We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Horizon Resort Hotel in June 2014. Room clean and comfortable, safe and fridge in room, free air conditioning. Bathroom small but functional. Made welcome by George and family. Very helpful with advice. Lovely pool and plenty sunbeds. Beach bar serving snacks. Great location - short walk into town - near bus stop. Would recommend staying here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 433Cathy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from Horizon resort in Santorini and what a lovely stay. If you want a relaxing and peaceful time,this is the place. George and his mum work very hard to make sure their guests are happy. No problem getting a sun bed around the pool,which is always clean. Continental breakfast is adequate.The rooms are bright,clean and fresh. The cleaner comes everyday with clean towels. A/C and a safety deposit box in the room are included,no extra charges. The pool side bar has plenty of snacks and drinks to choose from and George performs a work of art when he cooks. Karmari beach is ten minutes walk away and the whole seafront is made up of lovely Tavernas.
In summary my wife and I can,t wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony because of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

having stayed at the Horizon resort recently for a fortnight I would just like to say I would highly recommend it.
I find it a lovely peaceful place.
The rooms are both quaint and fairly spacious, the beds are comfortable and large.
The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, whether its advice on the island or helping arrange taxis\ quad\\ car hire etc.....
I find this a very friendly hotel, with a lovely swimming pool with plenty of sun beds, which in my time have never been totally filled, so no disappointment there.
the hotel itself is scrupulously clean and George is very meticulous with his cooking to ensure a lovely snack at the bar.
For the price I really couldn't ask for more.
to sum it up.... a tranquil peaceful little paradise yet close enough to everything you need
i would highly recommend and look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel is more like a B&B than a hotel/resort. It is in Kamari which turned out to be a great part of the island because it is quieter than Fira. Very basic room that was clean but with old furnishings. No telephone, a very old and small TV in the room but there is a mini-fridge. The curtained shower was very small with no room to move around so the floor always got wet. No elevator so we carried our roll aboards up to the 3rd floor.

The breakfast is very basic. Cereal, yogurt, canned fruit cocktail, hard boiled eggs, several breads and packaged croissant. This hotel is very convenient. It is a 2 minute walk to the public bus stop (Kamari Village is the stop), 15 minute walk to the beach and all the restaurants and lots of shops along the way where you can buy bottled water.

George, at the front desk, is very nice and helpful with recommendations on where to go, where to eat and will help make arrangements for you. We went thru him to book a car for the day. He made it really easy and in fact, the car was brought to us at the hotel within 10 minutes of making the reservation and they came back to the hotel to pick up the car. On our day of departure, he ordered a taxi to pick us up later in the day and the taxi was right on time.

Overall it is a nice little hotel without any frills. They do have a pool which my wife and I didn’t use but we saw other guests using. The important thing is it is clean and it is not expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I would like to dispute a previous review. Having stayed here 5 times now. I can only say each and every stay has been a pleasure. For the cost this hotel is a wonderful little gem. I suffer from fibromyalgia yet find the mattresses very comfortable and we have stayed in various rooms. As for noise we have never even had to close the shutters we are both light sleepers yet have peaceful nights each and every time.
Breakfast is plentiful and varies a little each day.
I have never come across mould in any of the bathrooms we have stayed in. The walk down to the beach is slightly less than ten minutes ( and I'm not a fast walker )
Having stayed her on five seperate occasions I hope people reading reviews will take into consideration that we have spent a long time here and our opinion will hopefully count more than someone who merely stayed a night and has black marked a real little treasure which I find very sad, knowing how hard the owners work to ensure a great stay, nothing is too much trouble.
Pluses ..... Outdoor cinema is two minutes walk away and is a lovely surreal experience, we find so much welcoming kindness from the locals and of course George and his family.
We find this hotel to be perfect as it is far enough away from the town to be peaceful yet only a stones throw away from anything you wish to enjoy.
Very clean and friendly too. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GlosBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Horizon from 7th to 14th June on our first visit to Santorini. This was possibly the best holiday we’ve ever had and cannot wait to return.

After securing some extremely cheap flights, we spent quite a while searching for the right place to stay. In the end, it was the positive reviews that led us to book Horizon. It proved to be an excellent choice, the perfect place for us.

We arrived very late at night and were met by George, who gave us all the information we needed and were shown to our room on the top floor. It was a very hot evening and the room was too, but the excellent air con soon had that sorted. We had a giant double bed with a firm and comfortable mattress. I slept really well. The room also had a fridge, safe, desk area, TV. The bathroom is quite small with a compact shower – but it worked well. Nice balcony, where we sipped the complimentary bottle of wine, with the mountains to one side, and the sea view to the other.

Breakfast is simple. Coffee, juice, cereal, toast, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese. Not a big selection, but enough to set you up for the day.

The pool area is really nice with some great sun-beds. They’re nicely spaced out too, with solid fixed umbrellas. There’s also the pool side bar where George serves drinks, cocktails and snacks. His attention to detail in preparing the food is great – he’ll make sure it’s cooked/seasoned exactly the way you like it. Try one of his burgers!

George works hard and is always around if and when you need him. He’ll help you with anything you need or help you get where you need to get to (excursions, transport, local knowledge, restaurants). It's a very relaxing place and all guests and staff were really friendly.

The location worked well for us. It’s just off the main road, near the local bus stop and a 10 minute stroll to the beach and beach-front restaurants. (Ask George for directions to “Almira”). And also, near the Open Air Cinema (a surprisingly good place to spend an evening). Because it’s on the road, there is some road noise but it is NOT intrusive. The rooms have wooden shutters and once they are closed, you will not hear a sound from outside.

Horizon isn’t luxury; it’s a simple, clean, well maintained, relaxing B&B hotel with wonderful hosts, close enough to the beach, bars, restaurants, shops and transport. It represents excellent value for money. There are few, if any, negatives. We loved it and really cannot wait to return.

For info: we booked in October ’13 for a stay in June ’14 and travelled with Norwegian Air Shuttle from Gatwick. We booked the hotel via the link from Trip Advisor. We took a taxi from Santorini airport to the door, but next time will consider pre-booking a transfer.

If you have any questions, please get in touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scoundy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Arrived at the Horizon Resort after a short taxi ride from the airport on May 27 and stayed for 8 days. Check In was smooth and George was extremely helpful with suggestions and information for every question we asked. Our room was spotless on arrival and was cleaned daily. Included a small fridge (great for water) and a bottle of wine. Beds were very comfortable and air conditioner worked great.
The walk to Kamari beach is about 10 minutes if you go straight there, it always took us longer as we would stop by the many shops and restaurants on the way a lot of which you may miss if you stayed down by the beach. It was so nice to go back to the resort after a day of sightseeing and relax by the pool and enjoy the beautiful grounds at the resort. We went to Fira 1.6 Euros and Oia 3.2 Euros each from the bus stop located about a 2 minute walk away. Down the street the other way is the outdoor cinema (5 minute walk) which was great. Cost was 8 Euros to get in and drinks were about 3 Euros.
Can't say enough about George, his Mom and the rest of the staff at the Horizon. They work so hard to make your stay enjoyable and go above and beyond any other place I have stayed.
Would definitely stay here again for our next visit to Santorini.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank BladeBarrieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.3 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#4 of 75 in Kamari
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: £57 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing