We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the location and the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Norton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved the location and the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great location - near the beach and restaurants without the traffic and noise. Staff is very helpful and the service is excellent. Easy to rent a car and see the rest of Santorini from here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    100
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
168
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews. I was impressed by the comments and photos. We also considered was the Aegean but decided on the Hermes due to the reviews - we found these accurate. The Hotel room is basic (see photos) but we knew that prior to booking - you get what you pay for. We had a shower but you can request a bath but they are limited. We booked B&B and the food was very good but if you want a fried breakfast you need to go the Liverbirds British Bar or the Irish Bar (Agaion) which are 5 mins walk into the resort. There are cats all over the island so be prepared to feed them as they need looking after. We bought some tinned fish from the supermarkets for 1 euro a time and also fed them ham from the breakfast buffet. Some mornings there was luke warm water as they use solar panels but I didn’t find shaving after breakfast an issue. The staff were very good and friendly. We ate at the Chinese restaurants in Kamari and Fira and at a cliff-top restaurant in Oia (“ear”). The local bus is eu 1.60 single trip between resorts of Perissa, Thira and Oia. Also you can walk up to the top of the hill and down into Perissa or along to the Ancient Thira museum which is hill top and has great views. A pre-booked bus ticket available from the tour desks and means you can leave at 6pm and return at 10pm after the sunset. This guaranteed you don’t have to stand on the bus and is eu 6. We found all beach front bars have good food and ice cold beer but liked the Elixir the most – best pizza. The Irish bar is in the back streets and is cool and has 3 TV’s with sport on and free internet.It serves Guinness and does a good breakfast. Also the owner is a Vinnie Jones lookalike.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we were waved off the hotel felt like a home.

The reception staff were ever helpful, the bar staff were great (even putting on the Grand Prix for me) and the food was as good as any on the island.

We had one problem with our air conditioning leaking on the floor, but when we were told the engineer wouldn't be coming out till the next day, they offered to change our rooms without me having to say anything, even offered to move everything for us.

In short, a lovely hotel in an great location, and I will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieBish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

AMAZING! This hotel could not have been better. It is walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. The staff is wonderful and there is a great breakfast each morning. There are 2 pools at this hotel, both of which are very nice. The rooms are nice with a balcony off each room. This hotel has it all! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the Hermes for 2 weeks at beginning of July, everything about the Hotel was perfect, well maybe the pillows were a little flat but thats really pushing to have a bad thing to say, the staff are so friendly and helpful, with a smile and hello or kallimera, every time you see them, even the lovely cleaning ladies. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels. The breakfast is great, eaten sat out around the pool or inside if you need a bit of shade first thing in the morning. We only ate at the restaurant a few times as we went out and about but my partner had a lovely lamb dish which he said was the best he had all holiday.The bar and restaraunt staff, Lambrous, and Costas are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble, as are Effie and Maria who work on the reception area. The hotel is perfectly situated to do everything on the Island, five minutes walk, if that, to the beach and central shopping area where you can get a bus to Fira, which takes 10-15 minutes. On time every time we used them and nly 1 euro 60.
A ten minute walk from the hotel is the Kamari open air cinema, I absolutely loved this, films are shown in English with Greek subtitles, and change every 3/4 days. Such a lovely experience, watch a film outside, in fairly comfy chairs, with twinkling lights and a bottle of wine, with real glasses...heaven. We ventured all over through organised trips and hiring a quad, just around the corner from the hotel, 30 euros for 24 hours. Visited Fira, Oia, Perissa, the lighthouse, the monastery, the Winery,the Volano, Thirassia, so much to say about this Island....Go now, it is one of the most beautiful places on Earth with the friendliest people. We cannot wait to go back and will definitely stay at the Hermes when we do.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Talulah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

I really enjoyed my stay, the service was great & the staff was excellent. Everything was within walking distance. I would definately stay at Hermes Hotel again. I loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missinggreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

The Island of Santarini is breathtakingly beautiful and the locals are so friendly and their lifestyle is so laid back compared to ours. The manager and the staff at the Hermes Hotel Kamari are unbelievably attentive and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The view from our balcony was lovely with sea and mountain views, (We had room 127). It's a lovely typically Greek Hotel, which is kept spotlessly clean, by friendly, helpful staff. Effie (One of the Receptionists) always greets you in the morning with a smile and always has time for a "Chat", she would let you know where the best parts of the Island were and what trips to take to allow you to see them. Both Receptionists (Effie and Maria) are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable when questions are asked about Santorini and other parts of the Island.
The Hotel has two Pools, lovely kept gardens with different plants, fir trees and cacti.
Both Pools are very relaxing and never seemed to crowded, they are checked daily and there is always sunbeds available.
The beach is only 5 - 10 mins. walk from the Hotel the sea is a blue/green color with water as clear as crystal. The beach front sretches for approximately 1.5 - 2 km and has a number of Restaurants,Tavernas and shops to suit all ages.
Did we enjoy our holiday on Santorini at the Hermes Hotel.......Yes and we hope to return for another break in late September this year.

Jim & Pat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghGti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.6 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#9 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#20 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#25 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Ermis Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#20 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hermes Hotel, a family run 4 stars Hotel where hospitality and personal care for every guest is a must. Hermes is a quality vacation A' class Hotel located in Kamari Village, in a pleasant walking distance of 200 meters from the most cosmopolitan and black sandy beach of the island. The Hotel, built with the traditional and unique Cycladic architecture, was partly renovated in 2016 and elegantly equipped to satisfy all your needs. It consists of two buildings with nice gardens between them, a stunning outdoor pool, a pool bar and a restaurant. Besides the pool are the hotel's everyday's meeting points. Relax under the shadow of the palm trees, surrounding the jacuzzi pool, on the other side of the garden, feeling a warm and homelike environment. A cozy lounge area is available all day long for moments of socialization, surfing on the internet, or watching your favorite TV program. In case you feel the need to exercise, the equipped fitness area will be at your disposal, all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing