my daughter , while the Apartments suits better for a family with children or people who wants to have a very quiet holiday. Next year again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We have just returned home from a fantastic holiday at the Blacksand appartments and we have already booked with Stephanos the owner for next year and we cant wait to go back again for 3 weeks. if you are looking for a trully relaxing holiday then this is the place for you.

Stephanos and the Staff go out of there way to make sure you have a great holiday nothing is to much trouble for them.

the Appartments are clean & comfortable their is a gorgous pool/jacquzi a well stocked pool bar which also serves snacks Sun beds plus towels and is only a couple of minutes walk to the sea front in which they are plenty of places to dine as well as bars.

Santorini is a trully magical place to visit and staying at the Blacksands Appartments just makes it that more special.

  • Liked — Clean and Comfertable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ladymed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
86.1 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
86.4 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.1 mi away
Arion Bay Hotel
Arion Bay Hotel
#44 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
86.5 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
86.6 mi away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#54 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sand Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sand Hotel Apartments

Property: Black Sand Hotel Apartments
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#17 Family Hotel in Kamari
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Sand Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Sand Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Sand Kamari
Black Sand Hotel Apartments Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing