We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and very Greek!”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The apartments are basic but clean and have everything that you need. The pool area is very well kept and the gardens very pretty. Unlike other places we have stayed in Greece, our room was cleaned everyday. The apartments are just a short walk from the beach, shops and restaurants - there is a very good supermarket around the corner that sells everything you could need! There is also a bus stop a few 100 metres away, which can take you to Thira and then on to most other places on the island. The walk to Ancient Thira is not as steep as it looks and well worth it on a not too hot day!
The pool bar serves a range of drinks but no food- however there is a number of good restaurants just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have a sea view, back rooms have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We have a great time in Santorini and we picked this hotel because at the time it had really amazing reviews and the price was quite reasonable. I must say I was a little disappointed with the staff at the hotel. I was expecting a really warm and friendly welcome but this was not the case. The staff were not rude to us however they did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. After reading the reviews I was some what surprised by this after reading the reviews. We were kind of left alone which suited us but our friends stayed at other hotels and in hindsight we wished we had stayed there. The hotel isn't as central as others but is only just a short walk away. Our room was basic but very clean. The beds were a little hard but it was fine. Overall nothing to really complain about other than a smile every now and again from the staff wouldn't go a miss and may have made this review a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHIDZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Basic Greek accomodation,our hosts were friendly and it was very clean and comfortable and adequate for our needs. The towels and linen are changed very regularly. The poolside is looked after well and very clean. The cooking facilities are very basic, with a fridge, although could have done with a toaster but did hear someone request one so possible they may let you have use of one. There are so many restaurants to choose from within a couple of minutes walk, all offering very good food. so no need to cook. Although they did not serve any food at the apartments, they do have small outside bar for drinks. Deposit box 10 euros a week. We didnt need it but air con charged for also. Prices at the bars and restaurants vary a lot, expect to pay more by the beach. Travel by bus is very easy but all buses go to Thira then change to go to other parts of Santorini and are quite regular and reasonable at 1.60 - 1.80 euro apprx for a single journey. The beach is about 5-10 mins walk. There are photo opportunities everywhere. This is a lovely Island with very clean beaches, a real treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09april52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned home after an excellent holiday on Santorini & this was in no small part due to the owners of the Sideris apartments in Kamari, Sideri, Gregory Maria & Margarite are the best hosts I have ever come across they are so helpfull and go above & beyond for their guests any thing you needed you had only to ask, while we were there one guest had a crown come of his tooth, Gregory drove him straight to a dentist to get it sorted & waited to bring him back. On varous days freshly made greek cuisine appeared at our door made by either Maria or Margarite it was amazing, Sideris even gave us a free tour of parts of the Island & wouldn't even accept payment for his fuel. The apartments (we had a pool facing studio No 14) are spotless though typically Greek quite basic with basic cooking facilities and a fridge, but we had no intention of cooking so no probs, they are cleaned everyday with regular sheet & towel changes.The pool was spotlessly clean & the pool area was kept very clean and was well stocked with sun beds, the bar (which we frequented on an evening where we made some lovely new friends) was well stocked and if they didn't have what you wanted they would get it in for the next day, it was also an honesty bar which worked great. There are a load of restaurants within a short walk of the apartments all of which offer a wide variety of Santorini specials and Greek cuisine, I must say the tomato balls (simillar to an onion bhaji) are a must they are gorgeous, also the saganaki (fried cheese) is addictive. There are lots of car/motorbike & atv quad hire places near & if you don't want to drive there are regular buses to the capital with links from there to all parts of the island. Overall this was an amazing holiday Santorini is a beautifull island full of very friendly and helpfull locals. Many thanks again to Sideris & Gregory,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The bathroom needs renovation and soap and shampoo are usually available at any hotel except from this one. People were friendly. Location not the best. Price not worth for the value. Little noisy because it is in front of the road

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilias567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our family and some friends stayed at sideris apts for varying lengths of time from a few days to two weeks, during which time our daughter had a beautiful wedding on the other side of the island. Because some of us came via Thomson and some booked direct we soon found out that the extra charge for safety deposit box and air con only apply to Thomson customers so this should be taken into account when comparing prices.

Gregory and sideris and their families could not have been more welcoming, and were very helpful when equipment was requested which was not already provided in the rooms, ie toaster. The equipment which is provided is very basic and my one criticism would be that we could have done with a few more plates and glasses etc, there being only two of everything in the room. That said, we only had breakfast in the room so we managed ok and just had family bring their own glasses when we gathered for pre dinner drinks!

The rooms are clean and perfectly adequate - this is not a five star hotel - and our bed was firm but very comfortable. The pool area is great with sun or shade available all day, and the little poolside bar was very useful. We spent a very happy hour there en masse viewing the wedding photos on the big tv screen, and some great shots taken by sideris (ex professional photographer) of the pre-wedding BBQ that the family laid on for us, plus some of the family dressed up for the wedding before leaving for the venue. He presented our daughter with a cd of all he had taken, free of charge! Thank you all for a lovely holiday on your beautiful island.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was very nice and provided excellent value for money. The owners and the rest of the staff were very effective and polite. It was also very clean and comfortable, and very close to the lovely beach, bus stop, nightlife and restaurants, and the two cinemas. We had a problem with electricity at some point so the owners upgraded us to a mini suite without having to pay extra! We would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CassiopeiaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#27 of 75 in Kamari
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#14 of 75 in Kamari
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#39 of 75 in Kamari
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Nera Hotel
Petra Nera Hotel
#25 of 40 in Perissa
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Preka
Hotel Maria Preka
#38 of 75 in Kamari
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: Mesarias-arxeas Thiras, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £36 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sunflower Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing