We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of Venus Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venus Beach
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Sea view room over the bar was not a good idea. Noise from the bar was not people; but continuely playing of the same cd 4 times daily & ramping up the volume from time to time. Heavy noise from the bar area from doors & shutters late into the night when staff close shop. Echoes!!!Cleaners wanting you out of your rooms at 8.30am -cleaning cupbaords outside the room with rattling of buckets & mops etc & slamming of doors. Hotel is advertised with a 4* rating we found it shabby, dated, tired & only worth 2*. Our room in particular was in need of a refurb especially the shower room. Room was also bland with very basic furnishings with no pictures etc. just white walls. I'm not a moaner this comment is an honest view so don't waste your valuable, hard earned cash on this hotel. Santorini itself is beautiful along with the many tavernas however, black sand was a turn-off for me personally.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is a quite nice hotel with a lot of pools, shade, sun shine, flowers and palm trees. also there is a good wireless network free of charge, and the breakfast by the pool is really tasty. The staff is friendly and efficient and the hotel is really clean. However there are a few things you should take into account
1) there are a lot of stairs, so if you have a baby pram etc. please take one you can easily carry up and down the stairs many times a day. in our case there was six flights of stairs
2) there are plenty of mosquitos. prepare against them with mosquito nets, repellants, and spray.
3) it is humid, so the locks will not always work. prepare to ask the hotel management to oil the locks or bring lock oil with you.
4) really nit picking here, but there is no shampoo in the shower, so bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobile_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Just returned from a week in Kamari and was impressed with this hotel. Stayed in a junior suite with a jacuzzi and the rooms were a good size and cleaned every day - also included free aircon and a safe.

The hotel has two restaurants, and in both the food was excellent. We booked half board and although this isn't something we would normally do, the food on the island wasn't that impressive and was very expensive so we ended up eating in the restaurant most nights. The other hotel restaurant was the best value we found in Kamari and by far the tastiest so we ate there for lunches.
The staff were very helpful and friendly too.

The only minus point is the pool area wasn't very nice, it was difficult to get a sunlounger round the pool as it's quite small considering the size of the hotel. And I really wish they would rethink allowing inflatables in the pool as you cannot swim for sheer amount of them!

They did have free sunbeds on the beach though, but you need to be an early bird to get one.

Overall I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLE2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Please note I did not stay in the hotel, but only had lunch at their beach-side terrace a number of times during our 7-day stay in Kamari. This terrace is next to the beach-side terrace of Atmosphere.

We tried a number of restaurants for lunch during our stay, and this was by far the most pleasurable experience. While the food mentioned on the menu was more or less the same as the other restaurants, execution was much better. Their salads, burgers, club sandwiches and classic Greek dishes were al equally good.

Prices were reasonable to low in comparison to some of the other restaurants.

The thing that however made the restaurant for us was the waiter (you'll recognize him: during the day he wears a cap & sunglasses). He is always "on the ball". We had our baby with us, and he always made sure we were at table with no smokers in the vicinity; also he recognized us on our second visit. Besides that, he was very welcoming, very fast in coming to take orders and was always looking out if anybody needed anything. An example for the other places we went to.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I have just returned from a lovely week staying in this hotel.
It was of a much higher standard than i have experienced in Greece during self catering trips. The bathroom had a double enclosed shower cubicle and was modern and clean.
The only thing i missed was a kettle in the room, though we werent self catering so cant really complain.
Excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Clean and functional hotel on the beach front in Kamari. Linen change each day with towels also provided for sunbeds, situated around the pool and on the beach. I would definately recommend staying here. We stayed bed and breakfast which was adequate although I missed fresh fruit juice and fresh fruit . Tinned fruit and squash type juice was provided. Food in all the restaurants was expensive but this is linked to the £ to euro rate not being very good at present. For instance a cup of coffee will set you back about £3.00 at this time - and that could be just a cup of instant. Plenty of eating places along the beach front but all have very similar menus. Check out 'Enjoy Villas' which we found to be one of the most reasonably priced places to eat and service with a smile. Dinners are pricy especially as you have to order a number of dishes. For instance if you order omlette then that is all you get on the plate.

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#56 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Pension
Blue Horizon Pension
#19 of 28 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kamari Blu Hotel
Kamari Blu Hotel
#22 of 28 in Kamari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Irini's Rooms
Irini's Rooms
#9 of 28 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sun Villa
Sea & Sun Villa
#26 of 46 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach

Property: Venus Beach
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Venus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Beach Hotel Kamari
Venus Beach Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing