We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hotel Rivari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivari
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed for a week, with husband, son (20s) and his girlfriend. OK room with tiny shower room (though son had huge room and full bathroom with large balcony for same price). Reasonably comfortable bed (other reviewers are right about the hard pillows - take your own). Fairly good continental breakfast, with boiled eggs, tinned fruit, yoghurt, juice, croissants etc. Attractive buildings in very pretty grounds with large, clean swimming pool. Food at snack bar very good. Quiet location within five minutes' walk of beach, restaurants and shops. We were very happy there - and, at the special deal price we got, it was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

Just awful.I stayed there unfortunately 4 days,The baths were always dirty,with the same rubbish.The service, is such a sad and russian family,that don't even say hello to you (and really churlish) .
The breakfast was everyday the same thing and if you're not quick you don't get nothing so you have to wake up the earliest you can.The swimming pool always full of bugs.The curtains of the shower...disgusting,the floor of the room,not that clean...
I recommend you to choose another hotel.

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank BibiOasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Four of us stayed at this hotel,we found it really peaceful,typical greek holiday,the rooms were very clean,fresh towels when we wanted,breakfast was nice,plenty of assortment,nice coffee.If i had to moan about one thing it would be....the hard pillows,but thats all. Staff very friendly,and pool area very nice and clean,Would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OxfordshireTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We stayed in August visiting the island for a family wedding, we had read the reviews and were a little worried about what to expect. I agree the pillows are like bricks but found the bed very comfy. The shower was fine, leave the curtain open and there is no problem. The rooms were cleaned each day with clean bed linen and towels.
Breakfast was basic but plentiful. Both my husband and daughter are coeliac and the staff were very helpful cooking bread for them.
The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful I had a problem with my weddding outfit and they sorted it out.
The facilities were clean, the pool area quiet with plenty of beds. The jaccuzi was a bonus. The gardens are gorgeous, well kept and pretty. The only tiny niggle was the cats using the childrens play area as a toilet this should be stopped somehow or the area closed.
I recommend the hotel to both couples and families.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank jillybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I spent two days in June. The room was booked by a friend for a weekend wedding so there were a lot of other friends for the same reason in this hotel (by the way, they all had the same opinion about the place!).
Arrived on Friday at about 1pm and the rooms were not ready. The front desk guy seemed like a fisherman who decided to make a few quick euros by (unsuccessfully) posing as a hotel owner! The whole front-desk experience reeked of a general dazed-and-confused atmosphere.
The external look was decent, with a big garden and a fairly good pool area. The room was really cheap and the bathroom really awful with a fan-like shower curtain giving you a 1 square meter of space. The A/C was growling and moaning and I had to hang a dark beach towel in front of the windows so as not to wake up at 6am by the sun.
The cheap look was also evident in the bar-dining area. All this wouldn’t be bad if the price wasn’t 80 euros a night, for which I expect at least something better than third rate furnishings and sloppy room paintjob. Beware of the photos at the hotel’s website, they are very misleading.

Thank God I was only there for two days and most of the time outside the room… I would have recommended this place to young back-packers and people who don’t mind cheap accommodation, however it was not cheap!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Last summer i was visited Santorini.In the begging i did not know in which village to stay. The village of Oia was very beautiful but very expensive concerning the accommodation and the food like Imerovigli. I did not like the center because I want to be away from noisy.
Thus I decide to stay at Kamari village. It is a village across the sea with many shops, restaurants, cafe and other. Rivari hotel is not located in the beach but it is just 2-3 minutes away from it. I really like the surroundings with so many flowers. The room was quite nice not so big not so small. It was perfect for 2 persons. The lady clean our room every day. The breakfast was nice.
I recommend this hotel in Kamari for those who like a quite environment and a friendly atmosphere.

The new website of Rvari is quite good.
[--]

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moshoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Hotel Rivari is not what the website suggests. The shower barely fits a medium-sized person and water spills out onto the floor. The hotel staff did not speak Greek (English and Italian) and were not helpful. The location is okay--there is a small touristy town with some decent places to eat. However, the "beach" that the hotel advertises is indeed black... black rocks and the ocean is hard to navigate since there is no sand, but rather a huge slab of rock. The pool at Hotel Rivari looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks, maybe months. There were more bugs in the pool than there were guests. The breakfast was terrible: no fruit, bad ham, dry bread, and three flavors of jam (all of which turned out to be apricot). Dinner at the hotel is a disaster. It is over-priced (17 euro per person) and consists of unauthentic, mediocre-at-best food.

Hotel Rivari was quiet, walking distance from the bus stop, close to a tourist office (Kamari Tours), but there must be better places for less money.

Santorini is wonderful. Fira is a fantastic city and Oia has wonderful views. In fact, I would hope to visit again. But I will be sure to avoid Hotel Rivari.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank amaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#29 of 75 in Kamari
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#23 of 75 in Kamari
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armonia Hotel
Armonia Hotel
#46 of 75 in Kamari
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castro Hotel Kamari
Castro Hotel Kamari
#57 of 75 in Kamari
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#41 of 75 in Kamari
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivari

Address: Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range: £56 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivari 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Covering the stone-paved access alley connecting the external gate to the reception area of the 3-star hotel Rivari Santorini will gradually disclose a quintessential icon of Cycladic architecture: a group of white washed buildings with deep blue colored doors and pergolas, set inteo a wild garden of bougainvilleas, trees and other samples of local vegetation. Hotel Rivari Santorini is a 70-room, comfortable hotel with the set of facilities one can expect from a hotel of its category, including restaurant, lobby with annexed bar and library, swiming pool with pool bar and activities such as children's playground and table tennis. The hotel is characterized by a laid back atmosphere with a remarkable level of privacy and quietness, ideal to relax and yet being a convenient base to explore the island of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rivari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivari Hotel Kamari
Hotel Rivari Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing