We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in Kamari, never been to Santorini before. We were actually staying at another hotel in the resort which was great, but came across this place from friends we met there. The owners and their wives made us very welcome, we had one or two evenings in their company. Our friends were full of praise for this place and it is easy to see why. They are so welcoming and warm, put on the most lovely food as a surprise party, gave us a lift back to our hotel for free at the end of the night! We would love to return to Kamari again and would recommend this place. The rooms looked spacious and clean at very reasonable prices,in a good location.
Santorini is beautiful, our time spent in the company of Gregory and Sideris is by far the best hospitality I have ever known. Amazing people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyharding134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    49
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
130
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What a wonderful holiday. We stayed for two weeks at the Sideris sunflower in May 2013.
Sideris, Gregory, George and their families were the most hospitable hosts ever.
Steve loved watched the Chelsea matches by the pool!
Thank you and see you again soon!

Room Tip: Back room facing mountain are quieter at night as away from road and pool bar, front rooms face pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherise_Osei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Firstly I wouldn't listen to reviews from the likes of SusieA60. I believe some people are just nuts and can ruin the reputation of hotels by complaining about trivial things.

We booked this via booking.com based on all the good reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Gregory & his brother Petros were very welcoming and friendly. We asked for the sea view room before arriving which was given to us no problem. The apartments are visited daily by the cleaners and the space was perfect for us. The bed was large and you could easily have another 2 adults or children next door next to the kitchen area, as there was a sofa bed.

The beach is a 5 min walk and having stayed in Kamari before, we will definitely be booking these apartments again. Great value for money and run by a very helpful pleasant family.

If you do book,be sure to contact Gregory direct to get a better rate and don't use 3rd party websites like we did.

Thank You. Euxaristw polu !

We will see you again soon

Kerr & Irina

Room Tip: ask for the front sea view top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Recently returned from a week at these lovely apartments. Rooms cleaned daily, great wet rooms for showers. We had a room overlooking the pool so it was lovely to wake up to the early sun and have a cup of tea on the balcony admiring the beautiful scenery. Rooms are cooler in the afternoon when the sun goes around the back. The pool gets the sun all day, ample sunbeds for all guests. The kitchen facilities are basic but fine for limited cooking. Loved the large fridge for keeping drinks cool. Nothing was too much to ask for. Extra pillows were provided instantly. Gregory and his family are so hospitable, we were offered a lift to a restaurant out of town for my husband's birthday. Apartments are within 5-10 minutes walk of all the towns restaurants and seafront. I highly recommend the Black Stone in the side street leading to the sea front, fantastic food and very hospitable. Only their second season but it is doing well. Nick the waiter has a wicked sense of humour. We didn't have a bad meal during our stay at any of the restaurants we tried. The restaurants along the sea front tend to be more expensive. Remember to take your licence and hire a quad bike. We had one for 2 days and it was perfect for getting to remote parts of the island. Roads were safe and takes approx. 40-50mins to get from one side of the island to the other. We shall be back to Santorini, a magical island and will definitely be staying with at Sideris again! Thank you Greg for a fantastic week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have the sun in the morning, rooms at the back face the gardens and mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sand51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The owner and his family are very welcoming and the apartments are in a great position for the beach and all the tavernas.
However, the apartments are in desperate need of TLC.
The pool area is lovely, but the beds are either uncomfortable or the cushions are basically tired and dirty. The pool bar service is very limited too.

In the apartment, the bathroom was adequate, but there is no shower curtain and the whole room floods each time you take a shower, so you paddle in the room while getting ready to go out.
The beds are very hard, and the pillows have seen better days, as have the blankets. I don't think ours were very clean.
In the kitchen area, the kettle didn't turn off automatically, so you could scald yourself easily. The cooking utensils and cutlery were very shoddy. There is a large fridge, which is great, but the two ring cooker was hopeless. There is only the minimum number of anything.

The room itself needed a good clean and was given cursory wipes around by the pretty maid. Lots of areas were left untouched.

If you want very basic holiday accommodation, go for it. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

counting down to our next holiday at siders apartments,,we have visited santorini for the last 15 years and stay at the siders every time.....fab apartments fab family...beautiful island...will be back on the 9th july 2013 for more of siders apartments hospitality...taking my daughter hubby and grandsons for their very 1st visit also coming with us are an other family on their 1st visit 11 of us in total...5 kids...fun in the sun...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymzs2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned once again from Sideris Sunflower Villas. Absolutely fabulous two weeks. Owners are so kind and helpful and make you feel so welcome. We will definitely be visiting again next year with my two daughters, son in law and granddaughter. The pool and site is so clean and beautiful and most guests return each year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oovavooWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#11 of 75 in Kamari
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#26 of 75 in Kamari
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selini Hotel
Selini Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#66 of 75 in Kamari
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: MESARIAS-ARXEAS THIRAS, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sunflower Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing