We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

just back from our second stay at this wonderful hotel, Diane and Spyros their family and team make you feel so welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and breakfast is good too. We have booked to go back in 2014 but for longer this time.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are very good, but all are fine when all you do is sleep in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    78
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
99
192
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on our visit to Santorini. The location could not be better, right in front of the beach. The hotel is on the main seaside street with restaurants and shops and only a 5 min walk from the bus stop to Fira.

We got a first floor sea view room with a lovely balcony, which is in my opinion the best feature of the room. The room itself is simple but nice and always very clean, with a sofa, fridge, safe, air conditioner and hairdryer. The owners and the staff are friendly, they picked us up from the airport for free, which was very nice of them considering that we only booked the room one day before our arrival.

The breakfast is good and it is served by the pool and the pool bar. Wi-Fi is available for free but only close to the pool bar (not in the rooms). Planes fly over Kamari from time to time but we actually enjoyed this - not a negative aspect at all!

The only negative aspect in my opinion is the water heating system. There is a notice in the rooms explaining that due to the solar water heating system, there is more hot water flow between 10am and 8pm. The problem is that we sometimes wanted to have a shower outside these hours and the water was cold, which was not pleasant. I understand the shortage of resources in the island, but if the the water heating system at the Boathouse Hotel could be improved I would give it a 5 star rating!

In general I would recommend the Kamari area and the Boathouse Hotel to anyone visiting Santorini. It is easy to go to Fira or Oia for the day using the public bus system, and Kamari is a very good option for those who like the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Boathouse this year from May 1st to May 7th, which included Greek Easter. Spyros and Diane made us feel like part of their family for this special time of the year. Spyros explained the Greek Orthodox celebrations and invited to come along with his family for Good Friday, and Saturday night Easter Vigil services. Then on Easter Sunday they hosted a traditional Greek Easter dinner at Yamas Restaurant. It was beyond wonderful.

The rooms at the Boathouse are very clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is excellent, the pool refreshing. And the view from our 2nd floor room was right out to the beach out front. The Boathouse property is does not have anything to impede the views of the beach.

This is a property that you want to stay at. And the owners are wonderful, friendly people who make your holiday very special.

Thank you to Diane, Spyros and their staff for making us feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you choose the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel you will get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCNVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This quaint hotel is in a wonderful location. It is clean, well kept and beautiful. You will notice many people taking pictures of it as they pass. The hotel owners and family are excellent people who make you feel at home. They went out of there way to assist us during our 9 night stay. The hotel guest mingle with other and enjoy breakfast and evening gatherings together. This is a great place to meet other travelers. This was our second stay and certainly were more than satisfied. I would highly recommend the Boathouse. They also have studios around the corner that are beautiful with a lovely pool. Go ahead...join the Boathouse family. Like us - you will return. Jim and Susan

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are great......studio apts also are a wonderful opportunity with more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimLVNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The location of this friendly, family run hotel can't be beat! The rooms open directly out onto a lovely pool, backed by the black sand beach of the Mediterranean. The family that runs this hotel made it feel like home, and ensured that all our needs were taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArlyBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had the most relaxing and chilled holiday ever. Spiros and Diane are the most friendliest people you are ever likely to meet. From landing in Santorini, everythng was taken care of to ensure we were comfortable and relaxed. Picked up and taken to the airport FOC and Spiros even helped making our Son & Girlfriend comfortable - even though they were staying in a different hotel !!!

We booked direct with Diane and it was really good value for money. Our room was on the ground floor near the pool with a sea view. Room was comfortable and absolutely spotless. Was cleaned daily, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakast was nice and even though was the same every day, there was a very good variety, so you can vary what you have each morning. The home made jams (made by Spiros' mum are delicious). Diane helped us plan our excursions and Spiros more than looked after us at the bar.

Santorini is the most chilled and relaxing place with the most amazing views. We're already booking for 2013 and we'll be back to the Boathouse for sure. Thanks guys for a fantastic holiday. See you soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neo968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

super clean rooms , excellent and friendly service , nice location next to the sea and good prices. Next to the center of Kamari and pretty peaceful.
The drinks are large and cheap with a bubbly bar staff !
We also met many interesting people there that were returning guests..!
Thank you very much !
See you again!

Room Tip: I suggest the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.2 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#16 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Property: The Boathouse Hotel
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamari
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#11 Family Hotel in Kamari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spectacularly beautiful island of Santorini, a major stop on many cruise ship tours, the Boathouse Hotel is a family run waterfront Hotel on Kamari Beach about a 5-minute walk from the center of Kamari and about a 15-minute bus ride from the main town of Thira. We offer Deluxe rooms with air - conditioning, telephone, safe-box, bathroom and balcony. Our rooms are spacious and have either Seaview or Mountain- view. An extensive Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 8am until 11am, Poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kamari
Boathouse Resort Kamari
Boathouse Hotel Santorini
Boathouse Santorini
The Boathouse Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing