We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a pig of an owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Cafe

Mango Cafe
Ranked #76 of 115 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pig of an owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Frozen mussels in used shells for EUR 15.00 (owner says this is not his responsibility), EUR 6.00 for bread that only one person ordered (the owner said this was also to cover knives and forks and serviettes), lousy little 250 ml bottles of Coke when everyone else seems to serve 330 ml cans......the owner of this restaurant has figured everyway possible to rip you off. Don't waste your money....there's so much choice in Kamari. Walk straight past this place. You could not do worse....but say hello to the friendly waiting staff. They were great. I hope they find a better boss soon and get to work in a better restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewVB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    70
    41
    16
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I ordered with my wife a Gyros plate for 2 persons but unfortunately this was not what we expected. Was good but not the gyros I hoped for. It was cut like chiken and pork fillet.
Other than that we received local drink on the house.

Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst place in Kamari Beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

So, my friend and I stayed in Kamari beach for several days. We loved the location, and ate at restaurants for lunch and dinner every day. Every restaurant (especially Sea View) had excellent food and service. My friend ordered a chicken club sandwich. When it arrived, it had no bacon. She politely asked for bacon, the waitress went to the back and returned saying she was told, "we don't make it with bacon here." No offer to add the bacon- not to mention, that's what makes a club sandwich a CLUB sandwich. It has bacon (and she had eaten them at several other restaurants in the area and they were all wonderful). I worked in restaurants for years, and this is pretty basic. She didn't want the sandwich, so she sent it back. Then they tried to charge us for it. The manager came over and was extremely rude, saying he makes hundreds of them a day. He also threatened to call the cops. (I also ordered a cheeseburger that I didn't like didn't eat, but I was willing to pay for at least that.) Anyway, the waitress was very friendly and empathetic. You could tell she was bullied by this rude man all the time. The problem could have easily been solved if the owner hadn't been so incredibly mean. I would not recommend this place to anyone. There are so many other delightful choices along the boardwalk.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Nice food, quick service and pleasant staff.beach front location and popular choice it seems. Lots of choice on menu. Also has cafe vibe with tvs in seperate seating area. Reasonable prices too. Would recommend to anyone to visit whilst in Kamari.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank goaaddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cracking location, good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

In fairness, if you're eating on the seafront at Kamari beach, you're doing to get a stunning location, so Mango isn't necessarily exceptional on that front. However, where it beats its competition in many ways is the simplicity and quality of the food, and its unpretentious atmosphere.

We had some pretty standard Greek fare, but it was all done with minimal frills and to a high standard - much better than the unnecessarily faff that is imposed on similar dishes in other places nearby. The price was pretty good by the (extortionate) Santorini standards, and the whole vibe of the place was much more relaxed than the more stuffy options which try to lure in doe-eyed honeymooners. The majority of this place is outside, which helps with the relaxed image it portrays.

The waitresses we had were brilliant, and really doted on our little hyperactive toddler. It's all the more impressive, given the contrast with how he is treated in English cafes/restaurants, and that certainly endeared the place to us. Don't worry - this place isn't teeming with small rugrats intent on ruining your night, but if (like us) you felt like you might be walking on eggshells a bit by having a kid in Santorini, this place will put you at ease.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ali_tabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Cafe also viewed

Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Mango Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing