We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was very nice and provided excellent value for money. The owners and the rest of the staff were very effective and polite. It was also very clean and comfortable, and very close to the lovely beach, bus stop, nightlife and restaurants, and the two cinemas. We had a problem with electricity at some point so the owners upgraded us to a mini suite without having to pay extra! We would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassiopeiaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    48
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
128
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here last week and had a lovely time. Pool was great, nice and relaxing, not too busy. Rooms were basic and clean. There were some 'cooking facilities' but were not practical and almost useless. However the apartments are situated near plenty of restaurants a shops so food was not a problem. Nice for a week break, just to relax.

Room Tip: They give you a choice in arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were arriving in the early morning and therefore chose to be picked up by the owner so that we would have guaranteed transportation from the airport to the hotel without problem. Taking a bus is definitely cheaper, but it was more convenient for us to ask Gregory to pick us up. I believe it's around 15 euro one way.

Gregory is the only one who speaks english, and although it's far from perfect he does his best to make you feel welcome and will willingly spend time with you explaining where to go, how to get there and where the best views are.

The apartments themselves are nothing special. Although spotless as they are thoroughly cleaned daily, they are plain and Greek. The bathroom is a wet bathroom, meaning no shower walls and no shower curtain, so be sure to open a window after your shower to help the room dry out. The beds are far from comfortable but they get the job done.

We only lay by the pool one day before quickly realizing that we much preferred the beach.

The WiFi is non existent. It only works at the bar by the pool, everywhere else you won't be able to connect.

The location isn't bad though. You're about a 5 minute walk from the beach with lots of markets, restaurants and shops near by as well as a bus stop just across the street to take you to Fira.

Overall, it was nothing incredible but it was enough for our little Greece getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth,UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sideris for 14 nights. We had a very pleasant stay and everything was as expected based on the information given to us about the apartments.
The owners of this property, Gregory and Sideris, are very friendly and they always found the time to talk to you.
As described in many previous reviews, the swimming pool area was very nice as were the very well maintained gardens.
Our studio accommodation was fairly basic. The self catering facilities were quite limited but we were aware of this before we booked. Studio cleaned & towels changed daily except Sundays. We do have to agree with previous reviews about the beds being a little hard.
The apartments are very close to supermarkets and a short stroll downhill to the restaurants, bars and beach of Kamari (of course there is a slight uphill on the way back!)
If you are looking for a holiday in luxury accommodation you will not find this at the Sideris, but you are not paying luxury accommodation prices!
If you want somewhere smaller, friendlier and you don't mind simple accommodation then the Sideris is certainly worth considering.
It is worth noting that there are additional charges paid locally should you choose to use certain facilities. For 14 night stay we were charged a total of 118 Euros. This was for 7 Euros per day for Air Con & 10 Euros per week to use the Safety Deposit box. We did know about this before choosing this accommodation but just feel that it is worth mentioning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AndyDKnebworth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

These apartments are typically Greek very basic but with everything you need, no frills but kept spotlessly clean.
The pool area is always looked after and you are left to relax to just drink and read without any hassle, although Gregory and his staff are always on hand to answer any questions, if someone is not behind the pool bar then residents just help themselves and leave the money on the bar, while i was there i never saw this trust abused.
Kamari is a lovely resort with plenty of places to eat and drink with Sellada being a personal favourite, good food and value for money, if you just want a relaxing drink then search out Akis Bar and just sit have a beer and watch the world go by.
If you go to Santorini do not leave without going to Oia at the north of the island and take a look at the views over the Caldera and be prepared to be impressed, it is awe inspiring.

This is a lovely Island and the Sideris Sunflower is an excellent base to either just chill out or explore until your hearts content, we will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegreekvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here in July 2013 and had a wonderful time.

Pros:
- Value for money
- The hospitality from the owners is amazing. Margarita made us omelettes for breakfast and also one afternoon while we were lying by the pool, she had made tomato fritters for everyone free of charge.
- The gardens and pool are beautifully maintained and you can happily spend a day or two on the sunbeds.
- There is a small pool bar where George serves drinks.
- We were picked up from and dropped off to the airport very early in the morning which saved us a lot of hassle.
- The villa is about 8 minutes walk from Kamari beach and very close to the bus stop (which takes you into Fira or Oia).

Cons:
- The bed is very hard so if you don't like this kind of bed, you will not sleep well.
- There is no shower curtain so the entire bathroom gets wet when you have a shower, you just need to be careful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Gregory and his wife were wonderful to have picked us up late at night from the ferry port. We did have to pay a bit extra, but it was reassuring that they would be taking us directly from the port to our hotel. The two nights were very average, nothing too special stood out for the room. The shower really isn't a shower, but a shower head and a hole in the ground. But it was not too far from the beach which was really great. We were very content with our 2 nights stay here, and were very glad we got to spend 3 more nights in Fira.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#65 of 75 in Kamari
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#12 of 75 in Kamari
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#30 of 75 in Kamari
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: MESARIAS-ARXEAS THIRAS, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sunflower Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing