We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those who like their independence”
Review of Sigalas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sigalas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week in July with 3 friends. It was perfect for us, right on the beach front, great pool right next to the bar, friendly but unobtrusive staff who met all our needs. It's right at the end of the hotel strip so we didn't get the passing foot traffic which was great. Our room was set back from the beach, very quiet, nice and cool with everything we needed. Perfect for us as independent travellers, within easy walking distance of the Kamari nightlife either across the beach (2 mins) or via the streets (about 6 mins). Breakfast was nice, other meals are available but we didnt have an opportunity to sample

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Sigalas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

I enjoy my stay so much, we take the taxi to the hotel from the port and it doesn't cost much, there was a warm welcome in the lobby and they have a wonderful pool in right next to the main building. The hotel is just right next to the the quiet black sand beach which is beautiful. The hotel is within walking distance to the city center and the room itself is cozy and clean. The breakfast is also good and service is just so warm.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We stayed here for 5 days early July. We paid 65 euros/night for a studio with a GREAT private patio and seaview. Although it is close to the airport (and planes do fly close over between 6:30 AM - 11:30 PM - about once/hour), this did not bother us too much. Instead we really appreciated the location at the beach with (free) beach chairs for the guests. Most other hotels are close but not AT the beach. The hotel was clean, nice SILENT airconditiong system, and no street noice what so ever. Very relaxing. The hotel also has a market where you can buy all kinds of basics at low prices. This was very convenient. All in all, we really enjoyed this hotel, the very friendly staff and basic but clean room (which had a terrific shower by the way..).

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OceanJumpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

My wife and I had the delight of staying at this small family run hotel this September. Although the hotel is limited in its amenities it is clean, comfortable, and well run.
We very much appreciated the "one to one" attention of Jani the owner / operator. For those who are looking for a small well run hotel that offers personal service this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eaglepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

I guess my friend and I were disappointed from the start, as we'd twice requested twin beds from our travel agent and were still greeted at the Sigalas by a small double bed. Due to this mess-up, we only stayed at the hotel for one night. However, the one day we spent there was pretty dire. The word we heard most from the Sigalas staff was "NO". We asked Yiannis (the manager?) if we could have a twin room...NO. We arrived at 20:30 - could we get some food? NO, they only serve during the day. We asked if there were any more sunbeds, as there were maybe 8 placed artfully around the pool...NO - they were obviously going for a stylish, minimalist look, which isn't much use when the guest to sunbed ratio appeared to be about 30:1. In terms of location, the Sigalas is well away from the main resort. We went in search of food during the evening we spent there and walked for maybe 25 minutes through unlit roads before we found the resort centre. I understand that the route should have been shorter, but with no street lights or signs, things were pretty much impossible. And finally...the planes! My goodness, I expected a degree of disturbance, but this was something else. They come in directly above the beach, casting an enormous shadow as they're quite terrifyingly low (the Sigalas is right next to the airport), and the noise is deafening - and that's before the fighter jets start! All in all, a hotel we were delighted to leave.

Having read this back, I do sound a terrible moaning minnie, but in my defence, we were then moved to Perissa, which is a lovely resort, where we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay on Santorini, which is an absolutely stunning island.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Screen_name_taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

Spent two weeks at the Sigalas with my husband and two children. The rooms were clean, spacious and kept cool by the air conditioning unit. The kitchens are basic but no more so than usual in self catering Greek accommodation. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel pictured in the brochure no longer belongs to the Sigalas and although we could still use the pool we could never get sat on the very few seats around it. The Sigalas does have a nice, although small, pool. However, this is surrounded by tables and chairs, no lounges. Lounges, (no parasols), are available on the beach free of charge, we never had a problem finding some available since the beach at this section tends to be pretty empty.
The beach by the hotel is a pebble beach. Kamari beach is wide and long but to find sand you will need to walk for about 25mins along the promenade.
The main problem with this hotel is the very close proximity to the airport. You do get used to the noise and yes it can be exciting watching the planes but they are just moments from landing when they fly directly overhead and therefore very, very loud. They fly over regularly both day and night, if you are a light sleeper it will be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxford
12
Reviewed 8 June 2006

We stayed here, as my brother was getting in married in Santorini. Great value for money, and great for the children, with two swimming pools, one which is in the area which we had lunch (which kept the children entertained).

Rooms were pretty basic, but cleaned every day to a good standard.

Only a short walk into the centre of Kamari and the hotel is right on the beach, which was pretty much empty.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.9 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
0.5 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
0.7 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#4 of 75 in Kamari
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#11 of 75 in Kamari
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigalas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigalas Hotel

Address: Dionysou, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sigalas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a Cycladic-style, decorated in blue and white tones and with almost 40 years of experience Hotel Sigalas is a small friendly, family owned and operated hotel situated direct on the famous black beach of Kamari in the eastern part of Santorini. You can choose between five different room types the one which applies to you. All room types are air conditioned and come with a flat-screen satellite TV and fridge Every morning we prepare for you an enriched continental breakfast on buffet style, throughout the day you can enjoy a light meal, a coffee or a refreshing drink next to the pool in our café-restaurant. Sunbeds and parasols are waiting for those looking to relax on the beach. Complimentary Wi-Fi or wired internet access is available. The center of Kamari where you can find cafés, restaurants, travel and car rental offices, sea sports, a scuba diving center and shops is only 400 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sigalas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sigalas Hotel Kamari
Sigalas Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing