We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, great location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venus Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venus Beach
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here with a party of over 30 people out for a wedding in Santorini.
I could not praise the staff enough for their service and kindness. The rooms are spotless and perfect. But watch out for the statement "all of our double rooms have a pool or sea view". The don't. Ours had a view of the road at the back of the hotel.

Food is a different matter - breakfasts were weird, with tinned carrots making an appearance one morning, but hey, this is Greece and maybe they eat carrots for breakfast here. We chance the hotel's restaurant on the edge of the beach in front of the hotel for lunch one day, ordering gyros. They were horrible, greasy things I couldn't recommend to anyone.

The star staff member was the girl who works the bar in the evenings, with a beautiful smiling face and terrific manner - I don't remember her name, but the owners will know who she is - giver her a raise in salary!!!

One final point - why do they close the pool at 6pm each evening, with hours of hot sunchine left???

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very clean, friendly staff and helpful, great location. The downside - pool area very cramped and not enough sun beds and they are reserved by 06.30! The beach sunbeds reserved by 08.30! Restaurant chairs and tables are like garden furniture or a cafeteria, food very poor in variety, presentation and not replenished when run out. I ate at 8.30pm the first night and the starter consisted of soup or salad of tomatoes, cucumber, cheese and the end of a bread stick. The main meal options were rice, pasta, a wet looking spinach and cheese pie and dried looking beef. Dessert was 2 slices of a white mousse, 6 whole oranges or several balls of what looked like melon? Breakfast was just as poor, inch squares of dried ommelette, baked beans, bite size smoked sausage, sliced meat and cheese if you like that and yogurt with tinned fruit! The toast ran out quickly and you got bored waiting for a refil? My room was basic but fine however had a view of a white wall directly outside and no patio or balcony despite requesting either. Will go back to Kamari but not stay at this hotel again or recommend it I'm afraid.

Room Tip: It doesn't make any difference to request specifics unless you want to complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

After booking a suite with a jacuzzi about 6 months prior to our honeymoon, we were most dismayed to receive an email stating our room was not available and that we would either have to accept a room with an extra living area, (not a necessity with just 2 of us) or search for a different hotel. We decided to stick with the hotel but go for a lesser room which meant we received a discount from On the Beach holidays. Glad we did as they still gave us the room with an extra living room anyway even after the discount.

We spent a week here early May which I would say is an ideal time to stay as it was relatively quiet which meant sunbeds & tables at mealtimes were readily available. It also meant any trips were easily booked and visits to any towns & beaches werent as hectic as I would imagine them to be in the busier periods.

Staff in the hotel were pleasantly friendly to the point that if you wanted to make conversation they would oblige, whereas if you wanted to keep yourself to yourself they were also amiable.

The spa was well equipped enough with a steam room, treatment rooms, spa bath and 2 jacuzzis, one inside & one out (although neither of them were heated so more 'cold tubs' than 'hot tubs'!)

The hotel leads out directly on to the parade of various bars, restaurants and gift shops on Kamari beach, giving a splendid amount of choice for food & drink for your tasting requirements.

We booked a couple of trips at the kiosk right at the front of the hotel & were very impressed with the all day trip to the volcano, hot spa, Thirassia and Oia villages sunset. A lovely day although not for the faint hearted as quite a lot of walking in a very hot sun. Decent walking shoes a must!

I would also recommend getting yourself a rental vehicle of some sort. We hired a quad for a couple of days and ventured to some of the nice beaches, most notably Perissa, which has less bars and restaurants than Kamari beach and has a beautiful little bar with rattan beds to laze in and a bell for waiter service so you need not even get up to fetch yourself a drink.

Overall this was a lovely holiday in a nice hotel on a lovely island and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to honeymoon here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Motiv8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just enjoyed a great holiday in Santorini. This was our fisrt visit to the island and we went with Olympic Holidays as it was better value than Thompson. The hotel is great, directly leading onto the beach at the rear. We were half board and there was always plenty of choice and good quality although next time we probably would opt for B&B as there are so many places to eat at a reasonable price. The hotel staff spoke perfect english and were all exttremely polite and friendly. Espaecially Anna who runs the beach bar service & Dimitri who looks after the outside bar & restaurant area.
Must metion a great bar that we found. Just off the main strip on the front we were made very welcome at JUST 4. With contempory decor , usual wide chioces fof soft drinks & alcohol plus for any real ale drinkers, over 30 beers to chhose from. Dino & team really value their customers and we were offered complimetntary snacks & a shot. Worth finding and much classier that some other nearby bars. Just 200 metres from beach, mid way along the resort.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a small private jacuzzi on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12FortySomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

close to airport nice short trip by taxi
staff very good and friendly, nick 5star
good food
very good clean rooms
plenty of space by pool

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We travelled around Santorini over the space of a couple of weeks and ate in many different location and types of restaurants, yet this was one of our favourite places for lunch
So good we came back twice, even though were not staying in the area.

The service was very friendly, not overbearing or pushy at all - some of the other places along the Kamari becah strip could learn a thing or two from these guys.

we had a selections of mezze, including fitters, fava dip and salads - the bread has a lovely rosemary seasoning to it it and good flavour from where its been heated on the chargrill
The chicken and pork souvaki's very marinated perfectly and were very morish, as was the fish

The smells coming from the kitchen below, with the grill charring away - is mouth watering.

The price was so reasonable, drinks ice cold woith frosted glasses, very relaxing position by the sea - you couldnt really ask for me.

The hotel it's connected too look nice enough, with pool and clean and spacious toilets ( ararity it would seem in the area)

Couldnt see the restaurant listed in the local listing but thought it was def worth a review and that the staff deserve a nice priase, as there so many out there who it wrong.

Well done!

Room Tip: didnt stay in hotel, just used the beach restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

we stayed here at the venus aphrodite beach hotel, 2010 kamari is a busy little place but the bus service is exalent for visiting fira and other places , we went to wach the sun go down over the caldera four times from our hotel we had a veiw of the little chapel carved in the mountain behind we did attemt to walk it , but for me it was a little scary not good with heights but my husband made it . we did walk up to the aincient village of thira , a very good but winding road great for cars n bikes which most people took the car option , but we like to walk on holiday take water with you if you want to attent it thira is amazing , lots of history watching the sun go down on the caldera makes you cry i found it a wonderful place a want to go back nxt yr ,. the hotel was very good a nice pool but we prefer the sea ,. we found kamari very expensive , and all a bit rushed ,. but the resteraunt beloning to the afrodite was exalent we had lunch there most days the octopus salad was my favourite , this resteraunt is by the sea ,. not where you dine in the evening if you are half board which we were . the staff were very freindly but not in your face our room was on the ground floor at the front of the building very modern bathroom which was nice , and the bonus of being on the front i got to watch all the brides and there families going to get married , there are a lot of weddings taking place in fira ,. if you get chance go on the chair lift down to the port at fira and see the wonderful ships and private cruisers , its an eye opener for the people watchers ,. and and an amazing place the veiws there are just mind blowing ,.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAIDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#56 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irini's Rooms
Irini's Rooms
#8 of 30 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Pension
Blue Horizon Pension
#19 of 30 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elixir Studios
Elixir Studios
#7 of 48 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach

Property: Venus Beach
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Venus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Beach Hotel Kamari
Venus Beach Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing