We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank goodness. what a great place”
Review of Hotel Rivari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivari
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“thank goodness. what a great place”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Must say was a little worried when no reviews on trip advisor for the past 2 years but what a relief. The hotel is lovely. The room is very clean and cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever experienced in Greece and the bathroom is wonderful. We have a large double shower that you don't drench the whole bathroom with whilst using it and there's plenty of room to swing that imaginary cat. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and also free air conditioning in the room... Live and learn UK hotels!
The pool is a nice size with a very shallow end one end and a 1.8m deep end.there are plenty of beds with a jacuzzi to the side. There are plenty of shaded areas around the pool with a limited pool snack bar... The snacks are limited but the bar is not. The Greek salad here is lovely.
The hotel itself is set along a quiet road within beautiful gardens with apartment blocks 3 storeys high. I'm sure from the top apartments there are beautiful views but we are on the ground floor apartment so we have a view of the gardens only.
The sea and restaurants are a short walk away of about 6 minutes so you don't get any night noise from the town itself.
The staff are always friendly and greet you with a smile. The breakfast was adequate if not a little samie on a daily basis. Cheese, ham, tinned peaches, yogurt, tomatoes, cereals, chocolate croissants, bread, toast, cake, eggs, tea and coffee, chocolate and herbal tea. We have not eaten our main meals here but the restaurant is always well presented with plenty of residents eating.
Overall -superb hotel, superb spot

Room Tip: If you can ask for top floor room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    83
    43
    13
    21
See reviews for
29
122
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Having read on this Site about this hotel from other Clients it's true that I was a little worried as for what I was getting for my holiday, however fortunately for myself such negative comments proved worthless apârt from the ones concerning the food that was served up. The hotel Rivari is in a very quiet (except for some late night dogs barking) area of the town and is situated in a wonderfully landscaped garden area. The room I was given was very spacieus with a large terrace overlooking the garden & out towards the Sea along with a small mountain to the right of my room. I had a small tv but no english speaking channels and only TV5 for french speakers. However the bathroom area was very tiny & the shower size left not very much to be desired. The breakfast & evening meals were very very basic (school meals are better) & hardly worth a mention, note: the main hot evening meals were always cold thus one had to ask for reheating. The positives for this hotel apart from the garden area has to be the two yong animatrices Sorina & Sonia who were both not just warm and affectionate (especially Sorina) but also magnificent in trying to make ones holiday better & I'll never forget the radonnee trip they organized from Fira - Oia as it was the best day (for myself & other guests) spent on the Island. The two guys who did the bar/ table service along with the girl at reception were all very friendly & french speaking along with my english mother tongue. As for the aircraft noise, okay there was some but it wasn't overpowering (unlike the dogs barking) as the planes (there weren't many) glided down to the nearby airport. All in all I enjoyed a superb week at the hotel Rivari & Santorini in general but like I say the biggest let down was the food offered to it's paying guests. Would I return to this hotel? For the price I would but Santorini is such a small Island that having seen all of it's major areas I don't think I'll be returning given Greece has many more Islands that are also worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Personally I don't understand how anyone could write a negative review of this hotel. I don't like the pretentious cold hotels of five stars. The pool was very clean and almost private. The room was small but adequate and very comfortable beds and the pillows were not hard nor the mattress. Immaculate bathroom and room with lovely view and beautiful surroundings. The meals were delicious and adequate. Breakfast simple as "petit déjeuner" generally is for the French. The hotel sits far back from the street and noise making it one of the quieter hotels one can find in Santorini which is generally not the case with so many tourists and traffic on the roads and streets. I highly recommend Hotel Rivari. The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafe-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

i've stay at the rivari hotel for 7 days and it was a joy!We had a big room with two spacies an it was lovely!!it very queit and you can really relax. I've spent almost all my days in the pool enjoying the sun.the hotel is big with a nice garden but i think they should take better care of it!
The stuff is very friendly young guys who are enjoying what there doing.Next summer I will visit them again. Hope to see the same smiling persons.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulfilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed at the Rivari Hotel in April 2010 with my wife. The hotel is nice and quiet. The woman's make clean in the room every day .Breakfast has the same high quality but they don't have any fruits. Dinner was really nice, the food was very good. The service however was lacking. Some of the waiters had an attitude problem.

The pool was nice and the bar too. The barman was very kind and the girls from reception and kitchen in the evening too. They speak French and that's great for the French.

The animators are young but we didn't have a good show during that week, although I hope they will put on a good show for the rest of the customers.
I reccomend this hotel for all the people.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The resort of Kamari is pefect for couples/or families with loads of lovely places to eat & drink on the sea front. The Rivara hotel is a 10 min walks from the seafront, perfect, as not too far but enough to be secluded. The rooms are nice and clean, all sea-facing with a balcony, and the pool area is really pretty. Table tennis table by the pool particularly good.
Could even get to the sun loungers before ze Germans!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srilankaLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellitlikeitwas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed for a week, with husband, son (20s) and his girlfriend. OK room with tiny shower room (though son had huge room and full bathroom with large balcony for same price). Reasonably comfortable bed (other reviewers are right about the hard pillows - take your own). Fairly good continental breakfast, with boiled eggs, tinned fruit, yoghurt, juice, croissants etc. Attractive buildings in very pretty grounds with large, clean swimming pool. Food at snack bar very good. Quiet location within five minutes' walk of beach, restaurants and shops. We were very happy there - and, at the special deal price we got, it was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#40 of 75 in Kamari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#15 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Preka
Hotel Maria Preka
#36 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivari

Property: Hotel Rivari
Address: Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivari 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Covering the stone-paved access alley connecting the external gate to the reception area of the 3-star hotel Rivari Santorini will gradually disclose a quintessential icon of Cycladic architecture: a group of white washed buildings with deep blue colored doors and pergolas, set inteo a wild garden of bougainvilleas, trees and other samples of local vegetation. Hotel Rivari Santorini is a 70-room, comfortable hotel with the set of facilities one can expect from a hotel of its category, including restaurant, lobby with annexed bar and library, swiming pool with pool bar and activities such as children's playground and table tennis. The hotel is characterized by a laid back atmosphere with a remarkable level of privacy and quietness, ideal to relax and yet being a convenient base to explore the island of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rivari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivari Hotel Kamari
Hotel Rivari Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing