We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make Hermes so special...”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We are a group of six friends and have just got back from staying at the Hermes hotel. We had a wonderful time there and would recommend the hotel to anybody. All the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful - like other reviews we think Effie is the star! Nothing is too much trouble - she ordered taxis for us, gave us great advice on things to do, even got a pair of shoes taken to another town and mended for us! and she makes you feel so welcome. She is a special lady.

The hotel is very pretty - set back about 3 minutes walk from the beach. There are two pools - in separate areas - both have plenty of shade around them if you want to get out of the sun. One has a jacuzzi built in at one end - neither were at all crowded. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. We had three rooms on the top floor - each had a small balcony with chairs and a table. . Each room had a safe in the room (charge of 2 Euros per day), mini bar and a decent hairdryer in the bathroom. The bathrooms were all spotlessly clean, soap, shampoo and shower gels provided- with fresh towels every day. The hotel also provides a pool towel for your holiday (ask at the bar or reception for these) which you can also take down to the beach (1 euro charge if you change for a fresh towel). An iron and ironing board is available if you want one - ask at reception.

Breakfast is simple but adequate - a self service buffet- fresh breads, ham, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurt and fruits, with a good selection of teas and coffee but avoid the fruit juice which isn't pleasant- though it is possible to get freshly squeezed orange juice at an extra charge.

We ate dinner in the hotel twice - you can choose to eat inside or al fresco by the main pool which is very pleasant. There is a good selection on the menu - and we all had lovely meals. If you like them - the gigantes beans and the fava were the best we tasted in Kamari. Certainly if you decide to go to the open air cinema whilst you are there (and we would recommend the experience - Effie & Julia can tell you more) then eating at the hotel is most convenient - and we were offered a couple of free extra dishes to sample with our meal. The hotel house wine is also very good.

We loved our stay at the Hermes and if we ever go back to Santorini will most definitley choose to stay there again - it is the staff that make it so special. PS - a special thanks to the barman who put up with us popping in for a nightcap every night just as he was closing - a sweet and patient man.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxurytraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week as a package with Olympic Travel as we were attending a wedding during the stay. The Hermes is quietly located yet near to all Kamari ameneties. We had room 114 which is quite large, air conditioned and on the first floor and has a sit out balcony that overlooks the pool. The room has a safe that can be hired for 2 Euros a day which is cheap to ensure peace of mind. The only downside to the 4 star rating is the B&B breakfast; orange squash not orange juice and debateable coffee in an urn. After 08:30, and busy, has staff running about to fulfill needs eg no bowls, spoons etc. Breakfast is all cold table, self service and an improvement here could be made. All seafront cafes in walking distance do a very good choice "all day" breakfast for a very cheap rate. The hotel can improve in this area to make a significant difference. The evening meals are good with a good choice, so it is a pity the B&B breakfast is not so. That said all the supportive earlier posts here we fully agree with and would not hesitate to return to the Hermes for the goodwill of the staff, the ameneties and cleanliness. Seafront cafes, shops, restaurants etc all in easy walking distance. Kamari is a very friendly place, August very hot with a cool breeze at times. This was our first visit to anywhere in Greece and Kamari and the Hermes were a delight beckoning us to return.

Room Tip: Room 114, first floor overlooks the pool is air conditioned and has a distant seaview. The balcony h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaveatEmptorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in Kamari, Santorini at Hotel Hermes for 11 nights in July. Very nice and friendly hotel. Ephie in the reception was very nice and helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel was very nice. We are a family with two children, 9 and 6 years and we were a lot by the nice pool. There was never a problem with chairs by the pool. You did not need to get up early to reserve them and that was nice. There is a big pool and a small pool.

Our room was a triple but we fit all four in it. Nice bathroom and room. It was nice to sit on the balcony in the evening. The room was spotlessly cleaned by the nice girl that did our room.

The breakfast was simple but ok. It included bread, one kind of cheese and two kinds of ham, fruit, yogurt, eggs, scrambled eggs and some cereal. The breakfast you could eat outside by the big pool which was nice but too hot. But very nice.

We are really happy with our stay here in Santorini and we loved the hotel except that the night before the last night two rooms got robbed in the middle of the night. The robbed rooms were on the first floor overlooking the small pool and the entrance. The people left their balconies open and the thieves climbed in and robbed them. In both cases the people lost about 400 euros. There is a safe in the room but it costs 2 euro a day. We had it but we also slept with the door open to the balcony. Our room faced the inside of the hotel and the big pool which seems safer.

We also heard that the manager reacted in a not proper way. He said to the second room that got robbed “ you too” and he did not want to call the police and said that they would not do anything and that the people has to go to the policestation themselves in the next village. That I thought was really bad. Ephie showed some sympathy but I would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

Kamari is a nice resort – not too big but it has a promenade by the sea with a lot of taverns and coffeshops. Good greek food is served at most places. We especially liked the Boat House with good food and nice service or excellent!!! On Sundaynight they have a greek danceshow where you in the end are allowed to through plates at the dancer =)… not at the dancer but on the ground.

We did not like the café Mango where the people were rude. We tried a lot of restaurants and they were good. Cafe Classico is good for a coffe and icecream.

The sea in Kamari is really nice although it is hard to walk on the stones but once in you are in a clean and nice sea. Showers on the beach!

We rented a car one day and drove around the island – south to north. One day is enough. We spent a lot of time in Fira and had dinner in Oia (Ia).Both beautiful cities! Dinner in Oia we had at Strogili on the roof overlooking the sea and the other islands and the sunset. It was so wonderful that we went back an an other night but this time we booked the best table closest to the sunset.

We also did the sunset cruise. It was nice to see the sunset from the sea. Food was good and it was a nice trip.

Our Santorini trip was very nice although the robbery was a bit unpleasant to be around. The last night we closed all the doors and blocked the doors. Perhaps overdone but we were a bit unpleasant.

There is a house called the Golden Girls on the way to the sea and close to the shop. It is a strange place that opens at 22,30 till 6 am. Sometimes you could see a light on but mostly it was dark. In the day there were one or two black girl sitting and talking on the phone. Someone said that it is a brothel . It looks suspicious and it is bad to have this close to the hotel. On the road to the beach is also a 5 star hotel and a place like this should not be next to nice hotels like this.

Nice trip and a wonderful Island!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a great stay here!!! The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Julia, at the front desk, was genuinely enthusiastic and helpful. As mentioned in the other reviews the hotel is a short and comfortable walk to the restaurants and shops along the beach but just far enough to be quiet and relaxed. I really like the lay-out and aesthetic of the hotel. I would definitely stay at the Hermes Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We just returned from a lovely relaxing week staying at the Hermes Hotel, after a short transfer from the airport 10mins max we were greeted by friendly reception staff who showed us to our room 109. It was beautiful with access to the balcony from both the sleeping area and lounge area facing over the children's pool, room had TV & fridge/mini bar. The main pool was where we spent our days relaxing enjoying a local beer Fix and lunch with plenty of choice. I emailed the hotel prior to our stay to enquire about hair dryers these are provided ladies in the bathroom so save on your luggage weight. We went B&B (HB available) of the seven nights decided to eat 3 days at the Liverbird restaurant which was approx 5mins walk from the hotel staff were very friendly &welcoming. We enjoyed a full English breakfast after becoming bored of the traditional continental breakfast. All hotel staff were excellent, friendly and could not do enough for you, Effie was fantastic, our flight was 21:45 and we asked to keep our room unfortunately the hotel was full, but we kept the room until 2.30pm. Effie gave us fresh towels and a hair dryer as a shower room was available at no extra cost. The beach was less than 5mins walk from the hotel plenty of sunbeds 5€ per bed per day. There was no end of choices of where to eat. Tip - keep walking further down the beach front towards the mountain and prices become cheaper. We can highly recommend a mixed grill at a restaurant a few yards from the hotel next to the supermarket - very cheap: Greek Salad, Pitta, Mixed Grill & 1/2 btl of wine 18€ for 2!!

This was an excellent hotel that we highly recommend to others. We booked through Olympic Holidays worth emailing hotel direct as many hotels in Karmari offering big discounts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from this lovely hotel after a wonderful week. Cannot praise highly enough the friendly welcome we received, particularly from Effie , the receptionist, who can't do enough for you. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and air- conditioned thank goodness! We had a balcony with a garden view which was pleasant but not spectacular so request a high floor with pool views if you are fussy about this, I think some of the lower rooms might be a bit dark. The breakfast buffet was good and we are told the food in the restaurant was excellent though we did not dine in. All local amenities are within easy reach - a huge choice of bars and tavernas all with friendly waiters vying for your custom. We used a fair selection and all were good. For cocktails try The Love Boat . We had a late pick up for our 9.45 flight so were rather dreading having to check out early. Once again Effie to the rescue! She let us keep our room all day for no extra charge.Most places charge for this service if available at all! All in all we were delighted with our choice of hotel and would recommend The Hermes to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hermes is located a couple of blocks from the beach at town of Kamari. Has regular rooms and cabana style complexes. Restaurant very pleasant with fine regular meals and breakfast cafe. Has full sized swimming pool. Hostess was very congeal. All staff were helpful and English is spoken. Room has smaller, Greek-style mattresses. Shower only (to conserve water?)

We reserved trough Gate One. They had other choices in Kamari but Hermes is closer to town and away from airport. Rented a small car at airport from Budget. Drop-off services were provided. Island also has bus services but we didn't use them.

Town itself is less hectic than Fira which is visited by tour boats. Many, many seaside restaurants to choose from. Pleasant, long beach with lots of beach chairs. Black sand, though. can get hot. Boardwalk reminded me of Venice Beach or Zihuatanejo, Mexico.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innocent_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#23 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#20 of 75 in Kamari
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Ermis Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#20 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hermes Hotel, a family run 4 stars Hotel where hospitality and personal care for every guest is a must. Hermes is a quality vacation A' class Hotel located in Kamari Village, in a pleasant walking distance of 200 meters from the most cosmopolitan and black sandy beach of the island. The Hotel, built with the traditional and unique Cycladic architecture, was partly renovated in 2016 and elegantly equipped to satisfy all your needs. It consists of two buildings with nice gardens between them, a stunning outdoor pool, a pool bar and a restaurant. Besides the pool are the hotel's everyday's meeting points. Relax under the shadow of the palm trees, surrounding the jacuzzi pool, on the other side of the garden, feeling a warm and homelike environment. A cozy lounge area is available all day long for moments of socialization, surfing on the internet, or watching your favorite TV program. In case you feel the need to exercise, the equipped fitness area will be at your disposal, all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing