We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, good value, Greek style hotel”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is very pretty and has a lovely big pool with a bar where you can get snacks and drinks. The rooms are basic but very clean. The breakfast room is again, very pretty, and the breakfast itself is great! It's continental style including boiled eggs, bread, cheese, olives, tomatoes, cereal etc. and it is always stocked. We never had to ask for something. The hotel is close to kamari town- a nice, 10 minute walk to the town and beach. The manager George is extremely helpful with everything from day trips to car hire to borrowing towels for the pool. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we have booked out the hotel for next summer for all our wedding guests!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic holiday in Kamari, and having debated between two hotels on booking we couldn't be happier that we chose Horizon. George and everyone at Horizon went above and beyond to make sure that we had an excellent and relaxing holiday, from mornings by the pool to evenings by the bar.

Even though the hotel is only a few minutes walk to the centre, we had a few spots of rain one night and George very kindly drove us and another couple into the town to save us getting wet (not that it would have mattered with how warm it was). The other time George REALLY helped us out was when our taxi didn't turn up at the end of the holiday and he drove us to the airport.

We truly couldn't have had a better holiday and so much of that was down to staying at an excellent hotel, so thanks very much to everyone at Horizon!

Debbie and Chris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griffdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this gem of a hotel in June 2012 as part of a large group for my sister's wedding.
Great location just a short stroll to the beach away from the main hustle and bustle made for a a more relaxing atmosphere.
George and his family are so genuine and made us feel welcome from arrival dealing with our group with ease, nothing was too much, always a smile!
The rooms are excellent, always spotless with air conditioning and fridge, just what we needed in the hot weather.
Breakfast was included in the bargain we enjoyed the fresh continental selection out on the patio.
The pool and grounds were beautiful and so well maintained, you can see the pride and care taken every day.
We did not want this holiday on this beautiful island to end, the farewell brought a tear to my eye!
Thank you George and family for going the extra mile and making this holiday of a lifetime that much more amazing, I highly recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just had our first holiday on Santorini at this hotel and could not have chosen better.
George and everyone at the hotel were so friendly and did everything possible to make our stay
memorable. The hotel is spotless and the bedding changed twice in the week. Only a ten minute walk to the beach with its many restaurants. Thank you to everyone at Horizon.

Room Tip: Middle floor rooms are lovely with all the bougainvillea
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights to kick off our honeymoon. We were allowed to check in early (however, no sign of welcoming drink others have spoken about in previous reviews, probably because we were early) we had a very relaxing few days. Recommend going to the open air cinema just a minutes walk up the road. The pool was very nice and larger than most pools on the caldera side of the island. Very relaxing to be away from the hussle and bussle of Oia and Fira and just visit those places instead. George gave us a ride to Imerovigli, where we continued our honeymoon, free of charge, as he was good going to Fira as we we're checking our. This was above and beyond service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent two weeks at the Horizon in august and could not have chosen better. This was our fourth visit to the beautiful Island of Santorini, previous holidays at other hotels in Kamari. For us the Horizon beats them all and like the other reviewers say, George and his family go out of their way for you. The Hotel is spotless clean and the pool and grounds are well kept with lovely flowers everywhere. Everything from wine in your room on arrival, homemade cakes and jams at breakfast and staying in our room for an extra three hours free of charge, on departure day are nice little touches that people remember. The hotel is 10-15 mins walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and shops. We had a very enjoyable relaxing holiday at the Horizon hotel and we will definitely be back in 2015.
Thanks to George and his family for making our stay memorable and making us very welcome!
Harvey and Karen

Room Tip: We had room 32 top floor and was great with mountain, pool and sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakeloversWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Santorini for 2 weeks this August. What a beautiful island! The Horizon Resort hotel in Kamari was great accommodation, a lovely 17-bedroom, family-run hotel with friendly staff and great facilities. The attention to detail at the hotel was second-to-none. Wine on arrival (nice touch!), lovely breakfasts and just such a clean and well-maintained hotel. From nosying at other hotels on the island whilst there, Horizon seemed to be the most pristine and pretty, with all the flowers and cactuses. I certainly wouldn't call it 2* so I'd ignore that rating and read the reviews of people who have been instead. The location I think was brilliant, it's a 10 minute stroll from Kamari beach and the main restaurants and bars which was great after a heavy meal to have a gentle walk back (and I hate walking!). in addition, walking to the front from Horizon takes you past lots of lovely restaurants that get overlooked if you don't happen to walk past! There are some stunning looking hotels on the beach front of kamari, however they are completely overlooked by everyone walking past and if people fancy a drink there, they could use your pool, making it very busy. Horizon is a very tranquil hotel, perfect for couples as there are no family rooms so no noisy kids around the pool. In the 2 weeks we were there, we had the pool to ourselves on many occasions!

Kamari itself is without a doubt the best area to stay in on the island. We visited everywhere pretty much whilst on holiday and I'm really glad we went with the recommendation of staying in kamari. it has by far the best restaurants and bars, one of the best beaches and isn't packed full of tourists (like Oia and Thira are!). They were great for a visit but once there I was relieved we weren't staying there! Restaurant recommendations would definitely include Almira (on the beach front at the end-best Moussaka we've ever had), Senor Zorba (a Mexican restaurant in Pygros-we needed two tables just to fit the food on- wow! you'd need a car to get to it though) and Al Fresco (located on the road between Horizon and the beach) did amazing pasta dishes. On the same road, Traffico Creperie did incredible savoury and sweet pancakes, a must for lunch or a dessert. Definitely head to Sky Lounge for cocktails on the main strip opposite the beach and try the martinis- amazing! Really cosmopolitan and classy feel to the whole island! Everything was of good quality from the food to the furniture to the table décor!

Whilst there, we would recommend to pay for a proper massage on the beach. Not cheap but the best one I've ever had! The guy seriously knows what he's doing. You can book them at White Bar. There is an outdoor cinema in kamari, a short stroll from Horizon Resort which was a cool, unique experience where we watched the latest films in English (with Greek subtitles) outside with a bottle of wine. Bare in mind that the sunset in Oia is no different to the sunset at every other part of that coastline. It is just well-marketed. It's extremely busy so if you want to go- go early to get a spot in a restaurant. Same applies in Thira. We saw just as beautiful sunset sat in Senor Zorba in Pygros. We hired a car for one day each week with Hermes Cars which we booked whilst there, really easy to do and we found that 2 days was enough as the island is pretty small. Get the water taxi from Kamari beach to Perissa beach for a bit of a change of scenery and go on a boat trip to the volcano and hot springs. Good fun but wear something you don't mind getting ruined as the mud ruined our clothes. Final recommendations is an evening at Santos Winery (we went after dinner in Pygros) as you can order samples of more wines than you could imagine for 1 Euro each and it's a beautiful location. The wine museum in Kamari also offers wine tasting and an information tour about wine production on the island for 7 Euros. Overall, an amazing holiday! Please go and enjoy!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a balcony room as you will then get both a pool and sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#23 of 75 in Kamari
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kamari
387 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Kamari
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing