We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel! Very clean and friendly!”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First of all i would like to say a big thank you to George, his mum and his partner! What a lovely family who couldn't be more welcoming! The rooms are spotless, shower on the small side but does the job! Breakfast simple and adequate! Pool area very clean, exellent sunbeds extemely comfy! All the areas of the hotel and grounds are kept spotless all the time. The hotel is located a slow 10 min walk from the main strip of restaurants and bars, and the bus stop is literally a minutes walk away. Excellent location for us as it is out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the beach but close enough to go for lunch and dinner. George cannot be more helpful, one night it rained a little and I didn't want to get my hair wet so George took us up to the beach, Also on our last day we had a late flight and George let us keep the room until 3pm so we could get showers. You could not ask for a nicer hotel owner, he cannot do enough for you! We loved our stay at Horizon and would definatly recommend it. We are planning to hopefully go back next year!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yorkshire1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I am confused as to why this hotel has such a high rating on Trip Advisor. Yes, the price is great. However, our experience was unlike most who have written reviews. Yes, the owners were kind. The negatives - no sleep due to a very uncomfortable mattress and extremely loud road noise. Mould in bathroom. Breakfast was minimal. Long walk to beach. Would not recommend. Thank you to booking.com for helping us resolve our cancelation fee that was going to be charged. Found a place right on the beach for 7euros more a night. More than worth it!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank jcfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonResort, Manager at Horizon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guests,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your valued feedback.
The issues indicated in your review were interesting to us as you are the first guests to ever comment on them. We value the many guests who choose to stay with us and warmly welcome back those who return to stay with us over the years.
Our resort overview provided to Booking.com clearly informs our guests that the walk to the beach takes approximately 10 minutes. We are located along the main road into Kamari, a 5 minute walk to the outdoor cinema and a 2 minute walk to the public bus. If you are a light sleeper, we do have the option of exterior shutter doors on your patio doors that you can close to keep things quieter for you.
The final item I would like to clarify is that Booking.com did not assist you with your issues. You were provided with late check-in and only charged for the night you stayed with us with no cancellation fee which was my choice.
I am hoping you enjoyed the balance of your stay in Kamari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed at the Horizon and it won't be the last. Ridiculously cheap, with very clean facilities, comfy beds and even breakfast. George and family are fantastic. I won't stay anywhere else in Santorini. A complete gem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank HLU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August 2013 at the end of our two week trip around the islands. The reviews we read about the staff being laid back was spot on, and we loved that. George was very chilled and gave us great recommendations for where to eat and what to do. The room was nice, the shower was attached to the wall (bonus after all the hand held ones!), the balcony was very pretty, covered in flowers with a nice view and the pool was an absolute sun trap. We stayed in Kamari at the end of our trip ready for the return journey home and after staying in Fira at the start of the trip we felt that two nights in both regions was a good combo for exploring Santorini. The hotel was a 10/15 minute walk to the beach and nice restaurants - we didn't mind the walk and it meant that the hotel was away from the hustle and bustle in a quiet area. The homemade jams at breakfast were amazing and the bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Horizon Resort Kamari in Sept 2013. The hotel just about 10mins walk to the Kamari beach, good location as it is quiet yet not far from the restaurants. The open air cinema also quite near by driving but it is also within walking distance. Room rate was reasonable for this area. Taxi fare from the airport cost € 15.As soon as we arrived, George gave us a map and briefly introduce us the island.

The room is clean and tidy, including a small fridge and safety box. We stayed at the ground floor room, therefore, no view from the balcony. However we have no issue on that as we can still relax at the pool side or garden with mountain view.

We also enjoyed the breakfast, especially the yogurt, I love it. It was simple but sufficient for us. Thanks to George's mom and gf to prepare the delicious breakfast daily :)

Again, thanks, George and family for everything during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from our first stay at the Horizon Resort. We booked our room back in Feb and got an excellent price for 7 night’s bed and breakfast! When we arrived we were greeted by George who gave us an introduction to the island and recommended a restaurant for our first evening. As the hotel was full, we spent two nights on the ground floor then transferred to the top floor for the remaining 5. I would definitely recommend requesting a top floor room for relaxing on the balcony. The rooms included a safe, fridge, fan and air conditioning at no extra charge and they were kept spotless with towels being changed daily.

The breakfast consisted of cereal (my partner took full advantage of the granola), toast, eggs, homemade cakes, fruit salad, croissants, tea / coffee and orange juice which was a great start for the day ahead.

During our stay in Santorini we hired a car for the day and a quad for two days. We much preferred the quad bike visiting Oia and Fira and returning in the evenings to experience the incredible sunset whilst having dinner overlooking the caldera. We also visited Perissa beach and the Red beach, of which Perissa was our favourite choice.

I would also recommend visiting Santo Wines, it is located not too far away from Pygros and you can enjoy wine tasting from 2.50 whilst again overlooking the caldera and is also an excellent opportunity for taking photos.

We both fell in love with Santorini and thoroughly enjoyed our week exploring the island. Thank you to George and his family for making us feel thoroughly welcome, we will definitely be returning at some stage in the future and my mum is already looking at booking for next year staying at the Horizon through our recommendations!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room for excellent views of the pool area and the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma_Line10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and i just returned from our first trip to Santorini and our first stay at Horizon. We were so pleased that we chose to stay here. George made us feel very welcome the minute we arrived.The room was spotless and very comfortable with a great patio overlooking the mountain. Breakfast was good and there was a nice selection to choose from. This hotel is in a great location within a short walk down to the beach and restaurants. We went to the open air cinema which is a short walk from the hotel and it was very enjoyable with a good selection of food and drink at the bar. We hired a car for two days and visited Fira and Oia on one day which were totally amazing. We spent the next day driving around the island stopping at Perrisa beach which is very nice with a visit to the mexican restaurant with views looking over the Calderra. The mexican food was great. We ate at lots of nice restaurants but some people we met at our hotel took us to The Spring restaurant where we met Andreas and had the best food ever. Andreas was so kind and welcoming and one of the best meals we had was the dish called Soujoukakia it was delicious. We loved the Stifado and the spicy cheese starter was amazing. The Ouzo was particularly good too!!!! Thanks Andreas. We cant wait to come back to Santorini and will stay again at Horizon. Thank you George. Trevor & Louise Howard

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#4 of 75 in Kamari
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Anna Traditional Apartments
5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing