We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach-front strip, but outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, the location was great, right across the boardwalk from the beach. Upon entering our room, the stench from the bathroom made us have to request another room. The new room was also ocean view, less the smell - initially. The beds were old and stiff, and the room was tight. AC threw off a bad smell. No wifi in room, so we had to spend much time looking at destinations and emailing down by their main office. I had to work while on vacation, so spent much time down there. A couple days on, apparently the wind shifted, as a crazy horrible smell came from our bathroom again, from the sewer pipes. the owner said that was normal, and nothing we could do about it. so we had to bare the next 2 days in an awful smelling room. Breakfast was typical, but i was very jealous of the next hotel over with a much nicer spread. The bathroom was kind of gross, as the whole thing got soaked when taking a shower, which made it feel even worse. Another horrible point is we were there for 4 days, and they never changed our sheets! The only soap in the room for shampoo, body, or anything, was a little pump soap on the sink. Overall, this is an inexpensive place for the budget traveler, but don't expect anything too nice and high quality here, beyond how nice the workers were. The owner was a super nice guy.

Room Tip: Great location, just don't expect too much in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikewerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a fabulous time staying at the Boathouse hotel. The rooms are lovely, clean and very comfortable. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is very conveniently located right on the beach. We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family. It was fabulous and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmieo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from Kamari where we stayed in the Boathouse studios. It was a great location, right on the beach, yards away from the many restaurants. The room was spacious and clean and the surrounding pool area lovely and quiet. Just what you want from a relaxing break. A BIG thank you to Maria (the owner) for ironing my husbands shirts! I have never known that before! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Kayla suites which also belongs to the Boathouse hotel. Maria, the owner was so sweet and made us feel so welcome. We had the best service. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the pool area was very beautiful. We had a view over the sea from our balcony and it was so beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

To set the scene, I've been to lots of Greek Islands over the past 20 odd years, and visited Santorini twice before, but I have to say that the Boathouse Studios are the BEST studios I've ever stayed at! New, clean, modern, spacious, quiet with the most amazing bathrooms! Staff very welcoming, walked us down from the main hotel building, chatting all the way.

Stayed with my best friend for a 4 day break. Studios have one double wrought iron bed and one single wrought iron bed, table & chairs (indoor and on the balcony), small kitchenette area with coffee maker and great bathroom with a proper shower cubicle (all inlaid with pebbled tiles - beautiful!) and FREE a/c and safe.

Got a bargain on Travel Republic's site and didn't expect it to be as excellent quality as it was. 2 mins from the beach and the main seafront promenade with it's wealth of restaurants, shops, cafes and bars. Yes, you are on the flight path as it's a 10 min transfer to the airport but with only a handful of flights each day it's more than bearable. 2 supermarkets within 1 min walk so perfect for a cold beer at any time!

The pool is perfect, not too big and no pool bar or noise - heaven! It honestly felt like your own little private villa complex once you shut the big wooden door to the grounds...would highly recommend! There are about 12 studios in the complex so it's nice and private. Go, you will LOVE it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelittle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Loved the Boathouse studios! Location: very convenient, 2 min walk to the beach and the main hotel building, same distance to the best (in our opinion) restaurants in Kamari: Almira and Ya Mas, where the guests get a 10% discount. 1 min walk to a small market just on the corner of the street, where you can buy all the necessities. I have to mention the wonderful service of sales personnel, they were all so friendly and kind, and as we were frequent customers, even gave us free souvenirs on the last day of our stay. Rooms: surprisingly spacious by any standards, very high ceilings, very pleasant decor, perfectly functional bathroom with great water pressure. The studio was spotlessly clean upon our arrival and was cleaned daily during our whole stay. The owners are very friendly and relaxed, and so is the lovely girl who works at the bar and reception. Studios have their own cozy inner yard with sunbeds and a small pool, but guests are also welcome to use the main pool at the hotel. Cocktails at the pool bar are cheap (all for 5 eur) and really good, watermelon mojito is fantastic! We have also used the airport transfer provided by the hotel, it was cheaper than a taxi and efficient. I'd definitely recommend staying at the Boathouse studios.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the second floor provide more privacy, the ones on the 1st floor are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Unpretentious, charming, spotlessly clean and very friendly. The Boathouse had all the requirements for the type of holiday we were looking for. Accommodation - we had a very nice, comfortable room with balcony and sea view. Location - choice of a lovely pool or step across the road to the beach. Close to restaurants, of which, we thought some of the best were located near the hotel with more attractive surroundings. Local bus service gave easy access to all parts of the island.
Assisted by lovely staff, Diane and Spyros were perfect hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely rate our stay at the Boathouse among the better holidays we have had over the years.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing sea view with balcony and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gogger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
471 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
822 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamari
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £51 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spectacularly beautiful island of Santorini, a major stop on many cruise ship tours, the Boathouse Hotel is a family run waterfront Hotel on Kamari Beach about a 5-minute walk from the center of Kamari and about a 15-minute bus ride from the main town of Thira. We offer Deluxe rooms with air - conditioning, telephone, safe-box, bathroom and balcony. Our rooms are spacious and have either Seaview or Mountain- view. An extensive Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 8am until 11am, Poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kamari
Boathouse Resort Kamari
Boathouse Hotel Santorini
Boathouse Santorini
The Boathouse Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing