We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place than Marios!”
Review of Studios Marios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studios Marios
Ranked #1 of 29 Kamari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No better place than Marios!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for a week "chill out" on the beach and that is just what we got! LOVED the studios, clean friendly and PERFECT location. If you want a self catering holiday this is the place to be. Kamari is a lovely place , central to lots of lovely places to visit. Unable to add anymore than bevbrighouse review below .........She and her husband was our "neighbours" while we was there and she just summed up the place brilliantly!!!!
Maybe see you there sometime in the future Bev as we can not wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Room at the back are quite and have sun until early evening which is nice as the rooms are not to ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennymartin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    38
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
124
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at Marios Studios for a week from the 10th July this year. We have visited a number of Greek islands but this was our first time on Santorini. We wanted unfussy, clean accommodation in a good location where we could come and go as we pleased. We also wanted a fridge and basic self catering facilities. We found everything we needed at Marios. Our room was spacious and light with a nice balcony with views of the sea. We found a large fridge, kettle and a small hob. There were enough pots and pans and crockery if we wanted to eat in. Everything was spotless and we had a change of sheets and towels even though we were only there for a week. The studios were a couple of minutes from the lovely Kamaris beach with plenty of seafront bars and restaurants to choose from. The small pool at Marios was never that busy and the sunbeds were very comfortable. Marios himself was a great host, ready to help with any enquiries etc. and have a chat. He was ably assisted by his lovely Mum. We booked through Thompsons and found everything well organised. We would certainly go back to Marios and would consider perhaps booking separately next time. When we left we were presented with the most delicious marmalade made from their own oranges. We loved Santorini and were more than happy with the resort of Kamari. We hired a car for one day and visited the amazing archeological site at Akrotiri and the lighthouse and had a good look around the island including the beautiful village of Oia, a must see if visiting the island. We would definitely recommend a visit to the outside cinema in Kamari, a real gem. Where watched "Prometheus" under the stars with a cocktail, a great experience. We tried a few places to eat on the seafront and enjoyed Pasta Fresh where we watched a guy make the pasta outside In Front of the restaurant, we also enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Navy Bar. We did try Almeiras but found it a little pretentious and the food although beautifully presented, curiously bland. We would say though that the waiters were very friendly and provided excellent service.Our real favourite, however, was a traditional Greek restaurant Almathia Tavern. It is off the beach front, from the beach a little way down from the Loizos supermarket. It is in a lovely garden setting and has been there for years. The food was the best. We had rabbit but done in different ways, my husband has rabbit stifado and I had rabbit in a yoghurt crust, both delicious, as we're the starters and all very reasonably priced. Thompson was using the tavern for its welcome meetings. All in all a very good trip and we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Rooms at back have restricted sea view and are quiet. Front rooms overlook pool and road so may be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BevBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar now, originally Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I booked Marios on the back of all the reviews on here and a personal recommendation I received from a friend's mum. We had stayed in a '3 star' hotel in Greece before and were less than impressed at the quality of it. This accommodation however, was a different story entirely.

I'll start with the positives:

1. Mario, the host, is the most welcoming and friendly host I have ever come across in my lifetime of travelling. He wipes the floor with any 5 star hotel I've ever been in and should be congratulated on this, as I for one, rate customer service above anything else.
2. Beautiful, spacious rooms with either a pool or sea view in every room. Comfy beds and a proper shower cubicle (rare in Greece).
3. Reasonable priced beer at the pool bar, and very comfortable loungers that are very easy to obtain due to the small number of rooms.
4. An excellent central position for shops and beach.
5. A wee piece of advice: book direct because the Thomson's-allocated rooms are not as good and AC is 35 Euros per week if booked through Thomson. I don't blame Mario for this! Clearly he just doesn't get paid enough from the money-grubbing tour operators! I think it is the same situation with the safety deposit box.

The bad things:
1. There really isn't anything worth mentioning but if you have small children, the pool is pretty deep.
2. If you're in a wheelchair there's no lift so you'd have to get a bottom floor apartment, but I'm sure Mario would sort that out easily enough!

I hope this review's been useful and we'll be back next year. The restaurants in Kamari were mostly excellent but it's a generally expensive resort so if you're a Benidorm kid forget it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank telfo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor, and it did not disappoint. The hotel is a 30-second walk to the Black Beach, with plenty of good restaurants and shops in Kamari. The owner, Mario, was extremely helpful in giving us recommendations of where to go and what to do. The rooms are a decent size, and the small kitchen is very nice (especially having a fridge!). Our room had a nice view of the sea, and the bed was comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Nothing is too much trouble should be the mantra for Marios the excellent host at the Marios Studios in Kamari, Santorini. The place had a great feel about it and the accommodation (Room 5) was very large and overlooked the small swimming pool and the road to the rear of the Hotel. The Bar by the pool was a great place to refresh after a day on the Beach or travelling and meet Bijou his friendly Dog (great with children). The venue is 3 minutes from the shingle Beach (2 seats/shade 4 - 6 Euros per day) and 3 minutes from the main promenade where there is a great choice of restaurants. There is a Mini Market 2 doors way (well stocked) and the closest restaurant is just over the road opposite the Mini Market. Trips - Try the boat to Perissa at 4 Euros each way per person from the Beach. Head up the the mountain road to Old Thira from behind the Hotel - Leave early and take lots of water if you are walking and watch out for cars on the very windy road. The views from the top are fantastic.
The beach is clean and Blue Flag as you would expect.
Santorini is a great place to visit and so much to see. Nothing is any trouble for the very friendly locals who are looking to add value to your stay. Marios just happens to be at the top of the league!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My Partner and I have just returned from the most amazing holiday we have ever had. When we arrived at the Marios Studios we knew we had made the right choice and then when we met Marios we knew we had definately made the right choice. What an amazing host. Marios is so genuine and kind. Nothing but nothing was too much trouble. His advise and knowledge helped to make our holiday so very special. We ate at the most incredible restaurants, Marios even phoned and made the reservations for us and saw the most breath taking veiws and sights which was all down to Marios. Marios Studios are in the most perfect location. A stones throw from the beach, the shops and the bars. Whilst we were there, there was a heat wave in Athens and Santorini was definately getting some of it, it was so very hot, so to be able to walk a short distance from the beach to your air conditioned room was wonderful. When Philip and I checked out, Marios gave us a jar of homemade marmalade, the oranges came from his garden. Where in the world would you ever get that, we were so taken by the kindness. Well, I could keep going forever but I had better not. We will definately return, infact we are already checking out the flights for October. We would like to thank Marios for everything you are a true gentleman and the perfect host, Shirley and Philip.

Room Tip: Just ask Marios, he would be only too pleased to help you with your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I booked a spur of the moment holiday to Santorini. We were lucky to find ourselves at Marios studios. Situated seconds from the beach, restaurants and bars all overlooking the sea it was a great location. Marios was a great host, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very friendly especially his dog Bijou. Marios recommended things for us to do and places to visit which made our stay special. You must hire a scooter or quad bike to explore the island which is small. It's the best way of seeing the stunning scenery and experiencing the lovely smells of the sea and plants as you ride along. The town of Fira is beautiful, built on the edge of a cliff it is just as it appears the brochures. Also visit the open air cinema and the fascinating buried city of Akrotiri. So glad we went. Kathryn and Steve.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.7 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#15 of 75 in Kamari
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#4 of 75 in Kamari
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Marios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Marios

Property: Studios Marios
Address: Kamari on the Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Studios Marios 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Studios Marios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios Marios Hotel Kamari
Studios Marios Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing