We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

8 friends and I have just returned from Sideris Sunflower Villa, it was amazing the best holiday ever would recommend it to any one travelling too Kamari.
Gregory & Rita and family were just amazing they were so friendly and treated us like their family. Rita made us Greek food and would leave it in our apartments.
The location was perfect the bus stop was just five minutes up the road to go Thira which is fantastic (tropical bar, cafe del mar, koo club) and the square for pizza and pasta before you go out.
Would highly recomend these apparments and to get special treatment mention to Gregory and Rita you no me Anthony Ha Ha

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antlloyd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    47
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We both love Greece because of the people, it’s food and its culture, the hotel owners (two Brothers) and family were always very helpful and welcoming so they didn’t let us down, great location away from the busy front, be patient with the dog across the road he’s such a softy, so if you have any spare food he will welcome it with open paws, the rooms were very clean we made our own breakfast and sometimes lunch. We ate at restaurants that didn’t constantly try to drag us in the BEST one we found was on the main road going out of Kamari, as you come out of the hotel turn left its about a 10 minute walk and it called BACCHUS TAVERN fantastic fresh Greek food, we didn’t try any of the popular places like NO NAME as I didn’t like there approach the resort reminded us of Turkey with it’s Pushy restaurateur trying to grab your custom pretending to be interested in you unfortunately they let the place down.

The best place to hire a car is from LOIZOS Rent a car, as you come out of the hotel turn right and follow the road down hill for about ten minutes keeping to the left as the road splits and he’s on the left, (you’ll find him), Stefanos the owner and his wife are a pleasure to do business with, you’ll get Full Insurance and he won’t rip you off unlike most of the other car hire firms I went to. The supermarket next door to him is the best one for your daily needs and the gift shop (Kamari Arts) and bakery opposite the supermarket are very good too, nice genuine Greeks. We will return one day wearing our tee shirts that say, I DON’T WANT TO LOOK AT YOUR MENU!!!.
Have a great time it is a nice place to be, Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This was a return trip for our sons wedding, 16 guests in total stayed in the hotel. We stayed here September 2009 so we knew what to expect. Everyone at the hotel contributed to a very happy stay, I would like to thank Gregory, Margarita, Sideris and Maria for all thier effort especially on the day of the wedding. We requested champagne to be delivered to our rooms in the morning and also we had asked for champagne and snacks to be available for 45 peopl when we returned from the ceremony at 1pm. We were treated to some outstanding home produced typical Greek food followed by chilled champagne, all was excellent. Sideris was on hand with his camera and presented Bride and Groom with a CD of first class photographs. Sideris would a few days later provide his photographic skills free of charge again as he took the bride and groom off on a shoot with stunning results, again providing a cd of excellent photos.
Once again everyone at the hotel proved that nothing was too much trouble, they are very knowledgeable about Santorini and provide excellent advice on where to visit and where to eat. As before the hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the pool was maintained to a very high standard.
The small bar at the poolside is another attraction and is the focal point at the start and end of the evening, when people gather around before and after eating out.
We look forward to a return trip, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed here in June with my boyfriend. I knew we would get greta service before we even arrived as Gregory (the wonderful owner) answered all my emails promptly and was always helpful with requests and information.

We were picked up free of charge by Gregory from the airport. He recommended restaurants, showed us some lovely pictures of the island and dropped us off at the port on our last day. He was always very relaxed and always made sure that we had everything we needed.

I use a wheelchair so access is very important for me. The apartments have a side entrance with a steep step to get in. If you have someone with you who can get you you over steps like these then it's not a problem but if you have a heavy electical wheelchair or no assistance it does pose a barrier. There was also a very steep ramp to get down to our room so help will be needed to control the descent but at least they have one!

The studio itself was basic but very clean and had pretty much all we needed. The 'double' bed is really two singles pushed together but we put a blanket along the join and it was fine. The cooking area is quite basic and dated but it works fine. You get two hobs, a kettle, a sink and cooking utensils. It's fine for cooking basic stuff (pasta, eggs etc) but not much more than that. The bathroom was fine, simple, clean and basic. I had a plastic chair put in the shower for me. The floor can get a bit wet as there is no shower curtain but there is a drain so it's not too bad. The room had air conditioning which was a life saver. It doesn't have a tv though so if you're coming, don't expect one! Gregory offers free though wifi which is always handy.
We also had our own little patio area with table and chairs which he could sit out on and eat/play cards/relax. Ours looked directly onto the swimming pool area which was lovely.

The hotel is conveniently located just a 5 minute walk to the beach/main shops/restaurants. Kamari itself is lovely, chilled out atmosphere, nice restaurant, a few cool bars, friendly people, things to keep you busy and very family friendly. We never really ventured onto the beach as it was down a steep inclince but looked nice enough from the beach from bars! We'd recommend Alexandra restaurant and Byzantio restuarant. Tempo and ethnic were cool bars too.

It's well worth taking the tour of the traditional villages and sunset at Oia. You get a real feel for the island and some absolutely stunning views.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm_onwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Where do I start? Every aspect of my stay was amazing :)

I stayed at the Sideris Sunflower for one week in June 2010 (I have only just returned and still buzzing from my time in Santorini)

The staff are so friendly from the cleaners to the Manager Gregory and his friendly brother. Gregory gives excellent guest service and will attend to all your needs, he gives great local travel information and all the best places on the island to visit. The staff are always busy mixing with the guests and ensuring everything is clean and tidy.

There is a good size swimming pool to cool off, a nice cozy outdoor bar area with flatscreen TV and plenty of shaded areas, chairs/tables and sun loungers. The whole place is surrounded by flowers and trees - so beautiful. The rooms are cleaned each day and the views are to die for! Pool views, sea views or garden views.....you wont be disappointed at all.

The villa is only 5 minutes short stroll to the the beach front and bars and beautiful views! This is not a party place which is great and not what I wanted, if you want quiet and to chill out, awesome friendly staff, good clean rooms and value for money then I would recommend this place 100%...I will go back there again for sure!

Thanks Gregory for a wonderful stay and say hi to your brother and wife for me!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyplaya_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

10 reasons to stay here :)

1. Coming from singapore, gregory immediately made us feel at home from the time we got off the ferry from athens. Whilst making the way up to kamari, he talked to us about santorini and gave us a mini crash course on the area.

2. He spent a good half an hour briefing us on how to get around which was waonderful because santorini isn't the easiest place to navigate.

3. Really clean room.

4. Kitchen came with everything needed for cooking

5. Balcony was nice for a private suntanning in the morning

6. Location was fantastic. Minutes away from the beach. Close to restaurants.

7. Swimming pool was nice.

8. Gregory was superb and really made us feel at home during our stay. During the strike, he offered to help us check the availability and status of our return ferry.

9. Internet & Broadcast of world cup games.

10. Great value for money

However, the price stated does not include air conditioning and it will cost you a mere 5 euros a night for the air conditioning! Many thanks to gregory and family for hosting us! We had a great time in santorini.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The hotel was located near the beach, and had a beautiful swimming pool that my 5 year old son enjoyed (including the parents)! Everything was clean in the room -- downright spotless. It was a joy to leave the windows open at night and have a peaceful and quiet sleep. There was a mini-fridge in the room which came in handy to keep our ice cream -- and we also had excellent advise from our hosts of how to visit several wineries. Gregory picked us up from the port and led us very safely through the winding roads to kamari. On the way, he pointed out the key sites and very nicely explained to us how to rent a car and where to find great places to eat. We dined at several restaurants in Kamari, based on tripadvisor reviews (the alexander; the almyra) as well as in firestofani (sushi place -- forgetting the name, but just look it up as the #1 place to eat at on the island). We truly enjoyed our stay and understand fully why this place has high marks. WE WOULD DEFINITELY COME BACK the next time we are in Santorini. Thank you Gregory and Sideris for making our stay so homely. We believe the hotel was well situated and near the beach -- within walking distance and not at all difficult (even for a five year old) to get out and about. We combined our stay with a sunset cruise (the thalassa) and also rented a car and visited several wineries and beaches....Hope you enjoy it too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booploo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.5 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#40 of 75 in Kamari
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#67 of 75 in Kamari
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#14 of 75 in Kamari
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
Sellada Apartments Hotel
#41 of 75 in Kamari
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: MESARIAS-ARXEAS THIRAS, Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sunflower Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing